rachelcoker



How To Be Creative: Part Two

Part Two of yesterday’s “How to be Creative”:

3) Have Intelligent Conversations

Always have an open ear to what other people are saying to you. Don’t think that you know it all, or that there are only two opinions: Yours and the wrong one. (Admittedly, I think this pretty often) But seriously, having conversations deeper than sports or shopping is really beneficial! Some of the best ideas I’ve ever gotten have come from having deep conversations with friends and “older people” (i.e. my mom’s friends). Ask someone else their opinion on something. Listen, and pay attention, and then humbly share yours. Don’t get mad or offended at anything they say, but rather respect their views and think about how it relates to yours.

4) Try Something New…Even if You Don’t Think You Will Like It

Let me be the first to admit to being one of those obsessively habitual people. I like to eat the same thing for breakfast every morning. I go to bed at the same time every day. I am suspicious of my mom’s new recipes, and sometimes form opinions sooner than necessary. That being said, I do love trying new things. Granted, I don’t love every new thing I try, but the idea of discovering something fresh is always exciting to me. So while I may be eyeing that Asian “casserole dish” with a queasy stomach, I will try it anyway just to see if I like it or hate it. I will go somewhere I’ve never been before, just to see what it looks like. I will talk to someone I’ve never met before, even if they intimidate me. That’s the kind of person I am, and I’m grateful for it. Because you never know what inspiring experiences you will miss out on if you never give yourself a chance to have them!

5) Be Boring. Occasionally.

You can’t be bursting with creativity 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you did, I don’t think you could technically call it “creativity”, could you? [I will look into this and let you know…] Anyway, there are days that will be dull. There will be times you cannot think of any new ideas, or even want to. But you just have to let those days pass and move on to better things. When life gives you lemons, it’s up to you to go out there and get the sugar and water necessary to make your own lemonade! Push yourself, and be creative.

Well, that’s about all I can think of to inspire you to think and live creatively. But at some point, it’s not about me telling you what to do anymore, it’s about you doing it.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

