rachelcoker



The Dangers of Googling

So, yesterday I broke down and did what I’m pretty sure no author should ever do. I Googled myself. Now, I know what you’re thinking. What the heck, Rachel? Why on earth would you possibly want to know what other people think about you? And the truth is, other than retorting back with “Wouldn’t you want to Google yourself if you thought something interesting might come up????”, I really don’t know. I guess the temptation of knowing whether everyone else is as nice as all my readers are is what really got to me. That’s right, I secretly desired to read a review slamming my book and hurling on me every non-explicit insult imaginable. Whatever the case is, I decided to do it anyway.

I really should just end this post there, and leave you all wondering what I found. But I won’t. Because somebody might as well benefit from the knowledge I gained after ten minutes of checking myself out. No, I didn’t find a list of insults about me (darn!), but I did read a couple interesting reviews and got a lot of great constructive criticism about me and my book. Here is what I discovered about myself online:

1. No one seems to know my real age. On several different blogs, I am referred to as sixteen, fifteen, and even thirteen. I guess I can forgive that, since any age under eighteen is probably pretty much the same to adults. At least I didn’t come across a rumor that I was really a forty-seven-year-old male living in Idaho or anything creepy like that.

2. Just about everyone likes Charlie and Irene in my book. For some reason, that makes me happy.

3. A lot of non-Christians are reading my book and still loving it. I just think that’s fantastic. Because Interrupted is a religious book, I was worried that a lot of people would be angry and offended, but I haven’t heard anyone say yet that it’s too preachy or intense. One Jewish girl even wrote that she liked it, which I think is great. 🙂

4. I should never put a picture of myself online. The same three photos seem to be circulating around all the blogs and websites. This is unfortunate because I have decided that I really dislike how I look in one of those pictures. This is extremely vain and petty of me, obviously. But all important, meaningful thoughts seem to fly out of my head when I see a photo of myself and all I can think is: Why didn’t someone tell me to do something else with my hair??? Surely you’ve felt the same way…

Anyway, the moral of all this is that I should go have some ice cream now. Not for any particular reason other than having ice cream is a great moral for any story, if you think about it. I should eat ice cream and never Google myself again. Well, for a week at least.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * dynamicjoy says:

    I love it!!!!!! Completely cracked me up, and that is exactly what I would do! And I totally agree with you on the ice cream–definitely the best cure-all out there 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Kaleb Haman says:

    Just want to let you know that I would google myself in an instant if I thought something would come up! 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jenny says:

    This post made me laugh. I Googled myself once and found out I’m a race car driver and male! (not really, that was someone else with my name, but still).

    when I find info like this, I go for the Lindor Truffles. Chocolate and gooey middles all rolled into one sweet, decadent little ball. yum

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Laura says:

    Rachel,
    Somehow your posts always cheer me up! It’s nice to know someone out there is living life to the fullest, even if that means googling yourself once in a while. Your story has been so inspiring, and I really love reading about all the crazy things you do. Your writing talent shines through even in your blog posts and I can’t wait to read your book!

    -Laura 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, thanks! It’s nice for me to know that someone actually enjoys reading all my random thoughts. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Katelyn S. says:

    I have googled myself before and it was pretty funny. I was listed as a photographer but no contact info was given, so I don’t know where it is located! There were some others, but I don’t remember what they were…

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

