rachelcoker



Publisher’s Weekly

So, my inbox has been JAMMED this week with emails from my people at Zondervan, for one very big reason: My book was featured in this week’s edition of Publisher’s Weekly! For those of you who haven’t read the review yet, here is what Publisher’s Weekly had to say about Interrupted (Coming out in less than a month now!):

Coker makes an impressive debut—she’s only 15—in this Depression and WWII-era tale of Alcyone Everly, who is 14 when her mother dies of brain cancer. Allie is adopted by a woman in Maine, Beatrice Lovell, and vigorously resists her adoptive mother’s kindnesses, clinging bitterly to the memory of her mother. The past re-enters her life in the form of Sam Carroll, an old friend from her childhood home whose aunt lives next door to Beatrice and Allie. Sam has always been sweet on Allie, and his reappearance stirs many unwanted and confusing emotions in her. World events seize the day as the U.S. gets caught up in WWII, altering everyone’s lives. Coker writes an emotionally compelling and psychologically nuanced tale. The plot has some weak spots: Allie manages to overhear not one but two crucial incidents that give her unexpected information, and some of her character development late in the story is abrupt. But the historical context is an engaging narrative frame. Coker is one to watch.

Okay, let me die of happiness now. Ha ha, just kidding. But seriously, it is a huge honor to be featured in Publisher’s Weekly. I know that to be featured, much less get a positive review, is an accomplishment to any author. It just feels especially humbling to see God doing all this in my life right now.

But that’s not the end! A journalist for Publisher’s Weekly is also going to be interviewing me tomorrow for a special feature on their site. So I’ll have to keep you all posted when that is up.

Also: I’ve started guest blogging at my friend Stephanie’s blog, Go Teen Writers. My first post is up today, so go and check it out! Also, if you want to preorder my book and have it arrive by February 14th, order your own copy at Amazon today!

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Rachel, that is such a BIG DEAL. Congratulations!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Novel Girl says:

    I’m always impressed by you, Rachel. People two and three times your age are venturing into the writing world for the first time and here you are with an achievement most people never reach.

    I’m sure you receive a tonne of support but I wanted to let you know I’m rooting for you. I’m waiting to hear more updates on your début novel.

    Keep up the crazily good work! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thanks so much for your sweet words of encouragement. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  3. * tyler says:

    i cant believe you havent let me read a draft yet:(…… i wanna read it!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      No one’s read a draft yet. It’s gonna be a surprise!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
      • you cant let your friend living in australia read a copy ;)?

        Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  4. Oh, wow! This is so awesome, Rachel. (I’m Stephanie’s best friend and saw Jill Williamson post about your upcoming book a while back.) I so want(ed) to be you when I . . . uh, grow down? de-age? 😉 Let’s just say you’re living my dream, and I am so, so impressed and excited for you! Can’t wait to see where the Lord leads you!

    Major congrats on the PW stuff!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, thank you! 🙂 I can’t wait to see where He leads me, either!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  5. Congratulations, Rachel! I’m so proud of you, just because I know it has taken a lot of work on your part to get here! 🙂 *standing ovation*

    Fantastic! Hope the rest of your Friday is just as sweet!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

