rachelcoker



Looking for Book Suggestions???

Book suggestions

So, I feel like in my senior year of high school, I’ve hit a bit ofย a slump. I feel like I’ve run out of good books to read! Which I know is totally not true, but pains me nonetheless. I’ve worked my way through just about every “Literary Classics” list I can find, and I think I’ve read just about every great classic written by a dead author that I’ve heard of. So now I’m opening up the floor to suggestions from everyone. What books should I read this year?

Yikes, that’s kind of a broad questions, and I’m probably going to end up drawing a huge, unbearably extensive list of novels that I would in no way ever be interested in reading from some of my blog followers. But I guess that’s okay. I just need suggested titles that I can pick through and select a few promising books to read.

I suppose I should also premise this by admitting that I am NOT a fan of sci-fi fiction. Just thought I ought to throw that out there. “Lord of the Rings” is probably the most sci-fi-ish I’ve ever gotten, and I didn’t even like most of C. S. Lewis’ books because of that very fact. Um, I also don’t like trashy romance novels? You’ve probably realized that by now. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just thought I’d remind you.

At the end of the day, I love historical fiction, but I’m willing to try out some contemporary fiction if it’s written well and has high standards. I’m also willing to try out a few older classics that I may not have heard of before if you all suggest them. I’d also be willing to read children’s books, even though I’m seventeen, if they came highly recommended.

Basically, throw out some of your favorite book titles at me so that I can be entertained, okay? I’m totally using you guys for my own gain, and I’m not even all that guilty about it, to be quite frank…

-Rachel

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Abigail H. says:

    Book Reccomendations:
    The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Rachel Hooper says:

    “They Loved to Laugh” by Kathryn Worth is a cute one. You probably have already read it though. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Charity U says:

    Ooooo…there are SO many good books that I’m discovering! Of course, all the classics but since you say you’re read those, I won’t mention them for now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Brace yourself…I read a lot and love a lot of books…this is but a sampling. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Historical fiction: “Ring of Secrets” by Roseanna M. White (Revolutionary War — just published), “To Die For” and “Secret Keeper” by Sandra Byrd (Tudor era), anything by T. L. Higley or Tracy L. Higley (ancient history), Sarah Sundin’s Wings of Glory series (World War II), “All for a Song” by Allison Pittman (1920s revivals), “Glamorous Illusions” by Lisa T. Bergren (early 1900s — first book in Grand Tour series), Quilt Chronicles series by Stephanie Grace Whitson (early 1900s or late 1800s, first book is “Key on the Quilt,” set in Nebraska).

    Random series that feels historical and has the best romance and awesomest adventure ever: River of Time by Lisa T. Bergren (books are “Waterfall,” “Cascade,” “Torrent,” “Bourne & Tributary.” My absolute favorite series!)

    Biblical fiction: “Pearl in the Sand” or “Harvest of Rubies” by Tessa Afshar (first is about Rahab, second is not focused on but includes Nehemiah), Wives of King David series by Jill Eileen Smith (begins with “Michal”), Wives of the Patriarchs series also by Jill (begins with “Sarai”), “Love in a Broken Vessel” by Mesu Andrews (only one I’ve read by her, but she’s written several — this one is about Hosea and Gomer — it’s amazing), and you could also try Diana Wallis Taylor, though I haven’t enjoyed her as much.

    Romantic suspense (Christian): anything by Irene Hannon, Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason.

    Christian and amazing: go for Karen Kingsbury. She really is great.

    Other randomly good books/authors: “Livvie’s Song” and “Ellie’s Haven” by Sharlene MacLaren (set in the early 1920s, small town, very good), anything by Wanda Brunstetter (Amish), anything by Karen Witemeyer (romance, usually 1800s or so and some western), any of Melanie Dickerson’s books (fairy tale like books…but Christian, and really no magic — delightful!), DiAnn Mills (romance and romantic suspense), Penny Zeller (Western romance), Lisa T. Bergren’s Homeward Trilogy (third one is best!), and there are so many more…but I’ll stop, because if you just read all of these, you’re going to spend a lot of time reading.

