rachelcoker



Interviewing… Myself

[Warning: This is a rather silly post]

I have been doing a lot of interviews lately. At least two or three a week, it seems. And while it is tons of fun, one thing has been getting to me: Everyone asks basically the same questions.

I mean, obviously, there are certain questions that I understand people want answers to. How long have I been writing? How did I get an agent? Where did I come up with the idea for Interrupted? But the one thing that really makes me grin is when I get a totally unexpected, off-the-wall one. Like who would I get to play my characters in a movie version of Interrupted? Or what kind of music do I listen to when I write? That’s what’s really fun to answer.

So, I have decided, after much contemplation, that the only way to get to answer all the fun questions I’d like to be asked is… to interview myself. So, this afternoon, I sat down with myself and got the 4-1-1. The no-questions-barred full story. Who is Rachel Coker? And what are her deepest, darkest secrets? 😉

R: Hi, Rachel! Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to have a chat with me today.

R: Oh, it’s a pleasure! I always have time for you.

R: So, let’s get down to business, shall we? We are looking for juicy stuff in this interview. I always want to know embarrassing things about people. It says a lot about who they really are. Take music, for example. What is the most embarrassing song on your ipod?

R: It really pains me to admit this, but I do have a Hannah Montana song on there. You know that one “Nobody’s Perfect”? I think it’s been over a year since I last listened to it, but there was a time when that was my go-to song when running. It actually has a great beat for sprinting. But I’m always afraid it’s going to come on when someone’s listening to my ipod. I should probably delete it. Nah.

R: Do you have any other embarrassing moments in your past that you’d like to talk about?

R: Not very many that I’d like to share with you! I don’t know… Once I was talking to this girl at my church and she mentioned this place she worked at. I had no idea where it was or anything, but I tried to be cool and breezily replied that I’d gone in there the other day but hadn’t bought anything. Just looked around. Later on, when out driving, I found out it was a restaurant, not a store. I still feel like an idiot every time I drive past it.

R: What is your absolute least favorite food?

R: Sushi! I find it appalling.

R: Really? I would have thought you’d like sushi. Is there something else you prefer instead?

R: I am way too fond of hushpuppies. Once I went to a diner and ordered two plates of hushpuppies as my meal. Everyone thought I was crazy and my mom was really mortified when she found out later, but I still think it was worth it.

R: Do you have any hidden talents?

R: I am wicked good at impersonating people. My sister is, too, so it might be in our blood. I can reenact entire conversations, copying people’s voices and gestures perfectly. Those of you who I know should probably be freaked out now, because I may have copied you before. Maybe.

R: What’s the worst movie you’ve ever watched? I mean one so bad it almost made you lose faith in humanity.

R: “The Englishmen Who Went up a Hill and Came Down a Mountain”. My mom picked it out because she used to have a thing for Hugh Grant, I think. Anyway, it was about a guy who measures hills. How boring is that? The worst part, though, is that the back cover promised that we would be “uplifted from our seats in uproarious laughter”. Ha!

R: Finish this sentence: You want to get married in…

R: The middle of the night! So that the ceremony starts before twelve and finishes after. That way, I can celebrate my anniversary on two different days! Well, then again, maybe not.

R: That would be really cool! So, what are you obsessed with right now?

R: Covergirl tinted lipbalm, running, old Michelle Branch cds, and re-watching classic movies. But mostly the lipbalm. I joke that I should sell it, I love it so much.

R: And one last question: Picture yourself ten years from now. You are holding…

R: I don’t know—a diaper? A turkey? A ten pound brick? Unfortunately, I’m not psychic.

R: Well, it was splendid interviewing you. The questions were quite fun, weren’t they?

R: Yep! I think it’s been my third favorite interview so far!

Okay, I’m done being weird now. For a while. Tomorrow, I will try to talk of more interesting things…

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * tyler says:

    why do i have the strange feeling youve impersonated me alot before???

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Hannah says:

    you should be worried….

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Jackie T says:

    I never thought of getting married in the middle of the night…you are too clever! But how on earth can you not like sushi?! Love this interview and Covergirl tinted lipbalm. (best thing ever invented. Besides sushi, of course 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I know–all my friends think I am crazy for not liking it! I tried it on the cruise but am still holding out hope that it was just a bad type of sushi and maybe if I try it again sometime I’ll like it more…. And yes, Covergirl is the BEST. ;

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Emii says:

    a movie about a guy measuring hills? love it.:P
    haha, ‘just looked around,’ pretending you’d been to the shop, that’s funny!:D
    Oh, and, uh… confession. I have almost all of Hannah Montana’s song on my iPod. And I still listen to them.;)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      So glad to know I’m not the only one! 😛

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

