rachelcoker



Tickling My Fancy

It’s been a crazy week. I’ve been in and out of town, hanging out with friends, catching up on over-the-summer school work (yuck!) and working on revisions to Chasing Jupiter. Sorry to say that blogging has not been at the top of my radar. Nevertheless, while I don’t really have time to think out a long, heartfelt, culturally relevant blog post (I’ll put that on my to-do list for tomorrow) or even whip out a Writing Q&A (I’ll procrastinate on that one, too), I do have time for one of those posts where I randomly list things that I think are funny.

I don’t know why I keep coming back to these posts. Maybe it’s just because I’m completely narcissistic and I live under the delusion that I lead a slightly humorous life. Maybe it’s because I’m lazy and I like to laugh more than I like to brood on deep things. Whatevs.

Speaking of which, “whatevs” is the word-of-the-moment at our house. We always have words-of-the-moment. A few years ago, it started with the word “swine”, which, ironically enough, we overused to death before swine flu broke out. It’s a really fun word to throw around. “Fine, then don’t do the dishes, you useless swine. See if I care.” (Well, maybe we didn’t use it that strongly, but still. You get the point). Then it was interesante. Now it’s “whatevs”.

Another thing I’ve been really into lately is decorating my room. I’ve caught like this decorating fever/rash thing and I’ve been checking out all these blogs for ideas. I’ve been buying art and prints to hang on my walls. Just stumbled across this one this morning and I’m pretty sure it’s the best thing ever. If anyone wants to buy this for me, I will love  you for the rest of my life. Just saying. Puns + Fred Astaire + Pop Art = Amazing.

I have this thing for old movie stars, which is really cool until you find yourself daydreaming about your life of wedded bliss with James Dean or Cary Grant and then you remember with a rudening jolt that both those guys are dead and they just don’t make men nowadays that look like a tall glass of water in a sleek navy suit (or red motorcycle jacket). I even try to dress like an old movie star half the time, which can be fun until you get stopped by a random lady on the street smoking a cigarette and talking your ear off for five whole minutes about how you look like Audrey Hepburn and you remind her of a girl she went to college with who liked Audrey Hepburn and lived in Massachusetts and had a really hot boyfriend who was actually a jerk. And by the time she’s finished with her story, you’re ten minutes late to your lunch date and the humidity has frizzed your hair to the point of there being no way you look like Audrey Hepburn in any shape or form. All of which happened to me this week, by the way. Not that I’m bitter or anything.

Anyway, maybe the only guy who can live up to Cary Grant-level attractiveness nowadays is Hugh Dancy? But –major sadness- -he is married and my little sister (who knows way more celebrity gossip than me, scarily enough) informed me the other day that he is expecting his first child. Total sob story. I scratched his name off my list of potential future husbands. I probably should have scratched it off when he got engaged, but I guess I was secretly hoping Brad Pitt would leave Angelina Jolie and sweep Claire Danes out of Hugh Dancy’s arms when Hugh was in the middle of filming some kind of historical film in Colonial Williamsburg, a mere half hour from my home, and I would run into him at the grocery store one day, crying into the cucumbers and avacados, and charm him into asking me out with my utter wit and grace (?). I guess I should have known that would never happen. Oh wells. Johnny Depp is a close second, and this photo makes me laugh. No idea where I found it. Maybe the treasure cove that is Pinterest?

Seriously though, I have way better things to do than continue writing this blog entry. My mom would probably agree. I promise I’ll have something more worthwhile to read tomorrow. Or maybe Wednesday. But until then, I leave you with my random train of thought. Does anyone have anything funny to share? I feel like when I’m as busy as I’ve been lately, I crave humor and puns even more than usual. It’s harder to think logically when your brain is semi-fried.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chelsea G says:

    Rachel, I love it when you post funny stories about your interesting encounters. Keep it up!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  2. * kford2007 says:

    Thank you for putting a smile on my face. Hope you have a great day. Take your time on blogging. We’ll all be here waiting patiently.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  3. I have nothing funny to share, but something super-mega-exciting: I FINALLY BOUGHT YOUR BOOK. 😀 So now I’m squealing to all my couldn’t-care-less relatives that made the mistake of taking me to BAM.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Yay!!!! I really hope that you enjoy it. 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Melissa Ann says:

    I know what you mean! When you are tired little funny things are hilarious!
    This story for instance.

    I work as a lifegaurd and this is my first year, so I have never saved anyone yet, but the other day I was on break in the gaurd room, when I heard cries for help.
    At first I thought it was coming from the pool, but the gaurd working with me weren’t doing anything. So I walked outside and saw no one in the water was distressed, still the call for help persisted.
    Finally I noticed the toy chest. Inside was a two year old who had reached for a toy and ended up stuck in the bin.
    After rescueing her I laughed so hard.

    I still can’t decide if it is funny or just me on no sleep! Maybe you could help me out? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      It definitely sounds funny to me, but isn’t everything like ten times more hilarious when you’re either sleep-deprived or sugared up? Story of my life. 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Alyson says:

    You make me laugh!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