    Enjoy! I’ll love to see which, if any, you read and what you think of them. And I’m sorry this is so long…books are probably my strongest topic. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh, one other thing…if you want to know more about any of these, I believe I’ve reviewed them all on my blog. Let me know and I’ll send you a direct link to any review, or look them up by author’s last name or series title on my left sidebar. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Leah Fargo says:

      Ohmmigoodness! I felt like no one besides me read the River of Times Series by Lisa t Bergren (Waterfall, Cascade, and Torrent). That is one of my favorite series including Melanie Dickerson’s books, (though i have yet to read ‘The Fairest Beauty’). Idk, i thought it was just me, but i absolutely love medieval fiction and these books are a real inspiration to me, cuz i write that type of stuff. So, yes, i def recommend those! (its funny; its seems like we like the same genres…ive read practically all of these, haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Jordanna says:

    To Have and To Hold by Mary Johnston! Historical fiction, STRONG lead and support characters, excellent book.
    The RM Ballantyne books.
    I may come back, not only to offer more ideas, but to glean from what everyone else says! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Taralyn Rose says:

    Ooh, I love recommending books ๐Ÿ™‚

    Two classics I’ve enjoyed these past few months: The Count of Monte Cristo and Les Miserables.

    And two very well written contemporary novels I enjoyed recently and will re-read: The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys.

    Oh, and have you ever read The Scarlet Pimpernel?

    I hope this helps! Will you let me know if you enjoy them?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Jordanna says:

      Ditto the Count of Monte Cristo (or just about any Dumas) and Scarlet Pimpernel.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      How have I never read “The Count of Monte Cristo”?? I thought I’d read every classic, haha. I loved “The Three Musketeers”! ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Taralyn Rose says:

        Yay!! I’m so glad you haven’t read it yet! You’ll love it :-))

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  6. Hi Rachel!
    I love literary fiction as well, and I have a list of books I love on my blog:

    http://www.ladybibliophile.blogspot.com/p/book-reviews_31.html

    You would love Gene Stratton-Porter! Early American, strong Christian themes, and funny and sweet all in one. ๐Ÿ™‚ “Laddie: A True Blue Story”, “Freckles”, “The Keeper of the Bees”, and “A Girl of the Limberlost” are great.

    Schuyler

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Haha, I own and have read all of Gene Stratton-Porter’s works. Love! ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Chelsea G. says:

    -“Christy” by Catherine Marshall (my personal favorite ) ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Any of Grace Livinstone Hill’s stories. especially “Marcia Schuyler”
    (Very similar to the Elsie Dinsmore series but for older students)

    -Count of Monte Cristo is great, but please read the original.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Taralyn Rose says:

      DEFINITELY read the unabridged! I agree most positively on that point!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Wait, I saw the Christy series and didn’t like it at all. Is the book much better??

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Chelsea G. says:

        If you are talking about the TV series, it is NOT llike that book at all. Every single episode is completely made up. And the book is way better.

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Hannah Elise says:

        Oooooooooooooh . . . Christy by Catherine Marshall is one of my all-time favorite books. The TV series are kind of spinoffs ๐Ÿ˜› Here’s a review of Christy:
        http://simply-hannah-elise.blogspot.com/2012/11/christy.html
        And I have to add that Catherine Marshall is incredible at writing simply yet evocatively, and her plot is amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ The story is partly true and partly fiction though….

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Leorah :) says:

    Hey! I guess I can help since you helped entertained me with two amazing books. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Which by the way, truly are favorites of mine.)
    Current Faves –
    The Book Thief by Markus Z. (Sure you heard of it but had to mention it – read it if you haven’t!)
    Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson The writing style of this book was so addictive although I am warning you, the tale is a bit dark.
    Anything really by Jenny B. Jones (Her books are hilarious as you will have known if you read any of them.)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Aw, you’re so sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the suggestions! I remember reading Jenny B. Jones when I was in second grade. ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Lydia says:

        Concerning the mention of Jenny B. Jones, I think you might have her and the kids’ series “Junie B. Jones” confused. Jenny B. Jones writes Christian teen fiction and chick lit. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * RachelC says:

        Oh, I think you’re right! And I thought YOU had it confused! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Jalyn Ely says:

    You might try books by Charles Todd – he writes mysteries set in the World War I era. R. J. Larsen’s PROPHET and JUDGE are excellent – they’re technically fantasy, but they have a very “Old Testament prophets” feel. Gary Blackwood’s YEAR OF THE HANGMAN is also interesting. It’s alternate history, set in a world where the British won the Revolutionary War.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Jalyn Ely says:

      Oh, and anything by Jack Cavanaugh. He writes Christian historical novels set in all different time periods.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Rissi says:

    There are TOO many to remember:

    – The Selection by Kiera Cass
    – Glamorous Illusions by Lisa T. Bergren
    – Heiress and Baroness by Susan May Warren

    Anything Jenny B. Jones or Janice Thompson (if you like rom-com, happy-go-lucky books) or Dani Pettrey (if you like suspense).

