rachelcoker



Musings of an “Upper Classman”

When I was in middle school, I could never remember what the different years of high school were called. Maybe it was my unsocialized, homeschooled existence that prevented me from such knowledge, but I seriously had no clue. When I entered ninth grade, I decided to memorize them, so that I could easily spit out “freshman!” as an answer whenever someone asked what grade I was in. It seemed so much more grown-up than “ninth grade”.

Anyway, one thing I didn’t know until this year is that students in their last two years of highschool are often referred to asΒ “upper classmen”. My mouth literally dropped open when I heard this. Upper classman? When did I get to be an upper anything???

The more I thought about it, though, the more my chest began to swell. Why shouldn’t I be an upper classman? Haven’t I had eleven years of schooling under my belt? Come to think of it, I have learned a lot of things these past eleven years. Henceforth, I am going to share some of my “upper classman” knowledge with the rest of you.

 

Here is what eleven years of a homeschool education has taught me:

– WhenΒ you’re nine years old and some random non-homeschooler asks you what grade you’re going into, shrugging and saying “I have no idea–I just do school” is mostly likely only going to freak them out. They will probably not even laugh.

– You can get away with doing almost anything on a school day if you claim it’s for a field trip.

– Don’t even attempt to spell “acrobat” at a spelling bee in front of all of your friends and peers. Because, no matter how good a speller you are, you will inevitably add an “e” at the end, get kicked out the first round, and then wish you’d never signed up for a spelling bee in the first place. Homeschool moms are merciless.

– Never tell someone your name is “Mildred” or “Helga ” when they ask because, since you are a homeschooler, they will probably just believe you and then you will feel awkward when you tell them you were joking

– Learn what kinds of things five to seven year olds like discussing. That way, when you go on a field trip and find out you’re the only teenager who’s mom signed them up, you won’t find yourself at a lack for conversation.

– Get an active imagination. Those afternoons when you’re finished with school before your siblings and are sitting alone with nothing to do? You now have an escape! A really cool hobby like scrapbooking or knitting will also do. πŸ˜‰

 

I should totally write a book with all these gems of wisdom. Lower classmen would definitely read it. πŸ˜‰

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Wow, your blog is really good! I found this through Zondervan πŸ™‚ I’m a homeschooler (who loves Jesus) too and this made me laugh!!! You’re very right about everything you just said on homeschooling. I would read your book! Keep writing.
    ~boldbrightbeautiful (aka Margaret the weird homeschooler girl)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 12 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh, you are so sweet. πŸ™‚ Your comment means a lot to me. I’m glad you found my blog! πŸ™‚
      -Rachel (equally weird homeschooler)

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 12 months ago
      • Thank you, I’m glad I found it too! I love blogging πŸ™‚ and writing about lots of things.
        ~boldbrightbeautiful (aka Margaret who just found another homeschooler who’s not afraid to say she’s weird πŸ˜€ )

        Posted 5 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

