rachelcoker



Top Ten Cheesy Movie Lines I Quote, Like, All the Time

1. “With God as my witness, I’ll never go hungry again!” – Gone With the Wind

I say when I’m absolutely starving and, despite all the food in the house, there is nothing to eat. Under such circumstances, I grit my teeth, grasp a handful of cheerios, goldfish, or whatever is available, and stand up on a kitchen chair reciting this line. I just leave the whole “If I have to lie and cheat and steal and kill” part that comes before it. I feel like that’s taking it a little too far.

2. “You’re like my soul sister!” – Confessions of a Shopaholic

Is it terrible that I’ve seen this movie? I think so. I should probably never mention it again. But, seriously, this quote is perfect for any situation when it feels like someone has totally just read your mind. You watch Pirates of the Caribbean with the subtitles on, too? You’re like my soul sister!

3. “It should take you four seconds to walk from here to that door. I’ll give you two.” – Breakfast at Tiffany’s

An obvious winner for whenever you want to get someone to leave. And you also don’t mind them getting really mad at you. Because that quote is a lot harsher than just saying, “Weeeell, it’s getting late and I have a lot of things to do tomorrow.” Hint hint.

4. “I spent it with my uncle in Alaska hunting wolverines!” – Napoleon Dynamite

Another embarrassing movie, but an absolutely perfect comeback if anyone asks you how you spent summer vacation and you don’t have anything better to say than, “Oh, I went to the pool and, you know, did… stuff.”

5. “Oh, wait! I forgot to give you a hug!” – Elf

Perfect for freaking out people. Probably most effective when you’re getting off an elevator and want to disturb that random woman who stood in silence next to you for the last three and a half minutes. What? It’s not like you’ll ever see her again. Hopefully.

6. “What excellent boiled potatoes.” – Pride and Prejudice (2005)

I just like to say this whenever we have boiled potatoes. No other reason.

7. “Never let go. Promise me, and never let go of that promise.” – Titanic

Every time I give something to a member of my family, I clasp their hand and whisper, “Never let go. Never.” Then, depending on the family member, she’ll either roll her eyes and say, “Wow. Lame, Rachel,” or reenact the final minutes of the sinking of that great ship.

8. “We are worms! Worthless worms!” – Hercules

Okay, so you probably would have to see Hercules to appreciate how funny this quote is. Have you seen it, when the creepy little monster things turn into worms? My sister Hannah and I can do a dead-on impersonation, groveling to our mom when we mess up. Usually we wind up rolling around in laughter at how ridiculous we are. Yeah, it’s pretty strange.

9. “A red sun rises. Blood has been spilt this night.” – Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

You gotta love how dramatic the people in LOTR are. If I saw a red sky in the morning, I would probably just think, “Oh, how pretty. Now I have something nice to look at while mindlessly stalking orcs.” Instead they have to be all morbid and depressing. Now I can’t look at a red sunrise without thinking of this line!

10. “Iocane powder! I’d bet my life on it!” – The Princess Bride

Obviously there’d have to be a Princess Bride quote on it. I seriously use every single quote from that movie, but this one especially. There’s just something so funny about hearing someone ask, “What on earth is this?” and jumping up with a loud, “It’s iocane powder! I’d bet my life on it!” The great thing is that everyone gets it. Well, everyone except the poor, deprived people who never saw this great movie. Shame on them.

[Photo by Tim Walker]

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jordanna says:

    “Inconceivable!”
    “You keep using that word. I do not think that means what you think it means.”

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Again, LOVE Princess Bride. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  2. * nkeda14 says:

    “Skills! Girls want guys with skills!” – Napoleon Dynamite
    “I Call shoot gun!”, “I Call 9 Millameter”- Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles (very useful when getting in the car)

    Other person:”How old are you?”
    Me: “192 Months” -Grown Ups (though in the movie they ask it about a four year old… not a sixteen year old. Still good though!)

    Those are some of my personal favorites 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      “Napoleon, give me some of your tots.”
      “NO! Go find your own!”
      😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  3. * YaYa Tomczak says:

    Oh Rachel, you are so seriously weird!I can’t believe you’ve seen Napoleon Dynamite, much less admit it!!And Elf? Seriously???Loving Breakfast at Tiffany’s (partially) makes up for it, though. Great posts lately. Keep up the good work, but remember to breathe!
    Love you lots!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Obviously I’m weird, Ya-ya! You know how much I love Napoleon Dynamite and Elf! But Breakfast at Tiffany’s IS my all-time favorite, so you have to still love me, right? 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  4. Oh, Rachel, “You’re like my *soul sister*!” I watch EvErY movie with subtitles (including Pirates! although I have yet to get my hands on three and four…)

    Also, Princess Bride is, in my opinion, one of the best family movies ever made. It’s cheesy enough for girls but has enough sword fighting to actually interest the male species.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Bethy says:

    I really think that this is probably like my favorite post yet!!!!! I’ll totally be using some of these
    Thanks a bunch Rachel 😀

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Emily Croft says:

    Very funny!!! How about from Pendragon(cringe)-“I have an army. Do you think you can use it?”

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I *almost* put that one in there! 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * Hannah Coker says:

      That movie was so deep… 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

