rachelcoker



My, Oh My, Peach Pie

A lot of people have asked me before what kind of research I do when writing historical fiction. The answer is that it varies. There’s all kinds of different little details that are specific to certain eras or backgrounds or geographic locations. I read a lot of books from the time period I’m studying, and I definitely focus less on big stuff and more on what day to day life would be like. That’s what’s hard to know. How would a girl from 1945 talk? What would her bedroom look like? How long would it take her to do her hair in the morning? That’s the kind of stuff that’s hard to know unless you talk to people from that time period or do some extensive research. And even then, I’m constantly messing stuff up and my agent or editor will have to point something out to me. (“Um, Rachel? I don’t think that they had cordless telephones in 1943.”)

Anyway, Sunday’s research was especially enjoyable to me. Lately I’ve been hard at work on my next book (which hasn’t been signed yet). It’s set in the 1960’s, and a big part of story involves peach pies. Well, when I went to do some editing last week, I decided to put in a new scene where the main character bakes one of these pies, and suddenly I realized: I’ve never baked a peach pie before.  And here I wrote almost a whole novel involving peach pies when I have never mastered the art of one myself. What a hypocrite I am!

Of course, the only thing for me to do was go to Costco’s and buy a pack of peaches and then hunt down a recipe. I found this one online and loved it because of the quirky title: “My, Oh My, Peach Pie”. 🙂 So cute, right?

Sunday afternoon, I set about making the pie. I tried to be extra attentive to what my senses were experiencing so that I could use it in the book. One thing I wasn’t expecting is that the peach pie baking process is very slippery. Apple pies are not nearly as messy to make. I got juice all over the counters trying to peel peaches which is, by the way, not as easy as it sounds. It was also very aromatic, because of the ripe peach juice mixing with the nutmeg in the pie. Very, very yummy smelling. 🙂

Anyway, I thought I’d share the recipe with you all, as well as a few photos I took when I was making the pie. Definitely something everyone should make every summer, including me.

My, Oh My, Peach Pie

4 cups peaches, quartered and peeled

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Dash of salt

1 – egg

2 tbsp. cream

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tbsp. butter

9″ unbaked pie shell

Arrange peaches in pie shell. Sprinkle with sugar, nutmeg, and salt. Beat egg and cream; pour over peaches. Mix flour, brown sugar, and butter until crumbly, then sprinkle over pie. Bake at 425 for 35-45 minutes.

-Rachel

 

 

 

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * tyler says:

    dont you still owe me a pie??? i could go for one of hose things right now, mmmmmm-mmmmm

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Don’t you still owe me a coat after I ruined my last one making you pie??????? 😉

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Tyler says:

    ah, but i believe my mom gave you a dress or something for that 😉 also im leaving for australia and i do so love a good peach pie 😀

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

