rachelcoker



A Sneak Peek

Okay, so most of you already know that I’m applying to speak at several different homeschool conventions next spring. Well, this Tuesday I’m going to be recording my workshops, and I’d love for any of you who can make it to come! I’m going to be giving two different one hour sessions: “The Proverbs 31 Teen” and “How to Live Like a Writer”. Today I’m going to give you a sneak peek at the second workshop, just so you can see what it’s about.

If you’d like to come on Tuesday but need more details, shoot me an e-mail and I’ll clue you in! 😉

 

 

2)      Ramble sometimes

 

Another tip that goes closely with keeping a writer’s journal is to let yourself ramble sometimes. Take a break from your fiction work and write just for the sake of writing. This can be done through a journal, through a blog, through descriptive papers done for school, or just by sitting down with a blank sheet of paper and writing down everything that drifts across your mind.

An exercise I do quite frequently when I’m stuck in the middle of a tough scene or can’t decide what to write next is to just take out my laptop and write about random stuff. Sometimes I write about what the view looks like out my bedroom window or interesting conversations I had earlier that day. Sometimes I even make up stuff—like writing a journal entry belonging to someone else, and putting myself in that person’s shoes.

Just going along with the flow and writing for the sake of it is so good for your creative skills. There’s no stress, no pressure. No one ever has to read it. Just write it, tuck it away in a folder or box, and leave it. DO NOT EDIT IT. There is absolutely no editing of ramblings. Nothing past fixing misspelled words and adding periods. No changing around sentences or adding adjectives. The whole point of the project is to let yourself go and do whatever you want. To edit it would be to murder it!

I thought I’d read you a short description I wrote one afternoon when I was completely drained. It’s dated November 13, 2010, and I entitled it “Honey Leaves.” This is a perfect example of what free rambling should sound like, unedited and raw, so pay close attention. 🙂

 

“The trees seemed to be lit from within. The warm, honey-smooth colors of gold and scarlet radiating from the branches. Some of the leaves had already fallen to the ground and turned an unattractive shade of brown, but the rest were still dangling from the twigs.

The bright sunshine started to fade and I figured dusk was setting in. Soon the sky would be grey and then dark and I wouldn’t be able to see anything. I frowned, missing the sunny warmth from the branches. Now it was only a fading light—like a lamp that’s light bulb was dying.

But then it was as if God had turned on a spotlight and suddenly the world was full of color again. A rosy tinge of pink winked at me from between the branches, lighting them from behind. And the trees were colorful and glorious, like they were before. The warmth spread to my heart, heating even my toes, which I didn’t think could be possible.

I watched the streaky colors fade from behind the trees until only a washed out grey remained. The trees were no longer lit. Everything just looked brown and black and I remembered how winter would soon come and it would be like this all the time.

And so I turned my face away to more important things. But when I looked back up again, just to see if it was completely black, I saw a flicker of pink. There it was, hiding behind the black branches. And I smiled, knowing that even in a dark world, there was still hope.”

Yes, it’s a little overdone, and if I were to go back and edit it today, I would change a lot of things. But I will not let myself edit it. I have to remind myself that it is not for a book, it is for me. It is not for an audience (although I suppose it is, if I just read it to you), it is for my eyes only. And it is a reflection of my writing and my style, unedited. It refreshes my mind and reminds me why I love writing, without any stress or pressure.

So have fun with your free ramblings. Be as creative as possible, don’t take yourself too seriously, and let it get your creative juices flowing. Maybe you can even use it in your best-selling novel one day! :)”

 

 

There’s more on Tuesday!!! 🙂

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tyler says:

    nice ramblings 😛 how mad would you be if i started laughing or clapping randomling during the recording and making you start over 😉 i could turn this into a 4-5 hour thing 😉

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Tyler says:

    randomly* lol

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  3. * BlueSalad says:

    i did some random ramblings today. 🙂 LOL Tyler is a funny one.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Funny is one word to describe him. 😉

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

