rachelcoker



Video Blog: Hopes and Dreams

Hey, ya’ll! I’m in Cincinnati, Ohio this week and I don’t think I’ve heard a single person say “ya’ll” yet. Wonder why that is?? Anyway, I’m here speaking with my CPA Carol Topp at the Midwest Homeschool Convention and signing lots of books at my booth! So if you’re in the Ohio area, come on over and say “hi!”

Before I left yesterday, I filmed a short video blog showcasing both my raspy voice (I have a cold) and my hopes and dreams. Not sure which you’ll find more interesting, but have at it.

I’ll be back soon with pictures and updates from Ohio!

What are your dreams and goals?

-Rachel

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Madelyn says:

    I hope your dreams to come true, Rachel! I have no idea what I want to do yet. But, like you, I have been one of those kids who were blessed by earning a bit of money at a young age, so it’s okay if I don’t find work or a dream yet. :)
    Have a good time in Cincinnati! :D

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
  2. * Hannah says:

    Wonderful Vlog, Rachel! It was so neat to hear your dreams! I hope they come true! :) Hope you are having a great time in Ohio! Bless your heart, darlin’! Are you having Ya’ll withdrawals? I feel for you! :(

    Oh my goodness, I have so many dreams! :) One of my dreams is to be a wife and a mother one day. Most of my other dreams have to do with writing, such as having a book published, which is the biggest one. :)

    Rachel, I am going through a rough time with my writing right now, and I’d like to ask your advice. I’ve never read any of your published books yet, but I have followed your blog for a while, and you are a person who I really respect. I am currently writing a historical fiction novel, set in Ancient Rome. The writing has been going steady for several months, but now I am stuck. I am near the end of my rough draft (Talk about YAYYYY!!! :D). I have had an idea for a sequel for sometime, and now I am feeling that unless I keep writing and add it to my current book, my main character’s story won’t be complete. But it is kind of discouraging to me, since I thought for sure I was almost done with the first draft.

    I am also struggling with a lot of self-doubt about my writing right now. (I don’t think my writing is any good, why even try, maybe I should just scrap the whole thing and start over, etc.). So I have two questions for you:

    1. Do you have any ideas as to what I should do? Should I continue writing and add in what originally was a sequel, or should I just stick with my original outline?

    2. Do you ever struggle with self-doubt when it comes to writing? If so, what do you do?

    Thank you so much, Rachel! I really appreciate it! :)

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
    • Hi Hannah! I know I’m not Rachel, but I read this comment, and really wanted to encourage you, and give you some help, too. :)

      First of all, I think that everyone has doubts and bad times with their writing. (I sure have, believe me!) And also, everyone’s writing is bad in the first draft. (I shiver when I think of some of mine. :D) It is hard when you feel that you’ve worked so hard on your novel, for so long, but then you read it and think that it’s rubbish. But you know what? There is always the second draft, and the third draft, and the fourth, where you work to make it better. It’s not going to be good to start with, but once you get that first draft done, you edit it, and you make it brilliant!

      Second, if you are having a bit of a hard time, why not take a little time off your current project? Even just a day of not writing anything really helps to clear your head, and gives you fresh enthusiasm for writing. Of course, sometimes it takes longer than a day, but it really does help, I promise. :)

      I just really want to encourage you to keep going, because if you do, you will feel so good about it. It’s worth it. :) Keep going, girl!!!!!!!!! :D

      | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
      • * Hannah says:

        Wow, thank you so much Selah Bell!!!!! You have encouraged me so much more than you could ever ever know. Thank you! By the grace of God, I’ve been able to get through that rough time I was going through. This past weekend, I just finished writing page 100 of my novel (I’ve NEVER written 100 pages before!!!)!! I also decided to add in the sequel, so I have finished Part One. I have started to read back over Part One, and honestly, I am amazed at how good it is!! I never thought I could write like that. Yes, it still needs a LOT of work, but it is so much better than I ever imagined it would be! And I know that I love these characters too much to ever give up writing them.

        I really felt bad about putting that comment on this post after I did it. I thought it was too long and troublesome. But your response has blessed me so much! I cannot thank you enough, Selah Bell! May God bless you! :)

        Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
      • * RachelC says:

        Hannah, I just sent you an email. Sorry it took me so long to respond! :) Thank you, Selah for your sweet words of encouragement! I love to see two writers working to build each other up! :)

        Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
      • Aw, you are so welcome, Hannah! I’m so glad that I was able to help. :) I just wanted to encourage you, because I’ve felt the same way before, and I know what it’s like. :)
        Yes, sometimes I go back over work that I wrote ages ago and thought was terrible, and just go ‘Wow!’. :D Keep at it, girl. because you’ll be brilliant. ;)
        Aw, I’m glad you put the comment on, because it gave me the chance to encourage you, and I love encouraging people. :) If you ever need more help, feel free to contact me on my blog! ;) (The link is on my Twitter profile)
        God bless you too, Hannah!

        Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    *glances around nonchalantly* If you come to Nashville, maybe, just maybe, you’d run into Taylor Swift. ;) Or least of all I could point out to you which building her condo is in. (Inside I’m mentally screaming, COME TO NASHVILLE!)

    Haha, thanks so much for this video, Rachel! We were in West Virginia last weekend and I tried to convince my mom to stay a little longer so we could drive a couple hours up to Ohio to see you (I also tried to convince her how worth it it would be for the rest of my family considering Tim Hawkins will be there). She said no. How cruel! ;)

    By the way, have you ever considered doing the Q&A posts again? :)

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
  4. My top dream is to become an author. I write, and I love it, and I REALLY want to get a book published. :)
    Another dream is to become a singer. (Yes, I know, I can’t do both, but it’s also something I LOVE :))
    I also want to be a wife and a mother. I love kids, and when I think about being a Mum, it feels right to me. I have conversations with people, and we talk about ministries, and what we want to do, and I just say, “Well, the best and most right ministry for a women is being a mother. You can grow your children, and love them, and shape them for God. There is nothing better than that. It is good to reach people overseas as well, or to work with the youth of today, but to me, being a mother would be the most satisfying ministry, I think.”
    And Rachel, you know what, you HAVE made a difference in my life. You inspired me, and you encouraged me, and I think you will do it again in the future. If I ever get published, it will be because you helped me and cheered me on. Thank you. :) <3

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

