rachelcoker



Go Ahead… Have a Laugh!

I shared on fellow writer Stephanie Morrill’s blog a few weeks ago about adding humor to your books. Basically, I encouraged writers to use experiences from their everyday life to inspire humorous situations in their stories. I decided to take some of my own advice today, and write down some funny/awkward/witty things that I saw and experienced this week. Whether or not anyone else will find them funny, I’m not really sure, but I definitely had a good laugh!

  • My nine-year-old sister and I were walking to the car from church the other night. A flock of geese flew over us, and I pointed them out to her and said, “Look, Ruth! Geese always fly in a V-formation. Did you know that?” She just wrinkled her nose and tossed her head like the too-cool-for-words kid that she is. “Please,” she told me, “They aren’t flying in a V. They’re flying in a square root sign.” Obviously. Don’t know how I didn’t see that…
  • A man at our church was planning on singing a solo on Sunday morning. He is a very serious, manly-man, so we all sat there in silence, waiting for him to begin. But then, just as he was opening his mouth to sing, a high-pitched female operatic voice came pouring out of the speakers. Turns out the sound booth had accidentally played the cd version of the song. Everyone burst out laughing while he mouthed the words for a good five seconds before the female singer finally was cut off. It was the funniest thing to ever happen in a Sunday morning service, as long as I can remember.
  • I stumbled across this list of annoying things to do in an elevator. It really spoke to me, because #1: I hate awkward silences in elevators; 2# I hate awkward conversations in elevators; and #3: Numbers 4 and 9 on this list both sound like things I would do in moments of extreme awkwardness.

  • I can’t count the number of times, this week alone, someone has walked up to me and said, “Hi!” and I responded with “Good!” I mean, it may not be the most humiliating thing ever, but seriously, how awkward is that???
  • I got distracted while driving the other night and didn’t make the right turn at a light. Instead, I drove forward into intense darkness, down a long and winding road that I did not know. No one in my family offered any supporting or encouraging words, but instead shared with me their usual comments of: “Ohmygoshwe’regoingtodiiiiiiieeeee!” and “Mom, do you really think Rachel should be allowed to drive us anymore???” When I finally found a road to turn the car around, I ended up nearly over steering into the wrong lane of traffic, all the while blinding my fellow drivers with my bright lights. We survived in the end, but everyone else took the rest of the car ride to squeal about how their lives flashed before their eyes. And how I am never driving by myself alone in the dark. Ever.
  • My dad sent me this video, which is probably the only reason I am even publishing this post. Because I am now convinced that my calling in life is to share with everyone in the world how totally cute and adorable this old couple is. Elderly men shaking their hips is probably the most hilarious thing ever.

What happened to you this week?

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. OHMIGOSH! HYSTERICAL! Every single thing on here, especially the bit about your sister. I have a sister like that. Then the thing about the elevators? I’ll have to try some out and … the car -_- how many times has my family feigned near death while I was driving? I mean I barely grazed that tree!
    This was great! 😀 Have a wonderful day.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. *Starts laughing* These are great! I’m going to email this blog post to my friends!

    »” I can’t count the number of times, this week alone, someone has walked up to me and said, “Hi!” and I responded with “Good!” ” 😀 I’ve done that! Hahaha!

    Thank you for sharing this!

    ~ZA

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Emily Ann says:

    Oh my goodness these are so funny!!! I love the first one…sounds like my sister! haha!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Rachel Roose says:

    Hahahah!! Thats Great8D
    Totally love the elevater list. I read it to my little brothers and of course they laughed at all the one you didn’t piont out ;p

    Rachel Marie

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, that’s so cute! I’m glad they enjoyed it. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Sierra B. says:

    Love that about the elevators 🙂 I’m going to have to try some of them 😛 Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Cause You Are!)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  6. Hi Rachel! I really enjoyed this post because I’ve been trying to put more spontaneous moments into everyday life. I especially enjoyed reading those tips of what to do in an elevator. I will try some of those next time! heehee. I really think its great when people can step away from the “normal” way to act in public and make it a more fun and positive social interactive experience with strangers. I think its awesome when you can bond with a stranger, even if it is for only a few seconds, during your everyday life. Thanks for sharing this with us!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

