rachelcoker



My New Super-Cool Friend from Across the States

I have a friend. That’s right–I HAVE A FRIEND!!!! Haha, that’s big news obviously. šŸ˜‰ Well, not really, but what’s really big news is that I have a friend that I never thought I’d have. Because when I started reading Elaini’s blog way back in 2011, she seemed more like a celebrity than a real-life person. I stalked her for months, was touched by her story, got very wrapped up in her amazing 100 Days Project, and even dropped a few comments like a total creeper. So imagine my utter surprise when, a little over a month ago, I got an email in my inbox from Elaini HERSELF, talking about how she’d followed my comment and been checking out my blog, and was totally excited and impressed by little old ME.

Obviously, we were both super ecstaticĀ about each other, and after dozens of long emails and several super-long Skype chats, we decided to meet up during my trip to Seattle. We realized that God was obviously bringing us together for a reason. Why else would He haveĀ me flying all the way across the country, a mere three hours away from Elaini and her family, only a few weeks after we got in contact?

So we decided to spend a day together–taking pictures, running up and down escalators, putting on makeup in the library bathrooms, and spending hours sitting around drinking lemonade and chatting with our mothers. It was absolutely wonderful, and we’re already messaging every day and counting down the days until we get to see each other again!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Elaini’s blog, misselainous, I would definitely encourage you to check it out! She is a wonderful, inspiring young lady who has a beautiful heart for the Lord and for orphans. In fact, she has raised over $71,000 for orphans in India through her blog! If you haven’t given yet, I would encourage you to hop on over there and give even a small donation. Think of all the good you can do with just a $10, 20, or 30 donation! It would mean so, so much to me, and I’m sure my friend wouldĀ appreciate it, too! Also, you can follow Elaini and track her journey on Twitter! She’s @Misselaini.

Anyway, here is the first part of our photoshoot. We shot two different looks–so be sure to check back next week for look #2! And thank you to my sweet mother for offering to take the pictures. And for Elaini and her mom for driving up to Seattle to see us! I can’t wait to see you again, my friend! šŸ™‚

1

23

4

67

8

910

11

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Beyond The Cover says:

    Very cute! I love it.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Jenna C. says:

    Fun!! It’s always nice to meet new friends! Looks like you had a great time šŸ˜€ I love your jackets!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Emily Ann says:

    Love this!! And you both are so adorable!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

