rachelcoker



I Heart Nerds

I love nerdy people. Wanna know why? Because I am probably one of the nerdiest people you will ever meet. Blame it on my homeschool upbringing, or the one too many Nancy Drew books I read as a kid, but there is something in me that makes me totally whack. Anyway, I was going to save this post for April Fool’s Day*, but of course I completely forgot about it in the hub-bub of the day’s many festivities. 😉 But I thought it might be fun to make a list of the completely nerdy, weird, funny, and/or interesting things that make up my character. If you’re not completely terrified to meet me by the end of this post, then you just might be nerdy enough for me to associate with! 😉

So here it is. The abbreviated list of reasons why I am nerdy:

  • When I was younger, I would lose my library card privileges whenever I got into trouble. That right there should be enough evidence to convince you that there is obviously something wrong with me. I didn’t prize television, internet, or playdates, but I cried whenever my mom took my library card. *sigh*
  • My dad got me a t-shirt for Christmas that says “Careful, or you’ll end up in my novel”, and I swear I wear it to bed every other night. I consider it to be insanely legit.
  • This one kind of includes my sister, too (sorry, Hannah!), but when my mom started lecturing on the Plains Indians Wars and the moving of the Native Americans to reservations in school last week, we both spontaneously burst into singing “Colors of the Wind” and we knew every word. What makes it worse is that my mom didn’t even bother to stop us, because she knew if we didn’t just get it out we’d be looking at each other and laughing the whole class.
  • After finding those dumb Hunger Games comics online with Peeta’s face on them, Hannah and I have been going around the house telling each other “I loaf you!” and “Katniss, I knead you now!” Like, seriously, all the time.
  • When I was little, I used to tell people that when I grew up, I wanted to be the winner of the National Spelling Bee. No career ambitions or plans for college or anything, I just wanted to be a champion speller. I think I was only ever in two or three spelling bees anyway, and I wasn’t even that good. Weird.
  • The funniest thing that ever happened to me in a store was when I was checking out one time and found out that my change due back was $3.14. And I was all, “OH MY GOSH, MY CHANGE IS PI!!!!” and, sadly, I’m not even sure if the cashier knew what on earth I was talking about. 😦
  • I once quoted a good 3/4 of a Lord of the Rings movie while we were watching it, before the lines were spoken. It actually really impressed my mom because we’d be sitting there in silence watching the tv and I would say something like, “It’s the deep breath before the plunge”, very philosophically, and then Gandalf would look at Pippin and say the exact same thing. Then my mom would look at me and go, “How did you know that he was going to say that?” Because I’m just that good, Mom. I’m just that good.

And that, my dear friends, is my very tragic, very nerdy life story.

-Rachel

*Speaking of April Fool’s Day, my family got me not once, but twice yesterday. Our car battery died because I accidentally left the car door open over night (I know, I know), and my two younger sisters convinced me that I would have to pay for a new battery. To make it worse, they somehow convinced me that it would cost like $800 or something. Needless to say, I was feeling really down up until they confessed they were joking. My dad also got me by tying a rubber band around the spray nozzle in the kitchen sink. My clothes were soaking wet by the time my brain registered what was going on…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Rosie W. says:

    Actually, all those things sound very much like things I would do. 🙂 Especially the Lord of the Rings part.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  2. * wrightchelle says:

    My mom just takes away reading privileges. 😛
    I WANT A SHIRT LIKE THAT!!! Or how about, “don’t annoy me; I’ll put you in my novel and KILL you.” 😀
    What you need to do is on March 14 go around a store telling all the clerks Happy Pi Day!! See how many weird looks you get. 😀 (The date is 3.14)

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  3. * Skye says:

    I heart nerds lol. I know like every line in Lord of the Rings too. Love the shirt. I always used to get my reading privledges taken away when I was younger, boy was I devestated.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  4. * Alyson says:

    I can relate to over half of those things and other things. One time my brother was about to fall out of a tree and he goes. “I’m glad I didn’t see my life flash before my eyes.” *pauses while laughs* and I said “Falling at 9.8 meters per second is hardly life flashing before your eyes.” He gave me a long glare, but I consider myself a nerd too. Hello, welcome to Nerdville. My name’s Aly. What’s yours 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Too funny! I love how you said “9.8 meters per second” because it tells me that you must not be from the US! I always have to do that mental meters-to-miles conversion in my head. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years ago
      • * Alyson says:

        haha, that’s funny. I do live in the US!! I am home schooled and I learned it all in metric units. I HATE converting, but that’s how I remember it. I actually live 15 minutes away from Philadelphia. I wish I had know you where going to be there.

