rachelcoker



Galatians 6:14

Those of you who have ever received a signed copy of Interrupted from me, may have noticed something underneath my signature. I always sign my name alongside my favorite Bible verse, Galatians 6:14. However, the story behind how I picked that Bible verse is a wee bit interesting, so I figured I’d share it with you all today…

When I first signed the contract for my book, I was fifteen years old. I’d never given any thought before that to being famous or ever having to give my autograph for anything. But, obviously, people started teasing me about it almost immediately. My dad, especially, seemed to think it was funny. He told me that I had to learn how to develop a trademark signature quickly, so that I could whip it out for my millions of fans. 😉 So I painstakingly developed an intentionally messy (haha — who am I kidding??) signature that I could use for signing autographs. I remember joking around that I had to learn how to write my name in order to both autograph my books and sign my drivers’ license at the same time.

But once I had perfected my signature, a thought suddenly occurred to me. I didn’t have a verse. You know what I’m talking about. All the best Christians seem to have favorite Bible verses that they use when they sign their names in order to send some kind of message to the world about what they care about.

For some reason, this has always been a bit intimidating to me. I’ve never been the type to easily choose favorites of anything. I hate going to Bible studies and having to go around the circle talking about who our favorite characters of the Bible are. I don’t have a favorite Bible character! I like some and dislike others, but I don’t have any that I hold above the rest! (Except for Jesus, and it was somewhat frowned upon when I gave that answer once, after hearing about a dozen Esthers and Marys.)

The same goes for Bible verses. I love God’s Word and I know many verses by heart that I absolutely adore. But I never could choose a favorite, signature verse.

And so I did what any person searching for a signature Bible verse to put alongside her autograph in books sold to the masses: I randomly opened my Bible and started reading.

Granted, I prayed quite a bit. I asked God to make it glaringly obvious to me when I came across a verse that would be appropriate and would really come from my heart. And, believe it or not, obvious is exactly what it was! I literally opened my Bible to the book of Galatians, and my eyes immediately fell upon Galatians 6:14. Instantly, I knew that it was the perfect verse for everything I’d been through and hoped to accomplish.

“But may it never be that I would boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” (NASB)

I just feel like that verse absolutely sums up everything I want my readers to know about me. Too often, people seem to credit everything that has happened in my life to my age, or my talent, or my personality. But it’s all because of Christ that I am what I am, and that you are what you are! My constant prayer is that others will be able to see Christ shining through everything that I do, and that this verse would be an accurate picture of my relationship with Jesus.

So, there you have it. The semi-interesting story of how I became one of those people, and why I don’t mind anymore!

-Rachel

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. What a great verse! I love the story on how you found it.

    I’ve always thought about having a scripture to go along with my book autograph as well. Ecclesiastes 11:9 is one of my favorites, having to do with young people pursuing the desires God has placed on their heart–but making sure to keep Him first. I love the MSG version especially:

    “You who are young, make the most of your youth. Relish your youthful vigor. Follow the impulses of your heart. If something looks good to you, pursue it. But know also that not just anything goes; You have to answer to God for every last bit of it.”

    God bless!

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  2. * Jenna says:

    I think that’s a verse every christian writer/singer/etc. should have memorized!! I love that verse!! 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  3. * Katia says:

    That’s interesting. I’ve always been a Christian, but lately I’ve been having some doubts. Then I went down to Notre Dame for a football weekend and went into the Basilica, and -corny as it sounds- was struck by the feeling that God exists. It sounds so fake, but now I know he’s there. at least, and I’m trying more to grow in my faith. I think one of my faavorite verses (not that I know so many) is my school’s verse for the year, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” Phillipians 4:13.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 12 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Hi, Katia! Thanks for commenting! I’m so glad that you’re encouraged by Phillipians 4:13, and that you’ve been trying to grow more in your faith. That’s fantastic! One thing I would encourage you do do, though, is not worry so much about when you became a Christian. Think about the role that God has in your life NOW, not however many years ago. In everyone’s life, there has to be a point where she realizes that God is the Lord of her life right now in this moment and lives to serve Him from then on out. It’s wonderful that you realize that God exists, because He absolutely does! But if you’re unsure about your faith, try to think about what God means to you right now. Have you surrendered your life to Him and want to know how to please Him and love Him more? Or are you still unsure about how to do that? If you ever want to talk more about this, I’d love to chat with you. You can email me at REC804 at hotmail dot com.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

