rachelcoker



Turning Me Into a Sentimental Sap

I’ve said it once; I’ve said it a thousand times. I am not a romantic. No, seriously! I am one of those girls who laughs through the proposals in movies and who has never bought a Valentine’s Day card and would probably be weirded out if someone ever bought me chocolate. (I don’t even like chocolate, so I would probably also be offended that my guy didn’t even know me that well)  In fact, I was having a conversation with one of my friends the other day about men who throw rocks at windows. My friend was a bit on the gushy side, saying, “If a guy ever did that to me, I would just be like, ‘You are perfect!’”, whereas I took the, “If a guy ever did that to me, I would probably get some kind of weapon and hide because I would naturally assume it was some kind of axe murderer or something” approach. See? A very un-romantic and un-sentimental mindset, right?

Well, I was so sure that I would always keep that mindset. There didn’t seem to be anything that made me weak at the knees or gushy, and I was sort of proud of that fact. Nothing that is, until I started going to weddings. Then, a very bad thing started to happen. I started to turn sentimental.

It is absolutely terrible! I mean, you guys do not even realize how bad this is for my reputation. I simply cannot laugh in the face of love and gushy feelings, and then get all choked up and teary-eyed at the expression of the groom when the bride first comes down the aisle. That’s, like, against everything I’ve ever stood for!

It’s very true, though. Weddings are turning me into a sentimental sap. I’ve been to two weddings in the last week or so, and I teared up at both of them. A few more weddings, and I’ll be sobbing buckets! I don’t even know what it is. I mean, I’ve always been the anti-rock-throwing and chocolate-giving personality, but there’s something about the way the bride and groom look at each other, and the way the mother always tears up during the father-daughter dance, and the way their hands all shake at the altar, that is just so amazingly sweet.

So, I guess I’ll have to keep you all posted the next time I go to a wedding, and share whether or not I was able to keep my tears in. My thinking is I’ll probably be like one of those really tough guys and rub at my eyes without letting anyone see me cry. What? You think I’m getting choked up by this? Please. But inside, just know that I am sobbing away. And I’m probably thinking something like: This is the most enormously sad and beautiful thing I’ve ever seen and it just completely warms my cold little heart.

And that’s the truth of it.

-Rachel

P.S. Although I think I would still hate receiving chocolates. I’m not that soft yet! 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jordanna says:

    If a guy threw rocks at my window, I’d probably grab my rifle and go chew him up one side and down the other. Man, windows are expensive, what does he think he’s doing?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ha ha, this cracked me up so much, Jordanna! A girl after my own heart. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Gracie says:

    You don’t like chocolate! You have been blessed and cursed. 🙂
    Blessed, because fat free chocolate is non-existent. Cursed because chocolate is incredible. Fat filled or not. 🙂 I have to say, I am definitely a romantic. Although, I will agree with you on the window thing.
    I do own a front door.
    And after the rock has been thrown through my probably open window, what am I expected to do? Climb down?
    I lack one important link that requires any kind of sporting of physical endeavour. Co-ordination. 🙂 Not so romantic I’m thinking. 🙂

    PS. Any chocolates that receive, just send them my way 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I think it’s cursed–chocolate sometimes gives me migraines, which may be part of the reason why I don’t like it. 😦
      Ha ha–exactly! Front doors are a thing these days. Guys in romantic novels should use them more often. 😉

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Katelyn S. says:

    If a guy threw rocks at my window, I’d probably scream and get my dad and/or my brothers. They’ve threatened to shoot any guy who comes calling with their airsoft guns. And my parents usually answers the door if someone we don’t is knocking…There goes his chance to talk to me secretly 😀

    I must agree with Gracie, you are indeed blessed to not like chocolate. It is the bane of my existence. But, it does help boost your moods at certain times.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

