rachelcoker



Reflections of a Sixteen-Year-Old

So… Today is my sixteenth birthday! 🙂 Ha ha, it feels so great to actually write that. I didn’t really do anything too clichéd. Except for dancing around to Hilary Duff’s “Sweet Sixteen”, thus fulfilling one of my greatest aspirations from way back when I was ten years old. It seems like when I was a tween, sixteen seemed like such a magical age. I don’t really know why that is. Maybe because our culture places so much emphasis on that particular birthday. I think that the sixteen year old girl is supposed to be like the epitome of American youthfulness. Flirty and wild and precocious and what-not. But you know me. I don’t really think I’m any of those things. Too rebellious to be stereotyped, right?

Anyway, even though I celebrated a month ago, I decided today still deserved a special entry. I sat and thought a little about what happened over the last year, and wondered what this year might bring. At ten years old, if you had asked me what I thought my life might look like at sixteen, I probably would have given a way different description than the way it really is today. I mostly likely would have guessed I was a young Broadway star or something, living in New York City. (I really don’t know why I wanted to be a Broadway star–I can’t even sing!) I imagined I would be driving a sporty little car, most likely taking long roadtrips across the state with my girlfriends piled in the backseat. Just about any scenario out of a Mary Kate and Ashley movie would have already happened in my crazy life, and I would always be surrounded by friends and attention.

I never would have imagined I’d write a book. I definitely never would have thought it would be published at sixteen. There’s no way I could have thought up all the wonderful friends God has brought into my life who, instead of screaming in the back of my car, encourage and support me through life’s ups and downs. My ten-year-old self definitely would have died with joy if she knew that I now play the piano. Or take pictures, because I remember thinking that was really artistic and cool.

Who knows where the next year will take me? What plans God has in store for me at “Sweet Sixteen”? It may be anti-climatic; a year of relief and peace from the never-ending business of life. Or it may be huge. Much huger than I ever could have imagined.

There’s one thing I know for sure: I can’t wait to find out.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hailey says:

    Happy Birthday Rachel!! I love this post because I had so many of the same feelings about turning 16 🙂 But regardless how the circumstances of this year end up playing out, I bet God will make it pretty special for you through His goodness alone. I loved getting to know you!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, thanks! 🙂 I love getting to know you better with every email. One day your family has to come over for supper or something so we can get to know each other face to face. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Hailey says:

    totally! that would be so much fun 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

