rachelcoker



[Obligatory New Years Post]

new-years-resolution

So what did I get for Christmas this year? Fat. I got fat.

Haha, no, I did not make that up myself. I actually stole it from my sister’s Pinterest page. But I figured you all deserved a good laugh this morning. 😉

What I really wanted to do today was shoot a video blog with a copy of my newest book, “Chasing Jupiter”, which is now available to order online, ya’ll. BUT, the holiday release date seems to be making it take a bit longer for the actual book to be shipped out, both to readers and to the quite impatient author herself. SO, I figured I’d talk instead about New Year’s Resolutions and whatnot.

Personally (and this may offend some people—not quite sure), I find New Year’s Resolutions to be a bit tacky. I guess I’ve just always been of the mindset that if you want to change something about yourself, why not go ahead and just change it? Does it really matter if it’s July 22nd or January 1st? If something needs improving in your life, jump off your high and mighty horse and just admit it. And then get to work at it ASAP, no matter what time of the year it is.

HOWEVER, I am a big pushover when it comes to setting goals. This obviously makes it a million times harder to me to utterly dismiss making resolutions when the new calendar year is started. I have to admit that I am one of those people who lays around and eats nothing but pie all December, then starts exercising every day and eating nothing but salads and soup come January. Not because I think I’m fat or anything, but because I like setting that goal of living a healthier lifestyle and feeling better about myself. Hey, I like how it feels to be drinking smoothies and running a couple miles every morning. But I’m not about to make it a resolution to lose ten pounds or whatever.

What I am thinking about making a resolution this year (if we must use that outdated term), would probably be something much simpler. This year, I would like to pay more attention to the tiny details in life, and soak them up. I’m very good at noticing the big moments in life. Graduations, birthdays, vacations, other monumental events. I can remember just about every moment of those days, and I have the photographic evidence to prove it.

But what tend to go unnoticed are the little, seemingly uneventful days in life. The days when my sisters and I sleep in and make waffles and do school in our pajamas all day before settling in for yet another rerun of “Top Iron Chef” and a late-night Taylor Swift sing-a-long party.  What evidence do I have that those days existed? Those days that I did absolutely nothing but live, and had a great time doing it?

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve been getting better at recording life’s little details. Mostly because you guys seem to get a kick out of hearing all the weird, mundane things that happen to me, but also because I’ve realized that those are the things I love most about life. The little details.

So this year, I guess my resolution would be to pay more attention to those details. To write about them, and photograph them, and try my best to hold on to every memory. You all can definitely feel free to keep me accountable if you want to, because I want this blog to read like a personal diary so you can all see what my life is really like, and hopefully grow from the things I’ve learned.

It is my sincere hope that I’ll get a video of me with “Chasing Jupiter” up here in a couple days (please, please, Mr. Postman), but until then, Happy early New Year! 😀

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kelly says:

    that seems like a great goal! I love those totally relaxing days where you just live as well!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Madelyn says:

    “Please, please Mr. Postman” That made my day! I didn’t think teenagers other than myself still listened to that! 🙂 Thank you for reminding me of that song! I haven’t heard it in ages. Listening to it now, though! Have a great New Year, Rachel!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  3. * cait says:

    Little things are awesome. And special. I have a 2-year-old nephew (who does fun things like sneeze waffle over my computer) and we hang out together and create havoc. It’s litte. But it’s special. Little moments make the big moments, right?

    Nice post. (And I want to see you with Chasing Jupiter too!! Pleeease, postman, hurry up!)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

