rachelcoker



To Kiss… or Not to Kiss?

This seems to be the hot question of late, at least in regards to Interrupted. For those of you who haven’t read the book, I really don’t want to spoil the ending for you, so stop reading right now if you don’t want to know what happens! I mean it—just shoo!

Okay, for those of you who are still reading, you obviously either have finished Interrupted and want to hear what I have to say about the ending, or you were just so intrigued at the idea of me talking about kissing that you decided to read on anyway. Whatever the case, prepare to be disappointed.

There was no kissing in Interrupted. I don’t know why this never seemed like a big deal to me. Maybe because, at the time I wrote it, I was fourteen years old and the idea of kissing couples was nowhere on my radar. That seemed kind of gross, and unnecessary, and not like something that I wanted my precious Allie and Sam to be doing. They were infinitely above anything like that foolishness, at least in my mind.

However, I’ve gotten a lot of questions, both from readers, bloggers, and friends/family, about Allie and Sam’s relationship. Why did they never kiss in the end of the book? It was supposed to be a romance, after all. If I was as smart as, say, Nicholas Sparks, that book would have ended with a good and thorough kiss, just to put the icing on the cupcake and the bow on the present.

But I didn’t. So I thought I’d take a few moments to address why, in the end, I decided to leave out a kissing scene between my main characters. This will be brief and concise, because, really, I don’t wish to go into all the details, but here’s a quick summary:

  1. Kissing is an awkward thing to write about. I’m sorry, but that’s the truth. Maybe it would be easier if I was a romantically inclined person, but I’m not, and it’s pretty awkward. I can do Allie throwing a shoe at Sam and running away from her feelings when she realizes she loves him. I can even do a semi-sappy proposal scene. But I don’t know if I have it in me to write even a brief kiss. Sorry, but it’s true. I’m a failure to females everywhere. 😦
  2. I didn’t want to offend any Christians who might not approve of a book with kissing in it. My goal with Interrupted was to provide a well-written book for Christian teens with a strong Gospel message and a clean romance. The problem is, everyone has a different definition of the word “clean”. I don’t have a problem reading books or watching movies that have kissing in them, but some Christians do. And I don’t want to alienate anyone from reading my book just because of that.
  3. Age-appropriateness is also an issue. Since I’m a homeschooler, I realize many fellow homeschoolers will be reading my book because of that. Lots of homeschool families encourage their young children to read higher level books that they think will be of value for them. My every hope is that Interrupted is the kind of book that a nine-year-old child, like my sister, would be able to read with the parent’s full consent and trust.
  4. It just didn’t seem necessary to write in a kiss. I’m sure that Sam kissed Allie, you guys. We may not have seen it, but you’d be crazy not to believe he did. 😉 Every reader is free to guess for themselves when that might have happened. Whether it was two minutes after the story ends, or on their wedding day, I’m sure he kissed her. The point it, that’s where the story ends for me. With that assumption. So feel free to guess for yourselves when that might have happened, because I basically left it up to your imagination after I closed the story!

 

So that’s the short and sweet of it, I guess. To be clear, I’m not upset with anyone at all who was wondering about the kissing! I’d probably be wondering myself, if I were a reader. I just thought I’d clear up the air about the topic.

So I guess the answer to “To kiss, or not to kiss?” would have to be not. At least for Interrupted. But I’ve heard all of your questions and comments on the topic and it’s definitely something I’ll put a lot of thought into about the next book. So you’ll just have to read that one for yourself to see what conclusion I come to…

(Oooh—a mysterious way to end the blog post)

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Alyson says:

    I did not even notice that they didn’t kiss. I believe couples shouldn’t kiss until they are married. They weren’t married yet, so it made since in my mind why they didn’t. I loved your book. I also love how you tried to make it appropriate for younger kids. to many authors, I think, miss that.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. 1) I don’t think unmarried people should kiss. I’ve tried to convince my children of this. Why kiss someone you might One of the best things about the A&E version of Pride and Prejudice was that they didn’t kiss until after they married.

    2) I didn’t notice that your Sam and Allie didn’t kiss. It all felt right to me.

    3) I’ve written kisses in one of my novels and they were the hardest things I’ve ever written. I hated them. I felt like a voyeur.

    So I say you have no need to worry about kissing.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. * thedestinyofone says:

    I loved that about your book. Allie and Sam felt very close without the kiss. Although it wouldn’t of ruined your book, it was like a breath of fresh for it not to be full of kissing.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  4. * RachelC says:

    Thank you ladies for your comments! I’m glad to hear that none of you were bothered by the lack of PDA but were encouraged by it! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  5. I agree that couples should not kiss until they are married. I myself have decided and committed to God, my parents, myself, and my future spouse not to kiss until I have said “I do”. While I don’t mind reading (in Christian fiction context) about kisses outside of marriage, I don’t necessarily approve of it. I do not think it takes away from the story unless it is drawn out. Then it is just awkward. I think it is admirable what you decided in your story about whether or not to make your characters kiss. I am a homeschooler as well, and have been reading fiction above my age level a long time. It is very hard to find good, clean fiction, much less romance, that a young person can read in good conscience.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  6. I loved the fact that Allie and Sam didn’t kiss. Not that I have anything against characters kissing – whether their married or not, but I just thought that it made Allie and Sam’s relationship so much sweeter and romantic without the kiss! I love it when characters fall in love with each other without the physical stuff – its like Sam loved Allie for who she was and that was all. This is the kind of “true love” that I try to portray in my writing, and I loved to read it in yours! So thanks 🙂
    (THis post was written by a hopeless romantic. Just saying) 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thanks, Gracie! That is exactly what I was hoping for with the romance in Interrupted! So glad that you enjoyed it without any kissing. 🙂 I agree that I’m not against kissing in books, but I liked their particular story better without it. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Sierra B. says:

    I agree with a lot of the things you said. It was a great romance without a kiss (though one would have been nice either way) and I really enjoyed it! I’m not going to have my first kiss until my wedding day…so I have no problem without one or a character who is waiting like that. And I have to say, having never been kissed (Grandparents don’t count) it would be hard to write a kiss in my book…after this post I realized it didn’t matter if I didn’t have a kiss in my book! Thanks for that 🙂 By the way, I reviewed your book.
    http://sierrasbooklist.blogspot.com/2012/05/interrupted.html
    Sierra
    Keep Growing Beautiful♥ (Because You Are!)
    Philippians 4:8

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

