rachelcoker



In Which I Rant About Math…

So, apparently, being a published author at sixteen does not keep you from having to experience the mundane annoyances of everyday life. Case in point: Math homework.

I was always pretty good at math and got ahead in my middle school years, back before I had any kind of social or professional life. True, I hated it, but sometimes you just need something else to spend time on other than working your way through a pile of Louisa May Alcott books and watching Leave it to Beaver dvds. So I did math. I struggled my way through algebra, advanced algebra, and geometry. And once I had completed four years of high school math, I packed up my textbooks at the end of tenth grade. I haven’t looked at them since.

Until this week. That’s when I realized that in order to pass my end-of-the-year exams, I kind of have to remember math. And I don’t. I don’t remember anything. So we dug out my geometry textbook from the piles of books in our spare closet and I started plowing my way back through it. And, I have to tell you, it was humbling.

You see, I have forgotten how to do geometry. I was never very good at it to begin with, so I guess it just got shoved out of my brain at the end of the school year, along with all the unpleasant memories of tests and protractors. To make a long story short, I have spent the last week re-learning two years’ worth of high school math. And I have not been enjoying it.

And yet, I am glad that I am getting this opportunity to re-learn math. Despite my grumbling and complaining, I do need a refresher course. And I think it’s always important to remember that no matter how good you might be feeling about yourself, there is always going to be something stupidly simple that you do not, for the life of you, know how to do. For me, it’s solving the areas of circles. For some people it might be frying pancakes (my other weakness) or making social small talk. All I’m saying is thank heaven we all have those problem areas. It’s just one of those things that makes us a little more human. 🙂

-Rachel

P.S. Funny story: My sister Hannah saw that I was writing a blog entry and asked what it was about. I told her it was entitled, “In Which I Rant About Math”. She nodded and said, “So what do you talk about?” I paused for three whole seconds to see if she was joking before responding with, “Well, I pretty much just rant about math.” 😉

[photo via shutterstock]

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jordanna says:

    yuck. I was just thinking to myself how glad I am those days are over. Good for you, though! You’ve got a much better attitude about it than I would! Keep plugging away.
    PS you probably struggle with frying pancakes, because circles are geometry : D

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh, my gosh I had NEVER thought about that! So much is making sense now with the whole circle thing!!! ;P

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Emily Ann says:

    Ah I really don’t like math! But having a good attitude about it helps…that’s my problem, haha! =)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. * beachtwin110 says:

    Ugh I completely agree! I hate math! And yet it is a necessary skill…. 😦
    Grace

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Taylor Lynn says:

    I’m looking forward to finishing up my algebra…once I’m done with algebra, I should be done with math in general. For good. And I can’t wait! That’s one of the pros of homeschooling; you can finish up on your own schedule, haha. 🙂 That kind of stinks that you had to go back and relearn geometry, but I’m glad you appreciate the opportunity! That makes it a lot easier to handle. 🙂 Hugs!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