    Happy reading, Rachel!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Ooh, I’ve been wanting to read “The Selection” ever since seeing the gorgeous cover! Is it good??

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Rissi says:

        It is SO good, Rachel. It reminded me of a lighter version (which is, IMO, a compliment) of ‘The Hunger Games.’ Another friend noticed hints of the Biblical story of Esther. Looking back, that is a true comparison.

        Hope you enjoy if/when you read it, Rachel. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  11. * G.J. says:

    Oh boy… I’ll have to keep my list brief or I’ll be typing all day. ๐Ÿ™‚ You might have read some of of these, or never heard of them or have no interest in them, but oh, well. I’m just listing my personal favorites.

    -The Eragon series by Christopher Paolini
    -Matched by Allie Condie
    -The Host by Stephenie Meyer
    -The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins
    -Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan
    -Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
    -Divergent by Veronica Roth

    I ESPECIALLY recommend Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s the best book I’ve ever read, and I’m not just fangirling here- it really is.

    Hope that helped!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I heard from other friends that the “Divergent” trilogy is amazing. I will add it to the list! ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Leah Fargo says:

        I heard too that the Divergent series is really good from friends….as of right now, its sitting on my bookshelf,waiting to be read!

        Posted 4 years, 3 months ago
  12. * Natalie Noel says:

    The O’Malley series by Dee Henderson-they’re modern mysteries and romance books, but they aren’t trashy at ALL. If you start reading these, don’t forget the prequel!
    I like anything by Jenny B. Jones too.

    Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  13. * Abby says:

    Here are a few of my favorites. You might have read some of these before but I really like them.

    The Sherwood Ring by Elizabeth Marie Pope
    The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
    Calico Captive by Elizabeth George Speare
    A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’engle
    Meet the Austins by Madeline L’engle

    And also The Hittite Warrior and God King, both by Joanne Williamson. They’re both Bible stories made into novels.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Chelsea G. says:

      Meet the Austins is Great!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I have read all of those except for the Joanne Williamson books! And every single one is on my “favorite books” list. We have the same taste in literature! ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  14. Best children’s book ever written, first fairy tale to involve an actual strong independent princess instead of a damsel in distress, and also totally awesome story that is unfortunately out of print but thankfully still in libraries and on Amazon: The Ordinary Princess. Love love love this book! I’m sure you would too based on how much I know about you through this blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    Others you might like… hmmm… The Christy Miller series? Or anything by Robin Jones Gunn, really. You’d probably be like me and prefer her Katie Weldon series but the books are soooo much better if you read them in order, and Christy Miller comes first. If you like Amish, I like Cindy Woodsmall’s stuff. If you like fantasy then Gail Carson Levine is great. I never read paranormal but I’m loving the Angel Eyes trilogy by Shannon Dittemore, which is a Biblically-based Christian trilogy about angels. I was surprised by how good, how Scripturally accurate, just how awesome in general it is.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Emii says:

      Loooove Robin Jones Gunn! Yes!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Leah Fargo says:

      I just finished reading ‘Angel Eyes’ and that is definintely a favorite; that one is something i really recomend. it was so good and actually had me shivering at some parts just to think of all the angels and demons fighting to keep us safe…awesome. simply awesome.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 3 months ago
  15. * Abbi Hart says:

    Haha recommending books is one of my favorite things to do! Here are some I think you’d like! They are all Christian books!
    The River of Time Series by Lisa T. Bergren
    Julie Klassen’s books
    The Anniversary Waltz by Darrel Nelson
    The Ransome Trilogy by Kaye Dacus
    Mary Connealy’s books (if you like westerns)
    Cathy Marie Hake’s books (the best are: Letter Perfect, Fancy Pants, and That Certain Spark)
    A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano
    Karen Witemeyer’s books
    All the Tea in China by Jane Orcutt
    Jody Hedlund’s books

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  16. * Madelyn says:

    I am currently reading a book called “Mosby’s Rangers.” It’s about the Civil War, and it’s really cool. It’s historic but also really fun and interesting.

