rachelcoker



Boogie Wonderland

I just got back from a way-too-fun weekend at our extended family’s house where we celebrated my grandfather’s 70th birthday with a surprise birthday party! It was–shockingly–a groovin’ 70’s theme. We had disco balls, lava lamps, and a DJ spinning records on the dance floor. So many people dressed way up with afros and bell-bottoms. And the look on my grandpa’s face when he walked in made all the hard work we put into planning totally and completely worth it. We danced the night awayΒ like we were in Funkytown circa 1979! πŸ˜‰

-Rachel

Hannah and our cousin Maggie--they were the ones who kept all of us on our feet all night πŸ™‚

Me and Hannah--It felt totally neccessary to wear a full length, vintage rainbow dress to a 70's party πŸ™‚

Disco balls everywhere...

The dance floor was outlined with glowing pink neon lights

Don't believe her... my cousin Rena could not spin records to save her life

Grandpa leading the classic train line

Groovin' πŸ˜‰

Peace out!

Some of the best outfits of the night--The men got even more into it than the women!

For the party, I went all out and made a six layer rainbow cake! I was so relieved to cut into it and see that it looked like this... I was so worried it would be a flop! Believe it or not, it tasted great too!

There were, I kid you not, about a dozen photos on my camera like this when I got home. Can you tell I was proud of this cake, lol?

Neither of my parents drink, but I love the look of wine glasses. Especially with a glowing lava lamp in the background!

The whole clan--can you believe my grandpa has two daughters and five granddaughters? No boys! Lucky guy, huh?

One last funny photo. Can you tell what a great time we had? We're all such hams! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mimi says:

    Looks like you have a fun family! What a blast from the bast!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ha ha yeah, we were the dancing queens, right? πŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    Rachel, it looks like all of you had a really groovy time! It looks like any of you girls could have walked out of my high school yearbook. The cake had to have been wonderful, with all the love you put into everything you cook or bake. I can’t wait to hear all the details and see all the pictures. And please give Grandpa George my belated best wishes.
    Love, YaYa

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

