rachelcoker



City of Brotherly Love

I know you all are dying to hear about my trip to Philly this week, and obviously I’m bursting at the seams to tell you. For those of you who aren’t up-to-date, I got to attend my first ever book signing in Philadelphia at the PLA Conference on Thursday! [insert wild cheers here] Everything about my trip was absolutely amazing. I got to hang out at the book for what my mom tells me was forty minutes, but to me it felt more like five. I signed two hundred copies of Interrupted and met so many people. I’ve been practicing my signature for about a month now, so I think I’m finally starting to feel happy about it. It has to look messy, but intentionally so, you know what I mean? Anyway, I think I’m one of the few teens in America who had to practice her signature for both her driver’s license and debut book signing within two weeks of each other. 😉

Here are some snapshots from my day in Philly, for those of you who are interested. It was a little cold, but so much fun! I got to meet my editor, Jacque, face to face, and spend time with both her and another woman at Zondervan who I work with. My mom served as my travel companion and we ate the best cheesesteaks ever, binged out on milkshakes and HGTV, and even did a little shopping. Here is how I am a failure as a homeschooler: I didn’t make it to the Liberty Bell or even feel that sorry about it, but I did find the nearest Urban Outfitters! 😉

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kaleb says:

    That is so exciting Rachel! 200 books–That’s great! And, yeah, I’ve been practicing my signature for years just in case I become famous or something… 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Emily Ann says:

    Awesome!!! Looks like so much fun!! Wow, that’s a lot of books to sign! How exciting! And I love to practice my signature in a billion different ways just for fun… haha! =)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Sierra B. says:

    Wow it sounds like a great time! And I love what you said about your signature 🙂 I’m glad it went well! Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Cause You Are!)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Laura says:

    “Favorite moment of the week? Telling the cab driver, ‘To the Ritz Carlton, please.” <= YES. When my family and I went to New York City, my dad surprised me with a one night stay at the Plaza Hotel using this technique. I had no idea where we were going until he said, "To the Plaza, please." Little girl's dream come true! (I was obsessed with the Eloise books at the time)

    Anyway, sounds like you had a great time…but I mean, of course you did! You're at your own book signing for pete's sake! 🙂 Oh! And I just bought your book today. Can't wait to read it!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Alyson says:

    I so wish I had known you would have been there. I live 15 minutes from Philly. 15 minutes !!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

