rachelcoker



The Peculiarities of the Word “Expecting”

Pet peeve: When you’re in the middle of having a conversation with someone, and that person suddenly gets what I can only call a “knowing” smile on their face. Then he or she proceeds to wiggle his/her eyebrows and say, “Oh, did you hear about the so-and-so family? Guess what? They’re expecting!” (Usually this is followed by a particularly gleeful smile, or the occasional happy sigh)

It is in moments like these that I really, really want to say something like, “Oh really? Expecting what? Expecting it to rain? Expecting to take a long holiday in the Caribbean? Expecting that neon polo shirts will make a comeback this season?”

Obviously, I’ve never really said that, though. That would be totally and completely rude of me, because I do know what people are trying to say, even if it sometimes comes out more awkwardly then they intended. The truth is, I am thrilled whenever I hear that someone is expecting, if the item they are waiting for happens to be a baby.

Such was the case when I found out our good friends, the Gross family, were “expecting” their seventh child. I photographed the Grosses back in the fall, but I was excited to spend time with them again. I was also very, very nervous. I’ve never done maternity photos before, and wasn’t really sure how to tackle it. But, in the end, I think everything went semi-smoothly and produced great results.

I debated whether or not to post these pictures because my blog is usually more centered around my other passion, which is writing, but photography is also a really big part of my life and I’d love to share it with you all from time to time.

-Rachel

P.S. I wrote the word “expecting” so many times in this one post that it is now beginning to look really weird to me, and I’m not sure if I’ll ever think of it as a normal word again. I hate it when that happens…

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily Ann says:

    These are awesome!! You did such a great job!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. * bookpics4alba says:

    ~speechless~
    *______________*

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. * lilacandivy says:

    Wow, beautiful pictures. You are so multi-talented!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  4. * RachelC says:

    Thanks, everyone. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Sierra B. says:

    I love the third one! great job! Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Because You Are!)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Alyson says:

    I love them! They are so good!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

