rachelcoker



Windows to the Soul

When I first saw Alfred Hitchcock’s “Vertigo”, I was instantly captivated by the leading lady, Miss Kim Novak. I thought she was everything a lady should be: Elegant, cool, confident, and beautiful to boot. She reminded me so much of Grace Kelly, possessing that smooth, icy confidence and mystery that was so prevalent in the 1950’s heyday of Hollywood screen sirens.

After I saw the film, I looked Kim Novak up online and searched for quotes, as I often do with people who intrigue me. (You can find out so much about someone by looking at what they’ve said!) I didn’t see anything particularly interesting, so I was about to turn off the computer and go do something worth while, when one last quote caught my attention. It was about eyes.

“With the mouth,” Novak said, “Your words speak for you. But your eyes must express what’s inside without words.” 

I thought about that for days afterwards. I ran through pictures in my mind of everyone I knew and admired, and for some reason, even when I couldn’t remember their nose or the shape of their smile, I could remember their eyes. I knew which friends had eyes that glittered in opulent shades of blue, or bright green, or deep velvety brown. It may just have something to do with my photographic memory, but I knew their eyes well.

I was talking with some friends the other day about this new fascination with eyes, and my friend brought up a good point. “Even people who you wouldn’t necessarily find attractive can have beautiful eyes, while beautiful people may not have the same sparkle. It’s all about what’s inside of you. True beauty shows itself from within your eyes, while false beauty does not.”

I didn’t quite know what to say to that. Was it true? Is that why the eyes of those I loved were so beautiful to me–simply because those people were beautiful to me?

Eyes are often called the windows to the soul. I can’t think of a better way to describe it than that. When you are sitting in a field at night, looking up at a house, the light emanating from those windows clearly displays all that’s inside.

Luke 11:33-36 says, “No one lights a lamp and puts it in a place where it will be hidden, or under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, so that those who come in may see the light. Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eyes are healthy, your whole body also is full of light. But when they are unhealthy, your body also is full of darkness. See to it, then, that the light within you is not darkness. Therefore, if your whole body is full of light, and no part of it dark, it will be just as full of light as when a lamp shines its light on you.”

Our eyes are like windows, displaying to the world what is within our hearts. Everything we feel, think, and love is reflected in the expression of our eyes. Are we displaying to the world eyes full of the light of Christ’s love, or the darkness of His absence?

Just something to think about. I went through my favorite photos of all of my friends after I wrote this, and did a special series on eyes. These are all their true eye colors, too. No special editing. Just black and white, with their eyes in color. Aren’t they all so beautiful? 🙂

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * BlueSalad says:

    Hi Rachel, What beautiful pictures! Do you edit them yourself? Yes. I agree with what you say about eyes. I’ve actually been thinking more about them recently. Why are eyes so important? Its not only because they allow a person to see the world but they allow the world to see the person. You can definitely see someone’s beauty by looking them in the eyes.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Well said. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh, and yes, I take them and edit them myself. I use two programs. One is incredibly cheap ($15) and the other one came with my computer. 🙂 One of these days I’ll get something nice, lol…

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * tyler says:

    you know, ive been thinking, it makes sense then why our eyes change color as we grow, they mature as our hearts and minds do:)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
    • * Tyler says:

      and yes, i thought of that myself thank you;)

      | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

