rachelcoker



Our Latest Crazy Idea

So, if you’ve been following my blog for a while now, then you probably know that my sister Hannah and I take ballroom dancing lessons. (Yes, we are that cool) You may also have caught on to the fact that we love to quote movies — like, to an extremely unhealthy level. And, if you’re good at coming to conclusions, you may have realized that when Hannah and I are left alone together we turn into a pair of crazy, loud, witty, snarky teenage girls.

Long story short, we were left alone the other night. After our youngest sister went to bed, Hannah and I hung out on our sofa upstairs for about an hour. After a while, our talk turned to ballroom dancing, and naturally went crazy from there. You see, we hatched a plan. After discussing a few of our favorite movies, Hannah and I decided that we simply must dress up to the next few ballroom lessons in full-on movie costumes and randomly quote our movie of choice to all of our dance partners. That’s right. We intend to single-handedly terrify the male species through a perfectly executed display of cinematic wit.

Deciding what movies to emulate and quote was, of course, difficult. This is because Hannah and I have amassed a huge memory bank of movie quotes through our many years of careful study and observation. We knew that we needed movies that would have elaborate costumes, awkwardly witty quotes, and fun accents to portray. All of these would be necessary to throughly confuse and terrify our partners. So, after a long hour of brainstorming, laughing, shouting, squealing, and finishing each other’s sentences, we came up with the following scenarios.

So let’s see how good you are at movie trivia. I’ll list the following imaginary ballroom dancing scenarios below, and then at the bottom of the blog post I’ll post what movie/character we were referencing. Go ahead and see how well you’d do with one of us as your partners!

– The first one is going to be a really fun night. Full-on costumes. We’ll turn heads when we walk in the door. When one of our partners asks us, “So, what kind of stuff are you into?” We will answer, “Dancing. But only if one’s partner is barely tolerable.” He might get offended. We won’t care. When it comes time to eat snack, we will study the snack table and comment quietly, “Why, what excellent wavy potato chips. To which of my fair partners may I compliment the snacks?” And, of course, everyone’s favorite: “I love the foxtrot… most ardently.”

– The second time we dress up, we’ll have to go for something a little different. Think more spontaneous. More green. This one will involve lots of smiling blankly into space. When our partners ask us what’s up, we’ll shrug and answer, “I just like to smile. Smiling’s my favorite.” If an awkward pause occurs in the middle of a conversation, we’ll throw our arms out and shout, “The best way to spread holiday cheer is singing loud for all to hear!”

– Once people start catching on to our madness, we’ll need something totally kooky to throw them off our scent. That’s why our pick for the third class will be perfect. Our long sleeves may make it a bit hard to waltz, but we’ll manage somehow. And if someone tries to cut us off in the line of dance, we’ll shout, “YOU SHALL NOT PASS!!!” That’ll teach them. And if someone tells us to stop, we’ll rub our foreheads and say, “One does not simply stop quoting amazing movies.”

– For the fourth ballroom dancing night, we’ll go a little Southern. The costume may be a little boring (and I’m not sure if we’ll be allowed to wear suits), but the accents will be epic. When we’re led into the circle to find a dance partner, we’ll muse aloud, “The circle is like a box of chocolates. You never know who you’re gonna get.” And when we’re going through the snack line, we’ll ramble on and on about our favorite foods. We’re talking about: “Steamed shrimp, fried shrimp, shrimp gumbo, shrimp sandwich, shrimp creole, burger shrimp…”

– And I’m really excited about the costumes for our fifth and final movie night at ballroom dancing. Think Renaissance gowns, braided hair. Oh, yeah. It’s gonna be sweet. I’ve already decided how I’m going to greet my partners after they introduce themselves. It’ll go like this… Random Dance Partner: “Hi, I’m John. Nice to meet you. And your name?” Me: “I fear the only name I can leave you with is… Comtesse Rachel de la Coker.” Then, after a few minutes of careful conversation, I will chide him on his politics and then accuse him of suffering his people to be ill-educated and corrupt, thereby making thieves and then punishing them. This may make my partner fall madly in love with me, though, so I really have to be careful. Guys love snobby, blunt peasants.

So, yep. That’s our plan. And that’s all I have to say about that.

-Rachel

Movies cited: 1-Pride and Prejudice, 2-Elf, 3-Lord of the Rings, 4-Forrest Gump, 5-Ever After

Other movies considered: Pirates of the Caribbean, The Princess Bride, Megamind, Gone With the Wind, Oklahoma, It Happened One Night

[Image via fashionsoftheages.com]

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily Ann says:

    Oh.My.Gosh. I just laughed out loud! This is seriously GREAT! hahaha!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Laura says:

    Ahh! Ever After! That’s the one movie I will never tire of watching. This made my day. Oh! And you need to take pictures of your costumes! Also, I think you should definitely quote some Princess Bride and Gone with the Wind, too, if you can fit it in somewhere 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  3. * maybeteenauthor says:

    You are amazing. Pride and Prejudice AND Ever After? Just amazing.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Sarah says:

    Okay, okay, the LOTR was the best one EVER, but it definitely needed The Princess Bride classics, “Farm Boy, fetch me that pale of water” “As you wish”…. oh my gosh, I giggle every time I say that and feel like a teenage girl x.x LOL

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, yeah one of the quotes we thought of for Princess Bride was definitely responding to every command by our instructor with a quiet, “As you wish.” 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Gracie says:

    Well, I got everyone except the LOTR. I probably shouldn’t mention that I’ve never read the books or watched the movies…
    But, I definitely knew the P&P one! Gosh, I must have watched the BBC version of the film at least 5 times or more. 🙂 Seriously, can you ever get enough Mr. Darcy? 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  6. I laughed so much as I read this! SO funny! I think the Ever After one was my favorite!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Katelyn S. says:

    That sounds like so much fun! I love all those movies and would love to hear about how your ballroom lessons go.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Katia says:

    This was pretty much the first thing today that made me laugh. It so sounds like something I would do. Do continue with the Princess Bride, though.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Jenna K. says:

    Hahaha!! I think it would be funny to go to a party or something and starting quoting stuff from movies…like if someone asks you what your name is you could quote something for that. or for something in the middle of a conversation…that would be hilarious! 😛 Fun stuff! 😀

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
  10. That’s really cute and it seems like you and your sister are close. I wish my sister and I were like that! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Hannah says:

    One does not simply stop quoting Lord of the Rings! 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

