rachelcoker



For a Pessimist, I’m Still Fairly Pessimistic

One thing you may not know about me: I’m a horrible pessimist. I’m pretty sure it’s something I’ll never be cured enough. I’ll be a pessimistic until the day I die–a slow, painful, agonizingly lonely death. Probably.

The rest of my family tends to be pretty pessimistic, too, so it really makes for some interesting conversations sometimes. Like if one person is running late for something, we’ll all groan and stand around griping that we’re never going to get there on time, and we’re always late for everything, and we have such a terrible reputation. And we always assume that strangers are ex-convicts or serial killers, or out to get us in one way or another. And one day when we were all in semi-grumpy moods, my sister Hannah quipped up, “In my doctor’s office, I saw a sign that said, ‘It has been proven that optimistic people live longer than pessimists.'” It didn’t help our moods much. In fact, I remember saying, “Well great, then. We’re all doomed!”

Anyway, I’m not writing this to depress you or bring you down this morning. I’m writing this because I am happy to report that things are getting (slightly) better. I have decided that this is no longer any proper way to live. I can’t go about my life always assuming the worst and being surprised whenever something good happens! And so–I have decided to give up some of my pessimism. Yes, it’s true. I am on my way to becoming a sort-of more optomistic person.

In fact, I’ve taken up a new motto. Instead of viewing the glass as half-empty all the time, I have decided that “The glass is half empty, but it can be refilled!” You know what that means? It means that I have officially come up with a new type of personality. The optimistic pessimist. It means that I can have a freaked-out, depressing personality every now and then, while still remaining upbeat and positive! In other words–it’s the perfect way to live! Who wants to be happy and smiling all the time, and who wants to be moody 24/7? No one.

Therefore, I have decided to be an optimistic pessimist. Is it weird and out-of-the-box? Yes. But is it an interesting way to live? Absolutely. 😉

-Rachel

P.S. Confession: This post was mostly just filler material so that I could add a note at the bottom announcing: I’m doing another series of Writing Q&A! That means that you can feel free to ask me any writing, publishing, or personal questions that you want, and I will do my best to answer them all on this blog! If you have something that you’ve been thinking about or want to ask me, feel free to either comment with your question, or email it to me directly at REC804 (at) hotmail (dot) com. I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Laura says:

    Congrats on your optimistic pessimism! And yay! I love Q&As! So here’s my question: How did you know that your idea for Interrupted was big enough for a whole novel? I have lots of ideas, but I’m never sure if they’re worth all the work that a novel requires. Thanks!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Alyson says:

    That’s me!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Dianne Taylor says:

    I think that being an optimistic pessimist is the closest thing to normal and healthy that we can get! That probably sounds terribly abnormal but dealing with the reaities of life takes views from all sides to see clearly rather than through colored glass. Though we may be an optimistic pessimist we still have the peace and contentment that only God can give in life situation. He alone can move us fom a desperately low attitude to one filled with the hope of His promise for fulfilling the plans He has for each of His children.

    I am so thankful that He is able to take this near empty, cracked pot of a vessel and fill it to overflowing though in reality that would mean I’d have to clean up the mess while whining 😉 His love is SO good!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thank you so much for this uplifiting comment, Miss Diane! It was so encouraging! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Slippers says:

    Hi Rachel!
    I just stumbled across you book the other day and loved it! I fell totally in love with all your characters. Being an aspiring writer myself, I got excited to see you’re doing a writing Q&A. I have a couple of questions, if that’s ok. 🙂

    I’m curious, did you outline your novel before you wrote it, or did you kind of just hop into it?

    Do you prefer writing with pen/pencil and paper, or with a keyboard?

    How long did it take for you to complete the first draft of your story?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Gracie says:

    Hey Rachel 🙂

    I tend to be more of the optimist, but there are certainly days where the glass feels like its bone dry and smashed into a million little pieces….. 🙂
    I have definitely got some questions for you! So if you don’t mind, here they are 🙂

    First, you might have absolutely no clue. But I live in Australia and was wondering if you know of any Australian Christian publishing houses. Or even American Christian publishing houses that would publish authors from Australia.

    How did/do you know that your writing is worthy of being published, or even showing someone? There are days when I look at my writing and think, “That’s just 100 pages of sentences all mashed together,” and there are other days when I think that its not too bad. Do you have any tips on what essential’s a good novel should include?

    How many words (roughly) should there be per chapter?

    I’m 17 years old (and other than the major problem of living “down under”) I’m not really sure how to go about getting a book published. What “route” would you suggest? What should I do, or have other people do to a manuscript before I send it somewhere?

    Thanks for having a Q&A – I love them! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  6. * bookpics4alba says:

    Oh boy… I never thought of it that way… but I’m somehow… um… sort of like the same… But. I really haven’t been like this all my life hehehe just um…after some events I started to get more and more pessimist… I’m the only one in the family though… but wow hehe I think I’ll die soon at this rate.

    I always get surprised if something good happens to ME.
    Where I’m from… you learn from a really early age that here is really um, dangerous and that you have to watch your back all the time, and that people don’t give things just because the like to…they teach you that they always want something back…
    It’s kind of hard to try and change a lifetime of that in your mind you know?…

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  7. Q1} How do you know if an idea is big enough?
    Q2} Is there any way to make your characters more real, and their own person?
    Q3} How do you know when you’ve happened upon the right name for a character?
    Q4} Do you have any tips, tricks or habits for finishing a novel?
    Q5: Any recommendations for making a story’s setting seem real?

    Sorry for all the questions! I’m just curious. ^_^

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Melissa Ann says:

    Because you answered my major question last time about finding time/prioritizing, this is kinda fun question: Do you listen to music while you write? Who is your favorite artist?
    BTW I am an ever optimistic person, so I am sure you can change your ways!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  9. * wrightchelle says:

    Yeah, that sounds like my family. Every random person walking down the road (when we’re driving) with a backpack is “a terrorist with a backpack bomb!” and the button they push for the crosswalk is the “activation thingy that will make it explode!” and, of course, we’re idling right next to them. This happened last Friday.

    And I do have a question. I’ve gotten my manuscript how I want it. What are the next steps? Thanks!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

