rachelcoker



Murphy’s Law and Book Reviews

Okay, so I was planning on uploading a vlog video today, but Murphy’s Law decided to pay me a visit so of course the internet connection died two minutes before it was finished loading. I lost eighty minutes of my life today. Eighty minutes of buffering that I will never get back. 😦

I thought I’d share with you the latest hot review for my book. Interrupted was featured on USA Today’s teen blog, and I’ll post what they had to say below:

“It’s not every day a book lands in my box written by a teenager, but that’s exactly what happened when I opened the package from Rachel Coker‘s publicist and pulled out this pretty paperback. Although I’d detected hints of a buzz surrounding this debut novel, I was a bit skeptical. Was it just marketing hype? Or, at 15 years old, had Coker really pulled off a historically accurate, coming-of-age romance?

So with doubtful thoughts, I opened the book … and found myself captured by her tale.

The sitch: Alcyone Everly – “Allie” to almost everyone, was named after a star – but her life hasn’t been bright for quite a long time. Solely responsible for the care of her dying mother, Allie would be alone in the world, if not for her annoying neighbor, Sam Carroll, who constantly interrupts her plans. One such interruption takes Allie away from her mother at her darkest hour – and she vows never to forgive him for it.

Β Whisked away from her mother’s funeral to become the “daughter” of a prim and proper woman in Maine, Allie retreats into her journal, writing letters to her mother to retain some sort of connection beyond the grave. Beatrice Lovell longs to make some sort of connection with the young girl she’s adopted, but Allie will have nothing to do with Beatrice. Tension fills the home. As World War II looms ever closer, Sam arrives in Maine to stay with his aunt for the summer, and Allie’s already uncomfortable world turns upside down with the new emotions he ignites in her heart.

Across the ocean, American boys are dying – and Sam could soon be one of them. Will Allie’s stubborn hold on the past be able to protect her from the pain if he is lost? Or will she have to become willing to take a chance at allowing herself to love – and to be loved – in order to survive?

Hits & misses: Having an almost-15-year-old daughter of my own, I recognized a few moments in the story that seemed to fit within the limited life-experience parameters of a teen girl’s existence; but Coker’s dedication to crafting believable, multidimensional characters is much more evident than any limitations her age might put upon her story.

Rachel Coker is a budding wordsmith – and this coming-of-age romance has an almost literary quality to its stylization. Giving attention to the sensory atmosphere of her setting and the physical and emotional nuances of her characters, this young author displays the insight of a writing talent well beyond her years.

Hard-hearted Alcyone Everly would be a difficult character to like if not for the love and care she shows her mother. But the reader sees, through Sam and other characters, the beauty-from-ashes qualities that Allie is capable of developing. And, as the story progresses, it is quite easy to cheer for Allie’s star to remember how to shine.

To read or not to read: An unpredictable and engrossing tale of how grief, faith and romance collide within the heart of a girl, Interrupted: Life Beyond Words is quite an achievement – and teen novelist Rachel Coker is an author to watch.”

I think it’s pretty cool. But I love reading anything nice about my book, obviously. Vanity, thy name is author! πŸ˜‰

I’m off to Philly this week for my first book signing! I’ll be sure to post photos and all the juicy details later…

-Rachel

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Novel Girl says:

    Awesome. But this review only teases me because I’m yet to read your novel. πŸ˜€

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, I hope you get to read it soon! πŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Melissa Johnson says:

    How wonderful! Enjoy your trip this week, it us so exciting to hear all the wonderful feedback and things your experiencing πŸ™‚ You are quite a young lady, I’m so happy for you!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Laura says:

    This is so exciting! (except for the 80 minutes of buffering…that just sounds boring) I can’t believe you get to do a book signing! I can’t even imagine what that would be like…mainly because I have write a book before that can happen πŸ˜‰ If I were in your place I’d probably practicing my signature right about now. Not that anyone cares, except me, I guess. *sigh* I have the curse of bad handwriting. Anyway, good luck!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Laura, you’re like my soul sister!!! Ha ha, I have been practicing my signature all week! πŸ˜‰ I also have the worst handwriting ever, so it took a lot of practice.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  4. * dynamicjoy says:

    I am SO excited about your book now!!! I heard about it from a friend but now am dying to read it!!! πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Tracie Hagy says:

    This is an awesome review. I can’t wait to read it!! I know you are so proud and excited and all of that good stuff all rolled up into one big bunch of WOW!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Emily Ann says:

    Awesome!!! Ahh, I know how you feel about the video thing…I hate when I wait for so long and then it crashes. Have fun in Philly! I’m excited to see the pictures and hear about it!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  7. I finished reading your book about two days ago – I loved it! And I’m blogging about it (well I’m not at the moment because I’m writing this comment but it should be up soon – and should link back here!)

    I love Allie – I wanted to reach into the pages and give her a massive hug and tell her that it would be okay – not right now, not tomorrow but it would be okay and the pain would subside.

    Rachel you are so talented! Keep writing πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the book! πŸ™‚

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Paulina Czarnecki says:

    Awesome job! I have to go to a bookstore sometime soon and find your book… curiosity is killing me! πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Alyson says:

    I am from Go Teen Writers, and I am reader your book now. I LOVE it. You are really inspiring to me. I am 14 years old and am trying to write a trilogy of novelettes.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

