rachelcoker



Five Random Things….

“Anything worth doing, is worth doing well.” (Even blogging)

I suppose that’s about as good a quote to start a blog as any. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Rachel Coker and I’m fifteen years old. I’m a homeschooled student from Virginia with really nothing better to do than write and play the piano. (Okay, okay: I do other stuff, too) I came to the Lord when I was about ten years old, and have been growing in my faith ever since. I see my life as an opportunity to serve others and glorify God with my gifts and talents.

As an introduction, I thought I’d share with you five things about myself so you can get to know me better:

  1. I read—a lot. Although I used to read more than I did now, since nowadays I’m swamped in schoolwork and actually having a life. But there was a time when you’d be hard pressed to find me without a book in my hand. I do own over one hundred of them.
  2. I also write, but not really because I love it (although I do!). I write because I feel like I need to write. I wrote my first mini-novel when I was eleven or so, and I haven’t stopped since. I guess it was inevitable, because ever since I was five my Barbie games went like this: “Barbie looked at Ken and cried, ‘Oh, my gosh! I can’t believe you’re proposing!’ Ken laughed and shook his head. ‘Oh, Barbie, don’t you know I’ve always loved you?’ He knelt and clasped her hand…” It drove my sisters crazy.
  3. My little sister finally taught me how to ride a bike when I was fourteen. I’ve always been afraid of wheels and pity anyone who’s on the road with me once I get my license. (Steer clear of VA highways)
  4. I have an intense dislike for anything mainstream or normal. I watch 1940s film noir films, listen to 70s rock, and actually have several old school French pop songs on my iPod. My only guilty pleasure? Taylor Swift. (Because who doesn’t like Taylor Swift?)
  5. When I was ten, I began scrapbooking and developed an attachment to the glorified photo albums I created. Journaling for the pages fostered my writing development and also implanted a sense of humor in me—while I used to view things as dramatic and monumental; I now see life as an episode of small, humorous events. Discovering the joy and spunkiness of everyday life has made me more appreciative of my family and more sensitive to others struggles.

Well, I suppose that’s me in a nutshell. Offbeat, old-school, and a really bad Barbie player. (Some things never change)

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * John says:

    You are one amazing young ladie. I could not be prouder of you.
    Dad

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • * John says:

      I spelled lady wrong. That is why I am not the writer in the family. 🙂
      Dad

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * rec804 says:

    Thank you, Daddy!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * BlueSalad says:

    YAY! I read all the way back here! I look foward to reading more on your blog so keep posting!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

