rachelcoker



My Previous Plans to Be a Model… And How They Didn’t Turn Out So Great

I found something reeeeeealllly funny the other day. I was digging through my old belongings (you can either call it trash or keepsakes—either word is probably applicable), and I found a list I had made at age eight. Yes, I was an obsessive list-maker, even back then!

Anyway, this list is color-coded in magenta and blue, and it’s basically a plan for my life. It’s titled, “Rachel Coker: Timeline: What I Want to Accomplish” and it’s pretty much the most intense life plan I’ve ever seen a third grader make. I was a lot more nerdy back then, or can’t you tell? 😉

Apparently, I had some pretty lofty plans for myself. I’d explain in further detail, but maybe I should just copy the list for you first.

AGE      WHAT I WANT TO ACCOMPLISH

9              Get my ears pierced

10            Read 100 books

11            Be a great horseback rider

12           Have a large selection of yummy lotion

13           Start wearing makeup

14           Win the national spelling bee

15           Try to raise one thousand dollars

16           Get my driver’s license

17           Get a computer in my room

18           Move into my own house

19           Have a large shoe collection

20           Take acting seriously

21           Make my own line of fashions

22           Star in my first movie

23           Make a few more movies

24           Become a fashion model

25           Become engaged

And there you have it. Apparently, by age twenty-five, I must be an engaged movie star with her own fashion line and serious horseback-riding chops.

Seriously, though, this list cracks me up. Because what did I know about life at age eight? I was an awkwardly tall, pudgy kid with few friends and dreams of one day wearing makeup and starring in movies. (My predictions were way off, by the way. I couldn’t wear much makeup until I was much older than thirteen.) I was still dorky enough to put winning the national spelling bee on my list, but I didn’t seem to care much about school or friends. My idea of success and a happy life consisted of an acting career and large shoe collection, culminating with a big diamond ring.

As embarrassing as this list is for me to look at now (and reminds me strangely of another list I wrote a few years later….), it also makes me chuckle. Oh, to be eight years old and still be looking forward to a glamorous future. Almost ten years later, my life definitely looks a lot different now than I’d expected. Yes, I have my driver’s license, but I’m not some kind of jet-setting diva with five boyfriends and Armani sunglasses. I may have an agent, but he’s more preoccupied with marking up fourth-drafts of novels than setting up interviews for me with Katie Couric.

Sometimes it’s funny how life turns out for us. Usually it’s in ways we never would have expected. But that’s what’s so great about it! I’m definitely a “life for the moment” type of person. Nothing thrills me more than to know that every moment of every day is unexpected and exciting. I don’t know where God will lead me in the next few years, but I’m sure excited to see how He’ll mess up all my plans and provide a better future than me than I ever could have hoped for myself.

Also, it’s great to know I don’t have to worry about getting engaged for eight more years. That’s a relief! 😉

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Leorah :) says:

    😀 LOL! Your eight year old self is so cute! That list is just great! A *total* keepsake. I have one piece of writing from which I wrote when I was younger (either 8 or 9) but I am not sure what it says. No, not because my handwriting was too sloppy to read though it was sloppy but because it is addressed to my 16 years old self. I do not remember writing it and found it several years back. I’ve been literally dying to read it because like you, when I was younger I always imagined my older self to be this totally glamorous person. (Wouldn’t she be surprised!) This December I finally get to open it and I am so excited! This list made me even more!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, that is so cute! I wish I had thought to write a letter to myself at sixteen. I bet I did, and just lost it in the messy area that is my bedroom… 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  2. This really made me laugh! I can see you were busy thinking this through early, lol!

    ~ZA

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Selena says:

    Just wondering… do you think it’s alright to cuss?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Hi, Selena! Thanks for commenting! While I’m not sure exactly what you’re implying by the word “cuss,” no, I don’t think it’s ever okay to use the Lord’s name in vain and I do not ever use words that I would consider “cuss words”.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Selena says:

    Ok. Thanx for replying! 🙂 For some reason I thought I saw “cr*p” in one of your blog posts. I just read ur post on pressures of being 17 and I can really relate. Sooo, I’m not trying to judge you or anything, I was just curious. 😛 Thanx again for replying to my comment. I really admire the way you got a book published at 16.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * Selena says:

      And I also was a dummy and didn’t post my reply comment under “reply”. So. (Facepalming right now) Sorry about that. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Jenna says:

    Lol!!! That cracks me up too!! it’s crazy how we all thought back when we were little kids…at least that’s the case with me 😛

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

