rachelcoker



‘Cause You Have to Do Something

Let’s talk about awkward questions. This is my favorite: “So, what are you planning on doing? You know, after school.”

Don’t get me wrong. The speaker means absolutely no offense when he asks this. He is merely enquiring as to what my life plan is past this year. Am I going to college? Am I buying a car? Will I get a job? Or get a husband?

What I love about this awkward question is that the answer is short and sweet. Three words, to be precise: “I. Don’t. Know.”

There are a lot of pressures that come along with being a teenager. I think I once heard someone the teenage years as the welcome mat to the real world. Decisions have to be made. A lot of them. Do I want to go to college? Or get a car/job/husband anytime soon? (Okay, maybe not that last one. I’m only sixteen, sheesh!)

It’s difficult for me to pin down an answer to the question, “What do you want to do with your life?” Because, honestly, I don’t know! I love to write, and take pictures, and play piano–but sometimes that doesn’t seem like enough. Like I need a college degree or an office job to make me feel secure in myself. I start to doubt the path my life is taking, and wonder if I should push myself in another direction.

And so, with much thought and prayer, I have compiled a three point list to serve as my answer to “What do you want to do with your life?” The next time someone asks me that question, I will turn to them and spew off in a robotic voice:

Number One: I want to be a godly woman.

Number Two: I want to have kids. Lots of them.

And Number Three: I want to be happy in whatever I do. No matter what that is.

That’s all I really want out of life. To be a godly woman who walks with the Lord and raises a family full of little blessings. And to love what I do, whether it’s photography or writing or something else entirely. My dad once told me that if I find something I love doing and figure out a way to make a living at it, I’ll never have to work a day in my life. Because I’ll be happy and content, whether I’m breezing through life or slaving away. Life shouldn’t be as complicated as everyone makes it out to be. I never want to pine away for a better paying job or Pulitzer prize achievement or some other “success” in this life. When I grow up, I just want to be happy and content in whatever God has given me.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * nkeda14 says:

    This is very true, I’m also sixteen and experiencing much the same thing:) I still have no idea what I’ll do with myself. My list is basically the same as yours though, besides number two (LOL I’m not sure if I’m cut out to have kids!).

    Good luck to you with whatever you choose to do!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh, I’m so encouraged to hear that! It’s always nice to know there are girls in similar situations out there. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  2. Hi, Rachel. I discovered your blog through Jill Williamson’s interview. Congratulations on getting your book published!

    I’ve had to deal with this question a lot as well and I always dreaded it. Even now it’s still a little strange when people ask me what I do and I tell them that I write. Inevitably their faces twist quizzically and then they smile, “Oh, that’s nice. What do you write?” And then I have to start explaining… 🙂

    Sometimes I feel like my life is divided between two different worlds – the writing world and the non-writing world. And very few people in the non-writing world understand the part of me in the writing world! But, I’ve come to realize that I can’t allow others to dictate my life or I will be miserable. I believe that God has gifted me for a reason and so I want to write and try to glorify Him with my writing. And if He calls me to something else later on, then I want to be ready to follow Him wherever!

    Besides, I get to meet some pretty cool people on the way! So anyway, just wanted to encourage you to keep following the direction you feel God has placed before you and don’t allow the opinions of others to sway you or hold you back! I’m looking forward to reading your book when it is released!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