        Posted 5 years ago
      • * RachelC says:

        Oh, that is funny! You must be much smarter than me in math, then! ;P Oh, I wish you had known, too! Well, hopefully I’ll get to visit Philly again sometime and we can chat. 🙂

        Posted 5 years ago
      • * Alyson says:

        I really want to chat with you. I am 14 years old. You don’t know this, but you have really inspired me to keep going with my story. I wasn’t that confident in myself to try to get it published. (my mom and dad had plenty of confidence, but they weren’t the ones writing the book) So thanks for getting your book published to show me that it is possible. (I loved you book by the way: )

        Posted 5 years ago
  5. * dynamicjoy says:

    This post makes me laugh!! I guess I heart nerds too;)

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  6. * Emily Ann says:

    This.is.awesome! haha! I can relate…=)

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  7. * Laura says:

    Don’t worry, it’s not just home schoolers. I go to a whole school (about 450 people) full of nerds- but unfortunately most of them are math/science/computer programing/video game nerds and not literary nerds, like me 🙂 When I was little I told myself I was going to read all the classics by the time I was grown up (I actually succeeded in reading lots of english children’s literature: Alice in Wonderland, Peter Pan,The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, Treasure Island, and my personal favorite, The Wind in the Willows), and my other great ambition was writing for National Geographic magazine.

    Oh! I don’t know if you saw my comment on your earlier post about your summer reading list, but it made my day to know that you are a Shannon Hale fan! It’s so hard to find other people who love her, too! I guess some of us aren’t proud of sharing the fact that we read “princess books”…But a true fan would know that they’re so much more than that!

    Thanks for another great post from your awesome blog 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Great to know there are other weirdos out there, too! (And I mean that as a compliment 🙂 Oh, I just LOVE Shannon Hale! Her blog is fantastic, too! 🙂 And I have heard people say that they read her books out loud to their husbands and kids without telling them the titles until several chapters in. By then, the guys were way too into the story to care that it was called “Princess Academy”. ;P

      | Reply Posted 5 years ago
      • * Alyson says:

        I loved “Princess Academy.” That is the one book a read twice : )

        Posted 5 years ago
  8. * lilacandivy says:

    Ha ha, I did that tape-around-the-spray-nozzle to my family, several years ago! 🙂 Except after I finished with the tape I stupidly turned on the water just to make sure it would work. Shirt wet, IQ down about 40 points, yes it worked. =P

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ugh. Yes, the worst thing is that I am the one who first started the nozzle trick several years ago. I can’t believe I fell for it! =D

      | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  9. * Kendall says:

    My parents taking my book away is the worst punishment ever! I have actually never played an April Fools trick on anyone, but love hearing the stories of people who have!

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  10. * Jordanna says:

    Wow, guess I’m in good company. Losing book and reading privileges was a devastating, earth shattering, leave-me-reeling punishment. And I dreamed of winning the National Spelling Bee for years!

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  11. I do the same thing with The Lord of the Rings. Drives my family crazy. It’s just so much fun! 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  12. * Emii says:

    That shirt sounds insanely awesome and I’m going to have to buy one. Right after I buy your book. Aaah! I can’t wait!:D
    I laughed out loud reading this list. So thanks for that.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  13. being a national spelling bee champion was my dream when I was 8, 9, and 10. I was obsessed with spelling and was convinced I was the best speller in all the world!

    You helped me get back in touch with my nerdy side. I could relate to a lot of the ones you posted. Especially the library card one and spelling one.

    go NERDS!

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  14. Thats funny

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago


Leave a Reply

