rachelcoker



Celebration

My dad was actually grinning ear to ear on the way out of the restaurant tonight, despite how he may look in the picture. He put his arm around my mom and said, “I think this is the first time we’ve had one of our kids take us out to supper.” And right then, it hit me how completely honored and thankful I am. To be in this position. All I could do was send up a prayer of thanks for everything God has given me. It feels wonderful to treat my family to a celebratory dinner, after everything they’ve done for me up to this point. After all the sacrifices they’ve made for me. Every phone call, email, prayer, encouraging word, or advice they’ve given me. It’s been a long, crazy year but it felt good to just relax, eat some maple-glazed salmon, and celebrate what God has done in our lives. What an amazing night. 🙂

-Rachel

P.S. No, I do not usually carry around copies of my book when I go to restaurants. I am not that creepy. Just so you know.

P.P.S. I should also add to my House Full of Women post that going out to eat is a big deal because everyone argues over whether to dress casual or dressy. As you can see, tonight we decided on a “smart casual”, meaning nice shirts and jewelry with simple pants or jeans. Complicated, right? 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kara Grant says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing this! You have a beautiful family and what a privilege that you could treat your parents and sisters to dinner, VERY cool! You’re not creepy at all for having your book there, it was a momentous occasion 🙂 I was extremely blessed to read this and I pray continued success for this book and any other books you publish. Glad you enjoyed a night out with your family 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. Oh, that’s so fun! What a special night for you all.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  3. * storygirl308 says:

    From writer to another, congratulations!!! 😀

    God bless,
    ~Laura

    P.S.
    I look forward to following your blog. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Emily says:

    It looks like a wonderful night!! Our family doesn’t go out to eat very much either, and it’s always so special when we do. Lovely picture of your family!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I know! Going out is such a fun treat when you don’t do it that often! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

