rachelcoker



Life Lessons from “Pride and Prejudice”

So I watched the 2005 version of “Pride and Prejudice” for like the five millionth time yesterday. It’s getting bad. Bad to the point of me sitting there and quoting every scene, complete with authentic British accents and snooty facial expressions. My sisters were not impressed.

Anyway, the more I thought about, the more I realized that there are genuine life lessons to be learned from Pride and Prejudice. I mean, the dialogs and scenarios from this film are applicable to just about every life situation you can think of.

After I turned off the film, I sat down at my computer and contemplated the many life lessons learned from this film. It is my sincere hope that I will recall these examples in the years to come when forced with difficult circumstances and trying decisions.

  • If you think calling your crush on the phone is awkward, try dropping in on her house unexpected. There’s really no getting around the discomfort of this scenario. You can try complimenting her on the décor, enquiring after her health, and twisting your hat in your hands, but none of these things will make you feel better about yourself. The only way to make things worse is when the object of your affections, in return, drops in on your mansion and snoops around the private quarters. Oh, the awkwardness. It hurts.
  • Never practice your manners in advance. Because boiled potatoes are a really weird thing to compliment someone on and even “My Esteemed Patroness” sounds stuffy after you’ve said it for the seventh time.
  • The best dating advice ever given is most definitely, “She should move quickly. Snap him up. There’s plenty of time to get to know him after they’re married.” All women should heed these wise words.
  • Dancing is a great way to encourage the affections. But only if one’s partner is barely tolerable.
  • Men, take heed. Ladies love fellows in regiment uniforms, high-waisted breeches, and billowing overcoats. Didn’t we all swoon when Mr. Darcy trudged across the field at dawn with his coat flowing around his ankles? I mean, the glorious sunrise definitely had something to do with it, but it was that coat that made Lizzie realize she couldn’t live without him.
  •  Your figure will appear to its best advantage when walking. Don’t know how I ever missed out on this totally useful piece of information, but you can be sure I will keep this in mind from here on out.
  • There is such a thing as a “Mr. Darcy” look. Usually gentlemen give it to you when your back is turned, which is probably why I’ve never seen it in real life before, but it’s a completely legitimate thing. My sister and I have formed a pact that if we ever see someone give one of us the “Mr. Darcy” look, we will inform the other immediately. Since our lives aren’t a BBC drama, there’s no way we would know it ourselves, but having a sister looking out for you is always good.
  • And last, but not least, always get married before you’re twenty-seven. No one wants to be a burden to their parents. Especially when you stink at the pianoforte, can’t draw or paint, and tend to improve your mind by overly extensive reading.

 

Hopefully, I have passed along some morsels of knowledge to all of you. Heed these life warnings and learn from the eighteenth century drama of Pride and Prejudice, my friends. And the next time you have a free night, pop in the dvd player and watch the proposal scene five times in a row. “I love… I love… I love you.”

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tessa Curtis says:

    and you say you’re not romantic…. ; )

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      It was a clever use of sarcasm, Tessa–sarcasm!!! 😉

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Jenna says:

    LoL! That was awesome! the last one is totally me 😛 I can’t do any of those but read!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Becca Anne says:

    I loved this. All very useful information I will definently keep in mind. lol I’m still giggling. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Hannah says:

    You know Rachel, I haven’t seen any of the Pride and Prejudice movies yet, though I want to, and everyone has always told be that the BBC version FAR surpasses the 2005 version, and that the 2005 version isn’t worth watching. But after reading this, you’re making me want to watch both! 🙂
    Fun post! Will keep all this wonderful advice in mind! 😉

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Abby says:

    I’ve watched Pride and Prejudice before (1980’s BBC version) and really liked it. Personally, I think it’s the best version. It’s nice and close to the book. I like your life lessons. 🙂

    I just stumbled across your blog and really like it. I’m sixteen too, and I would like to write a book someday. Thanks for inspiring me!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Ellyn says:

    Oh, this has to be my favorite movie of all time. A friend and I quote Darcy’s proposal to each other…. “I love you. Most ardently.” 🙂

    And oh – the Mr. Darcy LOOK – I know exactly what you mean. *swoon*

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

