rachelcoker



Christmas Memories…

Well, Christmas is over. All the presents have been unwrapped and the fudge has been eaten and the relatives are all home. And, in our family at least, many unpleasant memories have been made. We sort of had a heck of a weekend. To keep things short, my aunt chopped off half her finger, my dad got food poisoning, and my mom backed the van into a tree. But, yeah, it was a great Christmas! 😉

We were sitting around with our cousins after we crashed into the tree in their driveway yesterday and mused over everything that went wrong this Christmas. No one was expecting my aunt to show up Christmas afternoon with a fully wrapped finger after having spent Christmas morning in the ER. Or that my dad would be awake all night throwing up oysters in the downstairs bathroom. Or that we would make the ungraceful exit of slamming into the big tree at the end of our cousins’ driveway. But, you know what, sometimes that kind of stuff just happens. When everything that can go wrong does, it just reminds you how blessed you are all 364 other, non-holy days of the year.

Several phone calls to relatives and insurance agents later, we made it home pretty safely. A little sleep deprived, a little cranky, but still alive and well. And then we ate a meal of four different types of vegetables (you have to know how much our extended family loves meat to appreciate how good this tasted) and mused about the true meaning of Christmas. How had such a peaceful Christmas mor/ning, complete with singing, and giving, and worshiping, ended in such a fiasco? We took a few minutes to pray, and thank God for getting us out alive, and to remind ourselves of the true spirit of Christmas. The peace and the joy we find in Christ.

So what did I learn this year? Well besides being permanently freaked out by oysters, knives, and trees, I learned that this is a season for slowing down, not speeding up. And what I missed out on last week by getting caught up in all the busyness and chaos, I hope to take time to appreciate this week. Because, with the car in the shop and everyone recovering from the crazy weekend, I doubt we’re going anywhere. 😉

How did everyone’s Christmases go?

-Rachel

P.S. Everyone please pray for my little sister Hannah this week. She got her wisdom teeth taken out this morning, and she’s going to be in a lot of pain for the next few days…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    Oh, Rachel… I feel for your mom. I got backed into (hard) by a postal delivery truck two weeks ago—NOT my fault, I hasten to add. Duncle was not pleased, since I was driving his car. Nothing was damaged but the bumper, and my pride. At least you weren’t driving!! You never would have lived that down! I’m glad you all survived your Christmas adventure! And I sincerely hope your dad and Hannah are feeling better.
    I love you, and wish you all a very happy Christmas!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. I had a very relaxed Christmas. We opened presents, ate a big dinner, and then just laid around the house. Not much. I did end up feeling guilty about this because to me, Christmas seems like an oppurtunity to do something special, extraordinary. Different. Something that is important to helping others. Well, maybe I should make more of an effort on other days of the year…but there is just something about Christmas.
    I’m glad to read that despite those unfortunate events, you all are still alive. 😉
    I hope Hannah feels better soon! Have a relaxing end of the year.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Elizabeth says:

    My Christmas was pretty bad so I can relate. But Jesus is the reason for the season. Hope that your New Years is less eventful.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  4. * RachelC says:

    Ha ha, thanks everyone! Yeah, our New Year’s is definitely going to make up for Christmas. 🙂 We plan on eating a big meal, relaxing, and just enjoying time together. 🙂
    For those of you who were asking, Hannah is doing much better. She was having problems with pain and throwing up from the medicine the first night, but she is recovering nicely now.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

