rachelcoker



The Editing Process

Been kind of burnt out lately because I’ve been doing a lot of editing on my latest book! I’ve been working on this story for about six months now, and I’m finally on my second round of revisions. I haven’t shown it to Zondervan yet, but I’ve been doing a lot of work with my agent Bill, going over it little by little.

It’s a funny thing–being a writer. And I think drafts are the funniest part of it. Because no book (at least none of mine) looks the same when its finished as it did when it was started. Because they go through so many drafts and edits. Seriously–editors and agents, wonderful as they are, can be pretty tough when it comes to critiquing an author’s work. I’m really thankful for it, since a lot of times others will poing out to me stuff that I didn’t realize, but it can also be a little overwhelming to scroll through three whole pages of notes meant to remind you everything you’re supposed to change about your latest book.

When it comes to the actual writing, every word is the author’s own. But sometimes it’s a little hard to put all the overall pieces of the story together. That’s when it’s a really good thing to have a great editor or agent working with you, helping you figure stuff out. Would this character really do this? How could we add more depth to this scene? Is this particular scene really neccessary or could we move it here instead? That sort of thing.

I’m really excited about the story I’m weaving right now. It was great fun to write, and I feel like I’m pretty satisfied with how the first draft went. But it also really excites me to look over all the notes my agent gave me about ways to make it even better. Yes, it means hours and hours more of work, but it is definitely worth it!

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * BlueSalad says:

    that must be so exciting! nice to read this post about writing again. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I was showing your blog to my friend the other day and she asked me how old you were and I told her she was shocked that you were so talented and put all that talent to use. You are an inspiration to alot of other young people to go out there and do what they have a passion for, use their gifts to glorify God. Thank you so much Rachel for being yourself and staying true.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  2. * RachelC says:

    Aw, thank you so much! You are too sweet. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

