rachelcoker



Movie Bucket List

Being the notorious list-maker that I am, I made a bucket list of movies that I wanted to see last year way back at the beginning of 2012. It included great classics like “Psycho”, movie theater smashes like “Snow White and the Huntsman”, old-fashioned chick flicks such as “Pillow Talk”, and even random foreign films like “Pierrot le Fou.” And I am happy to say that I totally reached my goal and saw 24 movies that I’d always wanted to watch! Some I had to rent, others check out from the library, and some even buy or watch in theaters, but at the end of the year I felt so much more cultured! Not saying I enjoyed every film (in fact, there were a few I hated), but it felt so good to get that many more classic films and modern blockbusters under my belt.

So, in the same vein, I decided to make a list of movies I want to see in 2013. Some of you may have figured out by now that I am a huge film junkie, and absolutely adore movies for their creative directing, cinematography, and witty screenplays. So most of my favorite movies tend to be kind of off-beat and below-the-radar. Like, I’ve seen just about every Hitchock film ever made and I count random old French films as among some of my favorites. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I thought I might share with you a few of the movies I’m really hoping to see in 2013! Not sure if I’llΒ like any or all of these, since I haven’t even seen them yet, but here are some of the titles I plan on checking out. And if any of you have any great movie selections, I’d love to add to my list! I have seen a huge repertoire of films, especially old classics (I hate TV, so I watch old black and white movies instead), but I know there are still a few I haven’t heard of!

The Artist (2011)

The Artist

 

 

 

 

 

Life is Beautiful (1997)

Life is Beautiful

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bright Star (2009)

Bright Star

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Thin Man (1934)

The Thin Man

 

 

 

 

 

 

Corpse Bride (2005)

Corpse Bride

 

 

 

 

 

Paris When It Sizzles (19647

Paris When it Sizzles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Castle in the Sky (1986)

Castle in the Sky

 

 

 

 

 

Have you seen any of these movies? What films or books are on your bucket list this year?

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Laura says:

    YES The Artist is amazing! I am so in love with that movie πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Jordanna says:

    Aaaggghhh, you’ve never seen Life is Beautiful?!?!?! It’s such a good movie. If you’re ok with subtitles, you really should watch it in Italian. I LOVE that movie!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  3. Oh Life is Beautiful is such a good movie. Tragic, but truly beautiful.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  4. 1. Never heard of it
    2. Ditto
    3. Ditto, but OMW beautiful photo!
    4. Never heard of it
    5. Eh, I go back and forth… haven’t seen it yet and can never decide if I want to
    6. IS THAT AUDREY? ❀
    7. Is that by the same people as Howl's Moving Castle? Because I usually hate anime/manga and related stuff, but my friend made me watch HMC and I adored it! Bought and read the book too.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * Jessa says:

      Castle in the Sky is by Studio Ghibli, who did Howl’s Moving Castle, Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke (I think that’s how you spell it…), Ponyo, My Neighbor Totoro, The Secret World of Arrietty, Porco Rosso, etc.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Emily Ann says:

    Awesome idea! I’ve seen the Corpse Bride but not any of the other ones…I might have to look into them!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Jessa says:

    Castle in the Sky is FANTASTIC!!! It’s the first Ghibli I can remember seeing and, years later, is still at the top of my favorite movies. πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Katelyn S. says:

    I watched “Life Is Beautiful” a few years ago in history class. Beautiful acting and scenes. You will need tissues at the end!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Charity says:

    –> Haven’t seen the Artist yet, but really want to!
    –>Life is Beautiful, as everyone has said before, is simply beautiful. Such displays of love and steadfastness. And although tragic, I think any lover of love itself must watch it!
    –> I honestly thought Bright Star was a little cheesy, and frankly depressing. But there were some good qualities about it, and it was filmed very well. So I hope you like it, and I don’t mean to put a damper on your view of it. πŸ™‚
    –> THIN MAN! Oh my word, I love the Thin Man! I grew up watching it, and my dad loved it. The Thin Man is hilarious, witty, and just all-around amazing! And his relationship with his wife, and then with his son, is so precious. And plus, the series are all about mysteries. What more could you ask for. So all in all, I guarantee you will love it. πŸ™‚ But you must post about it after you’ve seen it, k? πŸ™‚
    –> And I haven’t seen the rest, but I’ll have to look into them.

    Sorry this such a random, long comment. I came over from Elaini’s blog and happened upon this post. Hope you have a splendid day, and may God Bless you!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * Tessa Curtis says:

      I’ve been wanting to see several of there including the artist and corpses bride!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Jenny Li says:

    This is a bit belated, but I just wanted to say that Life is Beautiful is sooo good. It made me cry >.<
    Castle in the Sky is also awesome–I've watched it so many times xD
    I fell asleep watching Corpse Bride, but it was at like 2am, so….
    //well, I hope you enjoy these movies!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

