rachelcoker



The Devastating Cuteness of Vintage Couples

I have this problem. You’ve heard me talk about it before. I’m an unromantic person. Part of this is probably due to the fact that I am semi-allergic to hugs and refuse to get within a two-foot radius of anyone but my best friends. Another part of it is most likely a reaction to the fact that Lizzie McGuire and Gordo never ended up getting married and therefore effectively ruined my childhood dreams of happily ever after. Not saying I’m never attracted to guys or that I think it would be awful to be in a relationship. I’m just grossed out by all the Hollister-clad hipsters making out at amusement parks and breathing the same air as me.

That being said, I have recently made a startling discovery that has my head absolutely spinning. And that is the undeniable fact that vintage couples are the most adorable thing in the whole world.

Seriously, it’s awful. But couples in the 40’s and 50’s just knew how to make being romantic look cute. Probably because they weren’t all up in each other’s space and making fools of themselves in public. They were holding hands all classy-like and swing dancing in suits and little dresses. They had perfect hair and impeccable posture and were just experts at looking generally attractive.

This is obviously a devastating revelation and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to view romance the same. Because after just half an hour of browsing vintage Pinterest boards and wrinkling my nose at the disgusting cuteness of it all, all my former expectations are going to fly through the roof. Now I’ll be expecting some tall dark guy with a James Dean haircut to come and sweep me off my penny-loafered feet and drive me off in his ’54 Chevy Bel Air while Benny Goodman plays on the radio.

The internet is bad for you, people. Do NOT fall for the trap of looking at old vintage photos online, thinking you’ll walk away perfectly fine and undamaged. Trust me when I tell you that you’ll be scarred for life, okay? Don’t fall into the same trap I did. Just promise that you’ll come and visit me one day in my lonely llama farm (the internet has also caused me to think that llamas are much more adorable than they actually are), surrounded by my vintage photos and bewailing the fact that I never found my Cary Grant. Spare me from suffering that miserable fate alone.

-Rachel

 

(All photos from vintagecouplesinlove.tumblr)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Leorah :) says:

    LOL! You have no idea how badly you just cracked me up here! But you know what, your right. They are devastatingly cute! I think the first time I realized this was when getting ice cream at this old fashion ice cream parlor. It was decorated 1950s and everything was just ssseeeooooo cute! Right away I decided that was where I wanted my first date. I could picture the whole scene… we (my handsome date and I) would walk in hand in hand laughing. I would totally be rocking the place in my high red heels and a short, white dress with little cherries all over it. My date who equals tall, dark, and handsome would be in a nice white suit with his hair slicked back. He would open doors and pull back chairs for me like a true gentlemen. We’d order a shake and two straws and while waiting for our order, we’d dance to the old music box in the corner of the shop. Long and short of it all, we’d be the couple the old people smiled down on with fondness while the other couples in the parlor with envy……yeah. I was an imaginative eleven years old.
    Anyway, loved this post! Thanks for making me smile! ❤

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Wow, I love your dream date! I would totally do that, right down to the heels and cherry dress. 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  2. Oh, Rachel. I share your “un-romanticness” pain. Actually, I like to think that I am romantic, just in an entirely different way than most people. I thought Braveheart was romantic (minus the part where he falls in love with the Princess! What was up with that?) if somewhat tragic. 😉

    We used to have llamas! They are quite cute, if a little bad tempered sometimes. 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Braveheart was the worst. I totally bawled my eyes out in that movie and I hated the other princess. 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

