rachelcoker



My Thoughts on “Um” + Giveaway

So I was speaking at a library the other day, and suddenly, the most puzzling question I have ever thought of flashed across my mind. So mind-blowing that it really took me aback, and I spent the rest of the afternoon carefully pondering it. And it is this: Where did the word “um” come from? I mean, think about it. It’s not really short for anything, and it doesn’t really stand for anything, and it has no really meaning. So why do we say it? What is the point? What kind of brainless robotic people are we? Let us ban the word “um” from our vocabulary. I think we should replace it with something else, like “pip” or “squat”. Can you imagine carrying on a conversation and saying, “I need you to go the grocery store and get…pip….some milk and eggs.” It just sounds so much cuter and funny!

Anyway, weird ramblings aside, you’re probably only reading this to find out who won the giveaway. *sniff* It’s okay, I’ll get over it. I know it’s not my brilliant wit and charm that attracts you to my blog, it’s my sister’s amazing talent. But that’s okay, because hopefully one very lucky girl will get to enjoy her talent in the form of an adorable bow-tie skirt! And, according to the random number generator, that girl is… Brooke S! Brooke, Hannah will email you later today with more details.

It’s okay, everyone who did not win. I feel your pain. I myself am yet to get a free bow skirt out of this whole deal. 😉 But, if you really want one for yourself (and who wouldn’t?), then please hop on over to Hannah’s Etsy shop and order one, or send her an email directly at hannaheverly(at)hotmail(dot).com. We should fill the world with girls wearing adorable bow skirts and mumbling “pip” after every few words. The world would be such a happy place to live….

-Rachel

P.S. Thank you so much to everyone who tweeted, Facebooked, Pinned, and talked about Hannah’s skirts. It means so much to both of us to “know” so many sweet, encouraging people! 🙂

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emii says:

    Ha! This post made me laugh out loud. Alright then, next time I start to say um, I’ll replace it with a random word. Could take me awhile to get into the hang of it but I’ll give it a go. 😛

    Will check out your sisters shop right now!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Alyson says:

    I thought this was so funny. I was telling my mom. (who HATES “um”) I was trying to say “pip” in an example and it came out “Pip. Um…” Yep, so much for not saying “um” : )

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ha ha–so funny! Yeah, I think that’s how it would come out if I actually tried to use it in a sentence, too. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

