rachelcoker



It’s That Time of Year…

And no, I’m not talking about “when the world falls in love”. I’m talking about “when Rachel starts freaking out and losing sleep at night and tells all her friends to refrain from Googling her name for the next three months.” Yes, this is (da-da-dum)…. BOOK REVIEW SEASON!!!

I remember when Interrupted came out last spring, I told myself I would not read a single book review online or in a magazine. Ha! As if! I’m a girl and I’m nosy and I’m self-conscious, so obviously I ended up reading every review that was sent my way, both good and bad. And let me tell you something, I don’t remember the details of a single good review. Honestly. Out of the hundreds of reviews of Interrupted floating out there in cyberspace, I probably only read half a dozen that were truly terrible. And yet, those are the six that I remember most vividly and could probably quote in my sleep. Every derogatory comment or snarky criticism–they’re stuck in my brain forever!

And now, here we go all over again! It’s Christmastime, but it’s also Book Review Season, and so my brain is probably going to be on overload for the next month or so. My publicist/family members/friends will be sending me just about every review on Chasing Jupiter that possibly exists, and I’ll probably end up reading them all. Because that’s the weak person that I am! And while I’m sure I’ll read all the sweet reviews and be very blessed by them, I also know that I’ll be a little bit scarred by the negative ones as well.

But you know what? That’s going to be a great thing for me. I can’t live in this bubble where everything I produce is hilarious and witty and insightful and poetic. Sometimes people are going to disagree with me and that’s okay! My prayer throughout this whole process is that every negative review or criticism I receive in the next month and a half will do nothing but strengthen me in the Lord and help grow me into a better person.

At the end of the year, it’s all going to be okay. I know that I’ll get through reading every great and not-so-great review and make it out just fine. I’m looking forward to the journey, and seeing where God leads me throughout it! 🙂

Aaaaaannnnndddd…. You can now pre-order your own copy of Chasing Jupiter. So get it now! And then eagerly anticipate every second in between now and the moment you hold it in your hands! 😉

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cait says:

    Oh exciting!! 🙂 And I haven’t published a book (yet) but whenever I get criticism back on my writing, I always remember the bad over the good. I feel so negative! But now I know I’m not the only one! 😀 (Sorry…hehe).

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Emily Ann says:

    I’m reading it right now and I’ll send you the link to my blog when I review it! SO good, Rachel. I love your writing style. And I pre-ordered your book. =)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    I’m going to read it when I get back home (it’s waiting for me!). I cannot wait! I’ll send you the link to the review too. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Jenna says:

    I’m am dying to read your new book! dying I tell you! =D Can’t wait!!! Come on December hurry up! 😀

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

