rachelcoker



Small Mouths Can Have Big Voices

A few years ago, I made a ground-breaking discovery relating to my acute odontophobia (fear of the dentist). Quite truthfully, there are few places on earth I wouldn’t choose to be other than in the operating table–ahem!–I mean, seat of a dentist’s office. I’d rather strapped to the front of a three dollar waffle iron display at a Walmart in Kentucky on Black Friday than have to go to the dentist. It’s that bad.

Anyway, like I was saying, a few years ago I discovered the source of all my dentist phobia issues. And no, it didn’t have anything to do with tennis-shoe wearing women forcing me to watch Rachael Ray on mute without subtitles for half an hour while drilling holes in my mouth and asking about my summer vacation. It was instead the realization of this earth-shattering fact: I have a small mouth.

It’s totally true, and it’s the reason why I hate getting my teeth cleaned. Because my mouth is just not big enough to stay “just a little wider, sweetie” for more than ten seconds. Hence the discomfort and endless blog rantings. And the awkward conversation between the dentist and the hygenist consisting of, “I’m gonna need you to stand here and hold her mouth open, ’cause once I get these blocks in, there’s not gonna be any room left for my hands.” Yup. Embarrassing.

I was thinking about all this the other day after getting home from getting my teeth cleaned. And another really funny thought occurred to me. Even though I may always be cursed with a small mouth, I can still have a really big voice.

I’m not talking about that in an obnoxious, I’m-gonna-blast-your-eardrums-by-ranting-about-Taylor-Swift-and-her-messed-up-love-life-24/7 kind of way. I’m talking about my voice as a writer. As a person. As a Christian.

Albert Einstein once said, “Nothing I can do will change the structure of the universe. But maybe, by raising my voice, I can help the greatest of all causes — goodwill among men and peace on earth.”

I have no idea whether or not Albert Einstein had a small mouth. These things are kind of hard to tell unless you’re actually the person with the problem. But what I do know is this: It doesn’t matter what the physical size of your mouth, or your larynx, or your tongue is–Your voice can still be heard around the world, if you’re speaking loudly enough.

At my friends’ Bible study earlier this month, we were each posed the question “What are you passionate about?” We went around the circle, listing our passions and hobbies. Writing, politics, animals, our faith… After we’d all finished, the leaders of the study encouraged us to actually stand up for and declare our passions, reading us Acts 5:40-42.

“They took his advice; and after calling the apostles in, they flogged them and ordered them not to speak in the name of Jesus, and then released them. So they went on their way from the presence of the Council, rejoicing that they had been considered worthy to suffer shame for His name. And every day, in the temple and from house to house, they kept right on teaching and preaching Jesus as the Christ.”

I left that study with a new and emboldened desire to constantly speak from my heart. I may not be the wisest person on this earth, or the most godly, but I do have something to say and I want to say it with all the passion and zeal it deserves. I want to constantly share my thoughts and my dreams in a way that will inspire others to stand up and raise their voices, too.

Heaven knows I have a tiny mouth. For some reason, God decided to make it that way, and I doubt it’s ever going to change. But I pray that I will always be remembered as a girl with a very big voice proclaiming a very loud message–and that the message coming from my lips would always be one of praise and service to my King.

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Amen, Rachel! Well put.
    I also have an uncommonly small mouth…and I HATE dentists. (I’m better than I used to be :D) I think it was because I was traumatized as a child??? I actually had to have my upper jaw expanded…OUCH!!! So, yeah, I know what your talking about. You aren’t alone!
    God bless…

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Hailey says:

    “I may not be the wisest person on this earth, or the most godly, but I do have something to say and I want to say it with all the passion and zeal it deserves.” – Love that, Rachel. Keep standing up and speaking out!! I’m proud of you, my friend:)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, thanks so much Hailey! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  3. * cait says:

    Ack, now that’s a disturbing picture. I have a small mouth too (thanks to torture with the orthodontist, it’s not bigger so all my teeth fit in. Wow. Thanks.) and a bit of a phobia of the dentist. I mean, come on! It IS torture in there. The look on the kid’s face in the picture? Yep.

    And yes, I also liked the part about big voices. Sorry…stuck on the small mouths too much. 😛

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Emily says:

    “I may not be the wisest person on this earth, or the most godly, but I do have something to say and I want to say it with all the passion and zeal it deserves.” Awesomeness? I should think so. 😉

    Oh, and when I went to the orthodontist they put those things the kid has in his mouth in mine (only they were plastic not metal… thankfully ;)). The most torturous part? My parents took a picture of it. 😥 Such cruelty!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