    Not at all one of those boring, historical books. Also, very informative! ๐Ÿ™‚ You should totally try it! You’d love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  17. * Slippers says:

    Here are some you might like (They are some of my favorites anyways!!)

    For historical fiction, you might try ‘Mara, Daughter of the Nile’ it’s a really fun book, and has a little bit of everything, mystery, spies and intrigue, romance, etc.

    For classics (or at least semi classic), one of my favorites has always been ‘Pollyanna’, it’s a children’s book, but it’s so sweet and it has a lot of heart.

    If you like fantasy/adventure, you might look into Wayne Thomas Batson’s books, especially The Door Within trilogy if you’re a Narnia fan.

    And for one of my personal favorite categories, fairy tales, Gail Carson Levine is wonderful, but her books (namely ‘Ella Enchanted’) are pretty well known, and I can’t imagine you haven’t already heard of them before.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      Oh, of course I love “Ella Enchanted”. What girl doesn’t? ๐Ÿ˜›

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Slippers says:

        I know right!? I remember being completely glued to that book the first time I read it ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Oh, and, I think someone else may have already mentioned this one, but, if you enjoy rewritten fairy tales, I’d also recommend “Entwined” by Heather Dixon, it’s a brilliant retelling of the twelve dancing princesses, and definitely one of my favorite books. It is a tiny bit on the darker side though, compared to Gail Carson Levine’s fairy tales spinoffs. But for teens and up, it’s a really great story.

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  18. * Margaret says:

    Well… I’m mostly a sci-fi not a historical person but I might as well share anyway, right? I just read “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” for the second or third time and I’m absolutely overwhelmed by how horrible my book-in-progress’s plot is compared to it… I’m actually writing out every disaster in the plot to see what I can learn.
    So Harry Potter is definitely a favorite, not for the magic, but for the writing. Amazing characters, amazing plot.
    Also, Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements is my all-time favorite, about a boy who becomes invisible and falls in love with a blind girl.
    Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster is just about the coolest allegory ever…
    I also like The Merchant’s Daughter by Melanie Dickerson, which is historical romance.
    Hopefully there’s something you enjoy in there!
    Oh, and you’ve probably already read To Kill a Mockingbird?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  19. * Sydney says:

    “Number the Stars”, by Lois Lowry is probably one of my favorite books. You might have already read that one, though. It’s very well-written and easy to read.

    “Things Hoped For”, by Andrew Clements is a good one, too.

    I have a question: Are you working on another book right now? I’ve read both Interrupted and Chasing Jupiter and loved them and can’t wait for more of your books!! My little sister is reading Interrupted right now and she loves it, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * RachelC says:

      I love “Number the Stars”! I read that one in middle school. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I am! I’m so glad you enjoyed the first two books! I hope to finish my third book soon and have it out by the beginning of next year! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for asking!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Sydney says:

        Are you revealing the plot of the book yet or do we wait until it comes out?

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * RachelC says:

        Patience is a virtue…. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Haha, don’t worry, I’ll reveal the plot once I sign the contract with Zondervan. You’ll hear all about it several months before it comes out. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Sydney says:

        Ok, good! Thanks!! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  20. * Kaitlyn says:

    The Throne of Glass
    Great Expectations (You’ve probably read that one)
    Divergent (Really, really good)
    The Count of Monte Cristo (See above)
    Anything Rick Riordan, including Percy Jackson or the Kane Chronicles
    Also, Ellery Queen, he was a mystery novelist in the 1960s, he’s really good and hooks you in quite quickly.
    Seraphina by Sarah Hartman
    Slathbog’s Gold (This one is in the kid’s section, but I love it!)
    Have you read anything Amanda Grange? If not, I highly recommend Mr Darcy’s Diary.
    Do you like Jane Austen? I forgot to add that the above stated is another view from Pride and Prejudice.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  21. * Kaitlyn says:

    Oh, and Johnny Tremain, you’ve probably read this one already, but I’m reading it now and loving it!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  22. * Chloe M says:

    This will probably be a lot longer than you care to read, but book recommendations don’t seem to be the type of thing that you’ll object to having a lot of….

