rachelcoker



A House Full of Women

So, who watched the Superbowl last night? Yeah, me neither. I had every intention of “catching the game”. I pumped myself up for the Giants, and tried to get a team mentality in my head. (Which really, I don’t get. Why do people say “We won the big game!” when all they did was sit on a sofa for three hours??) But, alas, only ten minutes into the game, I got bored and left. The commercials weren’t even interesting enough to hold my attention! I did catch the half-time show, though! Watching Madonna lip-synch in six-inch heels was much more interesting than a bunch of guys hustling around a field. Just saying.

It’s funny, though. Growing up in a house full of girls (plus one dad), I don’t think I’ve watched more than three or four sports games in my life. (If ice skating doesn’t count) Seriously. I count down the days to the Oscars, and sit through eight hours of the “Love Comes Softly Series” (which is lame, I know, but still interesting, right?), but I can’t watch the single most important football game of the year. What is wrong with me?

I decided to compile a list, though, of truth-isms in a house full of women. Living with four females may drive my dad crazy, but we are all pretty darn happy with our girl-ish habits. Here’s what our life looks like:

  • You can hardly hear a word of the “Today Show” in the morning, because everyone is too busy saying things like, “Wow. Look at Anne’s cape. I could never look that good in a cape.” Or “I wonder how much plastic surgery that woman has had. Her lips look like a duck!” Or “Britney Spears is making another comeback? She needs to get a life, already!”
  • It’s nearly impossible to go to the grocery store without stopping by the outlet mall, which is right beside it. What kind of cruel person planned that out? He must either really hate or really love women.
  • The new Taylor Swift cd must be played in the car, and any man who attempts to turn it off will be shunned.
  • When a good looking guy is talking in a movie, everyone must be silent. His every word must be hung over, especially if it is spoken in a British accent. However, if it’s just the evil villain talking about his plans to take over the world, you can feel free to talk all you want!
  • Every time someone mentions “Ella Enchanted”, everyone says in unison, “Ohmygoshthebookwassomuchbetterthanthemovie. Seriously.”
  • Birthday parties are planned in detail eight to nine months before that person’s actual birthday.
  • People cry. A lot.

It’s actually not as bad as you might think. Yes, there’s a lot of drama, and yes, watching a football game is probably pretty annoying. (We ask a new question every ninety seconds) But it’s also very entertaining and fun! I think my Dad enjoys watching us all acting like girls. Because we may be emotional and indecisive and opinionated, but we still think we’re pretty fun people to be around. Although I guess that makes us vain, too. Typical females. 😉

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily says:

    ahaha this was great!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Jordanna says:

    That’s hysterical! I’ve grown up with boys, so someone says gun, plane, or camoflauge, and we all say “what kind?”! sooo very different!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Wow, that’s really funny. Some of our best friends have all boys and whenever they talk about hunting or guns we act like we are interested. They do the same when we talk about shoes. It’s common courtesy! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Sierra B. says:

    Hahaahahaa. I love that part about the Taylor Swift CD 🙂 And just saying…but for Ella Enchanted, the book was totally better. It plain true! Really…you can live without watching football. I have. And I enjoy watching figure skating much more 🙂 Do you have a favorite??? Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Cause You Are!)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Yep. Taylor Swift is a big deal in this house. 🙂 And as for figure skating… I’m game for any sport that involves pretty outfits and classical music. I also think tennis is strangely intense and engrossing, and I love watching any sport where lives are at stake (like bull riding!). But that’s just me being weird. ;P

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  4. * tyler says:

    how many years was it again i had to put up with this? 😉 but seriously, that is quite funny, and all true:P i miss you guys!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Elizabeth says:

    Let’s see, you probably watched Downton Abbey instead.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      No, I’ve actually never seen Downtown Abbey! Can you believe it? I should probably catch that sometime. I hear it’s pretty good…

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  6. * lilacandivy says:

    Ha ha ha, I totally agree about Ella Enchanted!! 😉 Of course the book was so good, no movie could really come close..

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      My sentiments exactly. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

