rachelcoker



Coker Resort

So I was debating what to blog about today when I remembered that I still have a whole folder of unpublished photos of Ruthie’s tenth birthday party two weeks ago on my computer! These are just too good to go unshared, so, without further ado, I present to you…. Coker Resort.

It takes a unique kid to want to celebrate her tenth birthday with a hotel-themed birthday party. Lucky us, too, because obviously every hotel needs staff (*ahem* servants) and obviously having two older sisters makes that a cinch. To help ease the pain, we invited over two of our favorite friends, Ellery and Lila. The four of us dressed up in our hotel-y-ish clothes and treated the guests to a full on spa experience. We gave them facials, painted their nails, and did their hair. Then we passed out menus and delivered them a fine meal. Later on in the evening, the girls sugared up on icecream sundaes and watched a few American Girl movies. And the next morning, before they left, we led the guests into the “lobby” and let them “buy” candy from the hotel’s candy lobby.

So how was a sleepover with nine giggling girls under eleven? Loud. Very, very loud. Loud from the moment they checked in at 3:30, to the bathroom break they took at 11 PM, to the wild dance party we led them in the next morning. But it was fun indeed, and I think everyone had quite a time at Coker Resort.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bethany B. says:

    wow, looks like such a fun theme! I did a Spanish Theme once and a Princess… but I didn’t go alll outt. 😀

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    Oh, so fun! 🙂 Wish Ruthie another Happy Birthday for me, will you? 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Abbie M says:

    I absolutely love this! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Jenna K. says:

    Ooooh!! That looks like a great idea! That’s probably one of the best birthday ideas I’ve ever heard of! 😀 I bet it was a lot of fun! 😀

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I know, right? I thought it was a pretty cool idea, too, and very nicely executed! 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  5. * maybeteenauthor says:

    She got this from American Girl magazine.

    I subscribed to that mag from my twelth birthday till after I turned sixteen. Yes, I was that obsessed/addited/whatever you want to call me.

    I still think they’re amazing, by the way. But the party themes were *always* my favorite part.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * Emily says:

      Haha, I’m fourteen and I *still* love American Girl, though I can’t say I actually PLAY with my dolls anymore. However, they are still on display in my bedroom, and though I don’t adore them as I once did, I still love them dearly. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Jill says:

    What a fun idea! Years ago, I helped organize a life-sized Candy Land birthday party for my sister. Although it was hard work, and a bit stressful at times, it was a pretty fun party! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

