rachelcoker



That Awkward Moment When…

You just can’t think about anything to write about. I find this strangely ironic, considering I wrote a whole article on curing writer’s block for Go Teen Writers yesterday, but it’s true. Some days I just can’t think about anything worth blogging. That happened to me pretty much every day this week. Go figure.

Anyway, one of the suggestions that I gave on the Go Teen Writers blog was to write about anything—anything at all. So, I’m going to take my own advice and that’s what I’m going to do. Bear with me through this awkward, rambling blog post and please pray that I can think of something a little more eloquent next time. 😉

So without further ado, here is a list (can you tell I’m like obsessive about lists) of some random, funny things that happened to me this week that you might find semi-interesting:

  • I went on a walk with my sister the other night. This might not be interesting at all, if not for the fact that we passed this weird, decrepit bulldozer parked on our street with a raggedy Elmo taped to the front. That’s right. Some creepy construction workers had shaved an Elmo fuzz-less, rolled him around in dirt (so it would seem), and taped him to the front of a bulldozer. Caught up in our conflicting emotions of injustice and utter confusion, my sister and I debated whether or not to set Elmo free, but the overwhelmingly paranoid thought of those weirdo construction workers following us home and kidnapping us prevailed, and we left the Elmo there. Sad, I know.
  • Oh, I also took my sister on a date. You know you are a homeschooler if… taking your sister out for grilled cheese sandwiches and milkshakes counts as a date because the amount of social interaction in your life is seriously lacking. Just saying.
  • Blonde moment of the week: One of my sisters (I’ll let you guess which one) was watching a movie with me about Abraham Lincoln. It was an old movie, and nothing was said about Abraham Lincoln’s death or later years. So my sister turned to me and asked, “Why didn’t they say anything about that. Was the movie made before he died?” Yes, it was sad.
  • My dad heard me talking about the book I’m currently reading in literature titled “An Ideal Husband.” He started going off to me and my sisters about the qualities our future husbands should possess and asking us if we’d ever thought about making lists of what character traits we’d want in a husband. His questions were quickly dispelled when he found out that we were not, in fact, reading a book on finding a future mate but were instead reading a comedic play by Oscar Wilde dealing with blackmail and corruption. Awkward.
  • My littlest sister Ruthie has been trying to learn how to do a handstand. It’s funny, because it reminds me of the days that I wanted to desperately to learn how to do a forward roll, but I was too terrified of messing up and crashing into something, therefore internally injuring my brain, that I never learned how. It continually amazes me how fearless and spunky she is, compared to the weak, spineless cowards that Hannah and I both were as little kids. Now I’m really wishing I had learned to do a forward roll. But obviously I’m not going to try to learn now. I really love my internal organs, and don’t want to hurt them by that venture.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Melissa Ann says:

    Our everyday lives can be so interesting. It is so good to hear from you again.
    I love sister dates! and Mom dates! They are so much fun.
    Blond moments. They happen every day for me. For instance, I start switching out the laundry. You know, clothes that were washed go into the dryer, another load gets put on. Pretty simple right? I messed it all up. I managed to put the clothes in the dryer, but did not turn it ON. Again the clothes went into the washer and it got turned on. Water was rushing in, but an important cleanser was missing, THE SOAP.
    Oh well:)
    Moms/Dads are always very concerned about the type of man we plan to marry, aren’t they? Good thing to discuss too, when you mean to that is:)
    I have always been the daredevil type in my house doing things that put limb and life in danger. So tell Ruthie to keep it up!
    Okay so this is like a really long comment, but I have a question (maybe it will help you out if your writer’s block of blogging), how do you balance writing, work and school? Time management is one of my weak points and I would love to hear how you are so productive.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thanks, Melissa! It’s good to know I was missed. 🙂
      Thanks for asking! It’s definitely difficult sometimes to prioritize in my life. But I think that, as a sixteen-year-old, school always comes first for me. Sometimes it is tempting to get behind in my subjects, but my mom always makes sure that I’m staying up to pace and getting everything done before I work on anything else. So I don’t do any extra work unless I’ve finished school first. 🙂
      Work and writing are a little more difficult to balance. I teach piano two days a week, and that takes up a big chunk of my time. I also own my own photography business, so I spend a lot of time on the weekends doing photoshoots and editing pictures. As far as writing goes, that’s something I usually do in the evenings, after everything else is done. I’ll stay up really late some nights just working on writing and edits. I may suffer from it the next morning, but it’s the only way that I can fit it all into my busy schedule!
      I’m hoping that this summer will be a lot more laid-back, and I can spend more time writing without as much work or school. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
      • * Melissa Ann says:

        I write late at night too! Sometimes i have more work to do then though. It is hard to study for a Chemistry test, when I have the perfect words to write. I will have to ask God and work hard at self dicipline.
        I do love my mom for keeping me accountable to get the basics done first.
        Thanks for answering I enjoy your blog and I hope someday I can be a published author!

        Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Skye says:

    Lol for some reason the Elmo thing reminded me of the end of Toy Story 3. Where that pink bear gets tied to the front of a semi.
    Didn’t know anybody would do that in real life, I guess truth really is stranger than fiction.
    The thing with your dad made me laugh, because my dad is so like that. He told me that if I ever brought a boy home, he’s going to clean his shotgun in front of him. ( The sad thing is that I know he would actually do it, he has no shame.)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
    • * Melissa Ann says:

      I knew the whole Elmo thing sounded familiar! Know I remember why.
      Oh and good to know I am not the only who’s Dad plans to scare off my future soul mate.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh my gosh, maybe that’s where they got the idea!!!! I forgot about that part of TS3. Well, it was still very, very creepy. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  3. Glad you had writer’s block, because this post was hysterical. Thanks for the Saturday chuckle.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

