rachelcoker



When I’m Reading Reviews

Sometimes, I forget I wrote a book. Well, okay, not really. Now that I’m a full-fledged author, I’m kind of always thinking about writing and editing and speaking events and blogging. But sometimes I forget that I’ve already finished this book and that it’s out there in the world and people are reading it and talking about it. When Interrupted first came out, I used to Google my name about once a week and read what people had to say about it. That was waaaaay back in the first few days after its release (think March and April), so there weren’t very many reviews.

Well, just the other day I decided to Google myself again, for the first time in months, and see if anything new came up. I have to say, I was a bit surprised. Not only were there way more reviews than I had expected, but there are a lot of photos and interviews and blog posts of mine floating around out in cyber world. It’s a little bit scary, to say the least.

Anyway, I read through most of the reviews on Goodreads, and decided to share my thoughts on some of them here. Not sure whether or not you’ll find this interesting, but I thought it might be cool for you hear my perspective on what people are saying about my book.

Interrupted has a 3.91 rating on Goodreads, as of right now, and 105 reviews. Yeesh!

Let’s see, where to begin…

Reading Teen wrote, “Rachel Coker has written a novel with a Christian-based theme that is entertaining and interesting without being preachy or ‘goody two-shoes’.”

I must say, that is an immense relief. I always feel like I get the rep in my community for being “Miss Goody Two-Shoes”, and while I don’t mind it, it’s good to know that my novel wasn’t too predictable or  overly moral. I’m still trying to spice up my writing a bit and make it more interesting.

Jacqueline wrote, “Really, only a few grammatical errors kept this from being a five star book.”

She gave it four stars. Which is still really sweet. And, yes, I caught those same errors and cringed over them. It was awful. But what fourteen-year-old is going to have perfect grammar, anyway? I’m still surprised none of my editors caught that, but whatever. It was still my fault, I guess.

Martha said, “I think I’ll give this one to my granddaughter at some point.”

Awwwwww! Old ladies (or middle-aged ladies) buying books for their grandkids is the best! That always happens at a book signing, sometimes three or four times, and it always makes me smile.

Andrea Smith thought that, “Unfortunately, this book should be called ‘Disconnected’, rather than ‘Interrupted’. The entire story was disjointed and had no flow”.

Um, ouch. She gave it 1.5 stars, but that probably shouldn’t surprise me.

Muzik_gurl said, “This is a very cute Christian romance that takes place in the 50’s.”

Agh! 40’s, 40’s, 40’s!!!!! But, it’s okay, because she gave me a stellar rating and she seems really sweet. 🙂

Monica said, “A great heart-wreching read. I cried, at least, 3 times.”

Aw, so sweet! I want to hug this Monica chick.

Brian McBride said, “To be honest, I was never one for Historical Romance – or rather, I’d never been interested in trying it. But this book shocked me, and not in a bad way. It took me a bit to get into it, but when I did, I enjoyed every page.”

I LOVE hearing about guys who read (and enjoyed!) Interrupted. Seriously, you don’t know how happy this makes me. 🙂 I had a group of teenage guys buy a copy of my book at a homeschool convention in June, and while part of me thinks they were just trying to get my attention, the other part of me is really hoping that they read the book and like it. 😉

~Kate~ wrote, “I had stopped reading a book the other week because I found it a bit too sad and very close to home yet this one in the sadness department was worse and I was crying loads and even throughout the book yet I actually loved it and I think that was down to the beautiful style of writing by Coker.”

Somebody give me the address of this girl so I can go to her home and give her a hug. Like,  not in a creepy way or anything. I’d just love to show up on her doorstep on a rainy night in a bright yellow raincoat or something, singing “The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow” and then showering her with hugs. Because I really like her, and I loved reading her review.

And, last, but not least, this is my absolute favorite review ever of Interrupted. I love it so much that when I first read it, I took my laptop around the house and read it to everyone else. Because I think that this woman really understood exactly what the book was about, and that made me feel absolutely fantastic. So here is kindlemom1’s review of Interrupted, unabridged:

“Rachel Coker’s debut novel Interrupted was such an endearing read.

I couldn’t help but feel sorry for Allie. From an early age she had a lot of responsibility on her little shoulder’s, taking care of a very sick mother. My heart went out to her for all of her struggles and heartbreak.

But while I understood the way she was, so aloof and hardened I couldn’t help wanting to be sad for her too, not because of what she was going through, but because of what she couldn’t see that was right in front of her the whole time.

For the things that she was missing and for hardening her heart against being loved and loving someone else.

I love that this book was set during the era of WWII, I love reading stories set in this time period.

And while I know that the time period wasn’t all full of romance and love (I mean there was a very real and very horrible war going on with lots of people dying every day) I can’t help but think of handsome young men in their uniforms and women in pretty dresses falling in love. When men were gentlemen and women were ladies. There is just something fascinating about the time period that never ceases to amaze me so I really did enjoy the novel taking place between the years 1939 and 1945.

Allie really was a great character. She was downright mean at times but there was always that underlying edge to her that made you wonder what was underneath all that harshness. At times her soft and caring side came through just a little bit. Just enough to let you know that she wasn’t completely hardened and completely lost.

Sam was a great character. I love how strong and steady he was for Allie. Always being there and taking her crap like he did and loving her all the more for it. He truly was the best thing for her.

Beatrice and Irene were such great secondary characters. I love how much they cared and loved Allie. How they never left her side and never gave up on her even though it literally took years for her to finally see what was right in front of her the whole time.

I loved the simple undertones of faith and love in this novel. That doesn’t always work in stories, sometimes it can come off as preachy and overbearing and I really didn’t find myself thinking that was at all about that in this book. I liked how Allie’s faith and new found religion helped her grow and become stronger and happier.

I like in the end the person that she became.

Overall I think this was a great story about growing up and becoming a better person, however you find it along the way.

Don’t you love the part about Sam “taking Allie’s crap”??? Love it! 😉

Anyway, I tried reading through more reviews to share with you, but there were a lot of pages of reviews online, and after a while they all started to run together in my head and I couldn’t distinguish them anymore. But here were a few of the best (and most painful), in my mind. I’m sure I missed a lot of other great ones, though. 😦

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jenny says:

    There are a lot of great reviews out there. Just remember, not everyone is going to like everything. You may have 10 people on one side of street love your book, 5 on the other side, not so much. I’ve read the book and I thought you did a remarkable job. All you can do is stay true to yourself and write the best book you have within you. Personally, I can’t wait to read Chasing Jupiter. You’ve got a fan here, Missy. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. Hi Rachel!
    I’ve been following your blog anonymously for some time, and I’ve enjoyed your story very much. You give me inspiration, as I’ve graduated from highschool, and instead of going to college, chose to write and prepare for a future family instead.

    I thought you might enjoy my review of your book! http://ladybibliophile.blogspot.com/2012/07/interrupted-life-beyond-words.html

    I’m looking forward to Chasing Jupiter as well. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Schuyler

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet review, Schuyler! I really enjoyed reading it and definitely took away a few great points. 😉 I’m glad that you’ve been enjoying my blog, and I hope you continue to read! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

