rachelcoker



A Really Cool Thing

So I came back from giving my two workshops this afternoon and a really cool thing happened. I was in the middle of giving a piano lesson to my sister, Hannah, when I heard Ruthie shout for me from the computer room. “Rachel?” she asked. “How do you spell ‘could’?”

I spelled it out for her and didn’t think much about it until a few seconds later when it dawned on me that no computer game would ask you to spell the word ‘could’. So I peeked my head in the door and saw her pecking away at keys of on the computer. A word document was up on the screen in front of her, with “Chapter One” typed in big letters. Then there were two paragraphs of sentences.

My little sister was writing. Just like me. It was so, so cool.

She let me read a little bit of it and it was really funny–a lot like my “A Lovely Young Dream” story. But I still thought that it was the best thing ever that after an hour of listening to me talk about writing she decided to try it out for herself. I felt so proud and honored to be her sister at that moment. It may have been a little thing, but to me it was really special. πŸ™‚

-Rachel

P.S. This is my 50th post, which is another cool thing. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    So much excitement for one day! I know you did well today with your workshops, but I hope you enjoyed yourself, too. You can never know who you may inspire, not just with writing, but with music, or hand crafts as Hannah does. Now perhaps you’ve inspired Ruth. It’s not such a little thing to really touch someone, and you can definitely be honored that Ruth might follow you into writing. Maybe she’ll even write screenplays that get optioned to Disney for future Barbie princess movies. (I had to lighten the mood with that thought.) You and your sisters are each very talented, and I am so proud to be your aunt!
    I love you.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Toby Friedman says:

    Rachel.I would like to say how proud I am of you too. I have been reading your blog, and I am totally blown away with your awesome way with words, but as I have taught all of the Coker children, in the Powhatan Schools, it’s not surprising. Your father is so very proud of you that he sent me your website. At fifteen, and with an agent and a book on the way, I would say you have a vision a very bright vision–I will be looking forward to yourfirst printing. with much love and respect, Toby Friedman, a fan of the Coker’s

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thank you very much. My dad speaks very highly of you. πŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  3. * tyler says:

    nice going ruthie!! πŸ˜› lol i like writing a little myself but im too concise i can only write about 10 pages then im out of ideas and finished with the story, oh well

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  4. * BlueSalad says:

    awww we all know ______ is the highest form of flattery
    sorry that space is blank but my mind won’t find the word for me! I’m googling…okay fill in the space with imitation.

    go Ruthie!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

