rachelcoker



Morning By Morning

Usually, when I roll out of bed in the morning, I’m thinking it’s going to be a good day. Seriously. Every morning I arise with the utmost intention of having a fantastic life experience at some point in the next twenty four hours. I stretch and hum that catchy little tune from “Singing in the Rain” where everyone sings “Good morning! Good morning! Rainbows are shining through!” way too cheerfully. It’s pretty great, actually.

But then some days, usually about ten minutes later, this thing happens. It’s called “I Get Stuck in a Rut”. Maybe we ran out of my favorite type of breakfast food or I realize I forgot to run the dishwasher the night before. Or someone else is happier than I am which is not cool, because I don’t like anyone to be chirpier than me at 7 AM for some reason.

Anyway, this strange “Stuck in a Rut” thing often ruins my morning. I get cranky and irritated and just want to throw the still dirty dishes in the trashcan and go back to bed. The sunshine is no longer pretty and my family is not someone I want to be around anymore. And, oddly enough, no one else wants to be around me either.

It’s easy to blame those kinds of days on just about anything. Hormones, teenage angst, stifled independence… But, the truth is, the only one to blame is myself. It’s my own discontentment that leads me to react to some situations in selfishness and immaturity.

One of the first hymns we learned as a family was “Great is Thy Faithfulness”. Most Christians are familiar with it—if there was a “Top 40” of Christian hymns, I’m pretty sure this gem would be in the top ten. The words are so encouraging and uplifting. Anyway, the chorus reads like this:

“Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!”

This morning, I really took the time to meditate on those words. “Morning by morning, new mercies I see.” And the more I thought about it, the more I felt the Lord truly opening my eyes to what those words mean. Every morning, the Lord is merciful and faithful toward me in more ways than I sometimes realize.

When I consider all that the Lord has done in my life, I realize that I have no reason to ever complain. He has loved me with a force so strong, I could never repay it. He has placed me in a world filled with beauty and has covered me with His forgiveness.

Knowing this puts a spring back into my step, regardless of how I feel about the alternative breakfast food. Remembering that Christ loves me helps me to love my sisters, even when they are too loud for my still half-asleep brain. And living in a way that constantly celebrates God’s mercies towards me and my loved ones makes getting up even better.

You may be wondering what will happen now, the next time we run out of my favorite breakfast and I find myself “Stuck in a Rut”. Well, the truth is, my mom will probably remind me of this article. And then I will have to smile and laugh at myself and thank God for the mercies of reheated oatmeal. J

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

