rachelcoker



Spring Fever

I noticed when I was running yesterday that the earth smelled like Bounty sheets. Isn’t that strange? That I equate nature as smelling like something unnatural, instead of the other way around. Weird.

Anyway, I started itching with spring fever recently! I felt the extreme urge to do something, so yesterday, without thinking it out too much I decided to take my learner’s permit test at our local DMV! I am now allowed to legally drive! (Steer clear of VA highways–remember, this is the girl who took thirteen years to learn how to ride a bike)

When we were leaving the DMV I grinned at Daddy and said casually, “So. I guess this means I can drive us home if you want.” He got this panicked look in his eye and we decided to take things slowly. It will be nice to be able to drive though. I think that we teenagers equate driving with freedom. Even if I’m still not allowed to go wherever I want, and my mom still freaks out at me going down my own aisle at Walmart without a cell phone, hey! At least I can drive! And doesn’t that just make up for the rest? 🙂

One thing I had not realized about the DMV, though, was how scary the employees would be. On the one day that I should have been feeling more like an adult than any other, I ended up squirming like a scared little kid. At one point during standing in line, I zoned out (fantasizing about cruisin’ down the highway, of course!) only to have the DMV lady snap her fingers at me and bark “Hello! Paperwork!” I jumped, my heart racing overtime. At least the test was on a computer, instead of oral. I couldn’t do much thinking around her.

There was one sort of nice lady at the DMV, though. She asked me how old I was and I replied, “Um, fifteen and a half?” After welcoming me to the “real world” and telling me that I needed to know answers for sure instead of guessing, she asked me “So, when you get out of here, what kind of car ya gonna buy?’

With a straight face, I answered, “Oh, you know. A 1956 Chevy Bel Air.” 🙂

Someday, I tell you. Someday.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hannah says:

    I hope your driving skills aren’t as bad as your golf cart driving skills! (You can make an open field look dangerous) 🙂

    Hannah Bananna

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thanks. I’ll be sure to let you know if I crash the car into a field. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
  2. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    The reason your dad had that look in his eyes might have something to do with him, Albert Hoover, and a driver who knew NOTHING about driving a 3-speed stick shift wanting desperately to go to the movies! Dad may not remember, but I do!
    Love, YaYa

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Bethy says:

    Rachel
    you are so good at turning odd things into different odd things, like turning toxic chemicals into food. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Yeah, at least I don’t want to eat Bounty sheets. Chemistry experiments, on the other hand, just look so tempting sometimes! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
  4. * BlueSalad says:

    LOL driving. its gonna be a fun experience! Just concentrate and don’t get distracted. Don’t hesitate and overthink too much on the road. Make sure you have all the facts straight and remember what signs mean and you’ll be fine!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

