rachelcoker



Summer Reading List

I know it’s a little bit early to be thinking about summer, but I thought some of you might be interested in hearing about what I’m looking forward to reading this summer. I don’t know what it is about wanting to know what your favorite authors read, but I wonder it all the time. :)Anyway, for those of you who are actually curious as to what books I plan on reading or re-reading, here is the rough list I made of ten books I want to read this summer:

  1. Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  2. Selected Poems, by John Keats
  3. Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour, by Lynne Olson
  4. One Thousand Gifts, by Ann Voskamp
  5. On Writing, by Stephen King
  6. Remember: The Journey to School Integration, by Toni Morrison
  7. The Healer’s Apprentice, by Melanie Dickerson
  8. The Luminous Portrait, by Elizabeth Messina
  9. It’s (Not That) Complicated, by Anna Sofia and Elizabeth Botkin
  10. Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are, by Alex and Brett Harris

So that’s the plan. Can you guess which ones are research for upcoming books? 😉 Not sure if I’ll have time to make it through ten books in two and a half months or not, but I’m sure going to try! Do you guys have any particular books that will finally get read in 2012?

-Rachel

P.S. I’m not saying that I agree with the morals, ideas, content, etc. in any of these books because I haven’t read them yet. I’m not endorsing these titles or authors, I’m just planning on reading them.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily Ann says:

    Nice! Who are your favorite authors? I’m trying to read 50 books in 2012 and I only have five under my belt…I better get reading… =)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      My favorite authors? Hmmm… do you have an hour? Ha ha, just kidding. 🙂 I love just about anything written by Katherine Paterson, Shannon Hale, Cynthia Kadohata, and, of course, Jane Austen. 😉 Good luck with your reading goal!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
      • * Laura says:

        Oh my gosh- You’re a Shannon Hale fan, too?!? The Goose Girl has been my favorite book of all time pretty consistently since the 5th grade. I just love getting lost in her books! I haven’t heard of the others you listed (except Jane Austen, of course!), but I’m going to go look into them now 🙂

        Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. Oh, I read the Healer’s Apprentice!!!! It’s really good! Have you read her other book, The Merchant’s Daughter? I loved that one. As for books I’m going to read… I’m still waiting very impatiently for your book to come in the mail! 🙂 I can’t wait to read it.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      No, I haven’t read anything by Melanie! I’m planning on shooting her an email and asking if she can send me a few copies so I can finally get caught up. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Jordanna says:

    It’s (not that) Complicated is really good. I chose 12 hard-ish books to read, but of course, I’ll read whatever pops up on my radar screen, too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Sierra B. says:

    The Healer’s Apprentice was a great book 🙂 As was Start Here. I don’t have too many on a “list” But definitely the new Rick Riordan’s, Artemis Fowl, Insurgent and Liberator by Bryan Davis. And probably Pride and Prejudice, I’ve been meaning to reread it. Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Because You Are!)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Alyson says:

    After reading the Iliad and Hunchback of Notre Dame for school, I will read pretty much anything this summer. I read Do Hard Things. I also read Crazy Love which is like a bigger version of Do Hard Things. Both are really good.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  6. I tried reading Crime and Punishment but halfway through I got depressed because of the darkness of the subject material. I was 13 or something and couldn’t handle it.

    I do have a book full of John Keats’ poetry. I hope you enjoy reading that one! My favorite way to read his poems is in the springtime out on a hammock with a glass of lemonade (just a suggestion).

    Enjoy your reading!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

