rachelcoker



Stuck in a Rut

Sorry if my blog hasn’t been very interesting lately. I was literally sitting here today, thinking to myself: “Write something funny, Rachel. WRITE SOMETHING FUNNY!!!” Then I kind of realized that nothing really funny has happened lately. That kind of led me to a mini-panic attack, since I always think everything is hilarious. And if I can’t even find something to laugh about right now, that must mean my life is in trouble.

Anyway, I think I’m maybe in a stuck in a rut spot right now? I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of writing, and photo editing, and promotion for my book, but I haven’t been doing much living. It’s been hard to find a lot of joy and laughter in going through the mundane rituals of everyday life, especially the things I don’t feel like doing.

Thanksgiving was a wonderful break, though! Needless to say, I wrote a cheesy Thanksgiving post then decided not to post it. To sum up what I wrote, I am thankful for everything God has blessed me with this year and am shocked at the course my life has taken. Last year everything looked so much different. It’s funny to look back now at where this year has taken me. I’m also thankful for everyone who has been showing me so much support. Before this year, I had no idea how many teens were out there just like me–with nothing but a passion to write and a desire to be heard. Hearing all of your stories makes me feel so much more inspired to continue following my dream.

Yep. That’s my Thanksgiving speech. 😉 What did everyone else do to celebrate the holiday?

Also: I’m planning on doing another instalment of my “Writing Q&A.” You can find the first two here and here. I’d like to make this a semi-regular feature, so if anyone has any more questions about writing, the writing process, or the life of a writer–I’d be glad to answer!

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I have another writing question: When you wrote your book, did you write a rough draft and then start editing immediately, or did you give it a few weeks to sit before you edited?

    Thanksgiving… I spent NOT writing… first time in 23 days of writing my novel, which I finished the day before. And now I’m wondering if I should start editing right away.

    I love reading your blog, just keep writing! 🙂

    ~boldbrightbeautiful

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Congrats on finishing your book! Don’t start editing right away–I’ll explain more when I write my next Q&A post. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Elizabeth says:

    I too am a teenage author. I have one book written but I started it when I was twelve so it has lots of editing to be done before it is publishable. I am about to start a new book but I feel afraid to start it because I know I have a good idea and I don’t want to ruin it. Have you felt the same way? Also since you
    have written historical what research did you do to “know” the time period?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

