rachelcoker



Wishful Movie Thinking… Chasing Jupiter Edition!

Okay, so I got a really great response to my post last August outlining my dream cast and setting for a movie version of Interrupted. Therefore, it only seemed logical to do one for Chasing Jupiter, too!

Hopefully most of you have gotten a chance to read Chasing Jupiter by now, so I definitely want you to add your own imput and let me know what you think. This book felt a lot harder to cast, for some reason. I think because I had very vivid pictures in my head of how all these characters should look and talk, and it was difficult to find actors who fit my picky criteria. But after much searching and thinking, I’m pretty sure I’ve come up with a great cast.

But first off, the settings!

SETTINGS:

Scarlett’s Farmhouse:Β The Blaines aren’t rich by any stretch of the imagination, and their house definitely reflects that. They live in this small country farmhouse in Georgia, with a long driveway and lots of trees. In my head, I imagine peeling paint, a worn-in front porch swing, and several bedroom windows looking out over the front lawn. I think this is pretty dead-on perfect:

I love how rustic and homey it is. Definitely a house that Scarlett could have grown up in with her crazy family.

Frank’s Peach Orchard: This one is kind of obvious, but a lot of the pivotal scenes in the book take place here. It’s a very luscious, green, sweet-smelling place. Scarlett and Cliff spend a lot of time here in the summer.

I also thought about adding Dotty’s house to the list of settings, but I couldn’t find any photos that match the visual I have in my head. So you’ll just have to imagine that one on your own. If they ever make a movie of Chasing Jupiter, I’ll just have to dictate a big, lengthy description to the set designer or something… πŸ˜‰

So now we move on to…

CHARACTERS:

The first and most obvious character is:

Scarlett Blaine, played by… Madeline Carroll

Have you ever seen Flipped? It’s like, this totally adorable movie that I absolutely loved and continually draw inspiration from. That was the first time I noticed Madeline and I have to say, I think she would play the role of Scarlett perfectly. In the book, Scarlett has reddish hair and freckles, but I don’t even care that Madeline doesn’t fit that description. Because her personality is so spot-on, it makes up for any physical differences. Scarlett’s the girl who is so perfect in her own way, but she always fails to notice it. I feel like Madeline would do a great job portraying that, and I’d love to see how she could progress Scarlett from the un-confident kid she is in the beginning of the book, to someone who understands her place in the world. Madeline could always dye her hair later if you guys are going to be that darn picky.Β πŸ˜‰

Frank Leggett, played by… Lucas Till

Let’s just forget he was ever in The Hannah Montana Movie. I’m willing to forgive that. He’s such a perfect Frank. The book describes Frank as having “a wonderfully handsome face when he smiled, like the difference between a small flame and a blazing fire. His eyes were a gold-green, crinkling up at the corners.” Um, yep. Just stand there and look cool, Lucas. You know you have this Southern-farmer-meets-sweet-veterinarian-boy thing in the bag.

Cliff Blaine, played by… Seth Robert Dusky

Ugh. Cliff was such a hard person to cast in my imaginary dream movie. He’s a very critical part of the book, and he really carries a lot of the scenes. I needed an actor who could be sweet and innocent, but also incredibly intelligent and wise-beyond-his-years. I’m still not one hundred percent sure I’ve got it right. But I think I do. Seth seems like a pretty close-to-perfect Cliff. That expression in his eyes, just behind his semi-shaggy hair. There’s a certain amount of Cliff-ness in it. Do you think so?

Grandpop Barley, played by…. Ian McKellen

Because if you can have anyone play the senile grandfather in your book-turned-imaginary-movie, why not go for Gandalf? πŸ˜‰ Mr. McKellen has the perfect face for Grandpop Barley, and I think he would just be adorable in a peanut-buttery red tie and glasses. Perfect.

Juli Blaine, played by… Carlie Casey

Juli’s the sister you love to hate. She’s pretty, and she knows it. She’s rebellious, but she doesn’t care that you disapprove of it. She does whatever she wants and flirts with whomever she chooses and dyes her hair a sweet shade of blue. Scarlett spends her whole life wanting to be like her without realizing that Juli’s not as perfect as she seems. I think Carlie would rock the turquoise hair, and she has that devil-may-care kind of look about her that would make playing Juli a cinch.

Dotty Greene, played by… Reese Witherspoon (of course!)

Yay!!! My super-celebrity pick for Chasing JupiterΒ would obviously be Reese for the role of Dotty, the preacher’s wife. I realize, of course, that Reese is uber-famousΒ and would probably never star in my yet-to-actually-be-made movie, but I still think she’s perfect for the role. Check out the look on her face. Does that not have “Dotty” written all over it? And the bumped-up blonde hair? Reese, all you have to do is rescue a chicken and you’ll definitely get the part.

*

So, that’s my celebrity and setting pickings for Chasing Jupiter. Gosh, it’s so much fun to imagine making a movie, I don’t think I could handle the gleeful joy of actually having one produced. It’s probably a good thing I live about a billion miles from Hollywood. πŸ˜‰

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amanda Fischer says:

    I haven’t read it yet, but it certainly looks rather amazing. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to read it…as soon as my library orders it. πŸ˜›

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Abbi Hart says:

    I loved all of your choices! They fit your descriptions really well! I love Reese and I agree she’d be perfect for the part!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Chelsea G. says:

    So, when are you going to write a book starring me? πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
    • * Hannah Coker says:

      That would be an interesting book…. based on all of your stories you would tell us on the way to Spanish πŸ˜‰

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
      • * RachelC says:

        Totally agree. πŸ˜‰

        Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
      • * Chelsea G. says:

        Very Funny. πŸ™‚

        Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
      • * Chelsea G. says:

        You have to admit, I am a great actress. (or dramatist depending on the stories you’re thinking of.)

        Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  4. * cait says:

    How fun! That’s such a cool idea! My book isn’t anywhere near being published, but I used to make mock book-trailers…just because. And I won a copy of your book! I can’t WAIT until it gets here… πŸ˜€

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Jenna says:

    Oh my goodness!!! Those actors and actresses are just PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ I would love it if they made a movie!!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Joy says:

    I enjoyed this post, Rachel! :D.

    Though I haven’t read the book yet, the actors seem perfect. The one for Scarlett looks really like a sweet, teenage character, and Cliff, I think is really good too!

    Haha, I had to laugh with Ian McKellen as Grandpop… Gandalf!

    Blessings in Christ,
    Joy @ joy-live4jesus.blogspot.com

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Alicia says:

    Just got your book today!!! Can’t wait to read it!!!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  8. My copy of Chasing Jupiter just came in the mail today, so I imagine I’ll be picturing these actors when I meet the characters!

    I absolutely love the cover art – it looks like just the sort of book you’d take to curl up in a hammock with on a warm summer day! Thankfully, where I live, we could have a warm summer day tomorrow, cause I wouldn’t want to have to wait to read it! πŸ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Sierra says:

    aahhh I love it! Lucas will be a perfect Frank, the girl you picked for Scarlett just fits her…and Reese is perfect! Great casting πŸ˜€ That would be a movie I would definitely watch! A great, touching story and *coughs* Lucas. Ahem. Finished Chasing Jupiter last week and I’m currently working on the review. great job Miss Rachel! The ending had me in tears at several points πŸ˜› Keep on writing, please! Sierra

    | Reply Posted 4 years ago


Leave a Reply

