rachelcoker



Proof That I Was a Morbid Child

Yeah, so, did I ever mention that I was a weird child? Very, very morbid. I read “Wuthering Heights” half a dozen times and my favorite poets were Dickinson and Poe. I loved creepy stories and abandoned houses and… graveyards. I will now allow you to read this poem I penned in sixth or seventh grade. I think I whipped it out in an hour or so for a school assignment, and it kind of disturbed my mom. Firstly because I could write that fast and secondly because I could write that…morbid-ly. Oh, well. We are who we are, right? And if who I am is a girl who writes about dead people and sad trees, who has a right to blame me? 😉

An Old Tree in the Graveyard

 An old tree in the graveyard,

Beside the country parish.

The body of beauty forever marred,

The days of pleasure vanished.

 

No life of silence my childhood knew,

But verve and joy and song.

But now the years of joy are thru,

The youthful beauty gone.

 

The vivid bark has withered fast,

The bones begun to crack. 

My body moans with each day past

My rich skin turns to black.

 

The once smooth wood is chipped and worn,

The stately branches bent.

My long strong arms now hang forlorn,

The years of vigor spent.

 

I watched the flowers of my youth

Drift off in the air.

What once held warmth is now removed,

My arms forever bare.  

 

The children of the ancient church

Beside my lonely home.

Who used to play beneath the birch,

Can now no longer roam.

 

Young faces that I once beheld,

The noble, wise, and brave;

Hearts full of life—but now lay stilled,

Silenced beneath the grave.

 

The beauty from when my buds first woke,

Has vanished throughout the years.

I stand now, silent, an ancient oak,

Amidst the graveyard’s tears.

 

Okay, I just re-read the poem and now I can see why my mom was so freaked out… I mean, why in the world would a twelve year old even be thinking about graveyards? *shudder*

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    Rachel, that was absolutely beautiful. I’m not much of a fan of poetry, but I really liked it. What does it say about me that I didn’t find it morbid?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Yeah, my mom was talking tonight about how she really did like it, even if it was a little creepy. I guess sometimes weird stuff is pretty? 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Elizabeth says:

    I guess I am morbid too. I am a big fan of Jane Eyre which is also kinda depressing so you are not alone.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I love Jane Eyre! And also Wuthering Heights… Is it weird to think that gloomy stuff is amazing? 😛

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. Oh, I love Dickinson and Poe! I was never into writing morbid anything, though. I wrote sad/nostalgic/lonely-sounding poetry (and some happy/silly poetry, too) but never anything morbid. :\
    Okay, random question now: I’m trying to write a query letter to send to several agents for a novella I’ve finished. I’ve read several websites’ advice on writing a good (or how not to write a good) query letter… but I just wanted your take on the matter. Any advice for teenagers writing query letters? Maybe even an example you recommend emulating (or avoiding)?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Dickinson is my absolute favorite–there’s a lot of it in “Interrupted”. 🙂 To answer your question, I’ll prepare a blog post in a few days about query letters. In the mean time, I may send you an email with some information, if you don’t mind. 🙂 It’s a good question…

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
      • An email would be great. I use email for just about everything anyway 😉

        Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