    Anything by Rosemary Sutcliff. The best ones to start with would probably by ‘The Eagle of the Ninth’, ‘The Silver Branch’, or ‘The Lantern Bearers’. (All three are part of a loosely connected series of books about a family in Roman Britain). Sutcliff is by far the best historical fiction novelist I’ve read.

    Regina Doman. Her Fairy Tale Novels are a series of non-fantasy fairytale retellings. ‘The Shadow of the Bear’ is the first one and is set in modern day New York City and retells ‘Snow White and Rose Red’. (Also the main characters were homeschooled!)

    The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope (Even better than The Sherwood Ring!)

    101 Dalmatians by Dodie Smith. This book is absolutely hilarious, and they cut some of the best parts out when they made the movie.

    The Prairie Thief by Melissa Wiley. It’s a middle grade novel, but it’s fantastic.

    The Penderwicks (and sequels) by Jeanne Birdsall. If you like Eleanor Estes, Sydney Taylor, Noel Streatfeild, or Elizabeth Enright, you will like the Penderwicks. Some of the best fictional sisters out there.

    Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein. It just won the Printz Honor, and is one of the best friendship stories I’ve ever read. Also, its set in WWII about spies and RAF pilots.

    Entwined by Heather Dixon

    Anything by Elizabeth Goudge. ‘The Little White Horse’ is probably the easiest to find, but her adult books are amazing too (though unfortunately out of print).

    And on the odd chance that they weren’t included in the classics lists that you read through: Watership Down by Richard Adams, Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens, The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton, and the Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  23. * Emily says:

    I would recommend The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare and To Have And To Hold by Mary Johnston. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are both historical fiction, and I loved them!
    Have you read any Lamplighter classics? They are a bit cheesy, but I really enjoyed The Hidden Hand. I was pleasantly surprised to discover whose hand it was!
    I also loved An Old Fashioned Girl and Pollyanna. I hope you get plenty of new favorite books from these comments!
    ~Emily

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  24. * Jenna C. says:

    Okay….I have a few….

    By the Light of the Silvery Moon by Tricia Goyer
    Glamorous Illusions by Lisa T. Bergren
    In Every Heartbeat by Kim Vogel Sawyer
    Be Still My Soul by Joanne Bischoff
    The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare
    The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi
    The Door in the Wall by Marguerite De Angeli
    The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
    The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott
    Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt
    The Lottery Rose by Irene Hunt
    Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens
    A Thousand Shall Fall Susie Hasel Mundy
    All of a Kind Family series by Sydney Taylor
    Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
    Emily Upham’s Revenge by Avi
    Punch With Judy by Avi

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  25. * Twinkle says:

    Cheney Duvall, M.D series is an awesome historical fiction series. They are co-authored by Gilbert and Lynn Morris. They are funny, sweet, and incredibly historical. I love them! The first book is called, The Stars for A Light.

    Weddings by Bella. The first book, Fools Rush In by Janice Thompson. I don’t think I can adequately describe how hilarious, outrageous, and sweet these books are. The next book is Swinging on a Star and It Had to be You.

    An old classic I’m working through is Dear Theodora. So, far so good.

    Now a totally random question. How many words is Chasing Jupiter? Interrupted?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  26. * Joye says:

    Hello,

    My name is Joye and I have been following your blog for a little over a year now, and have absolutely loved every post. I aspire to be a writer someday and your experience and knoweledge has been a huge blessing to me.

    I have been waiting for a topic that I feel passionate about, and so here it is. I absolutely love and really think you would enjoy three of some of my favorite books: Blue, Red Scarf Girl, and Angel On The Square! They are all historical fiction and very inspiring books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, and I love your first book and am looking forward to reading your second! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~ Joye ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  27. * Hannah M. says:

    Oh goodness, there are so many delightful books that i love that i have to share just a few… or maybe more…

    -The complete Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery

    – By Louisa May Alcott: An Old Fashioned Girl, Eight Cousins, Rose in Bloom, Little Men, and Jo’s Boys ( classics yes, but they aren’t the most “popular” ones)

    – By Francine Rivers: Redeeming Love, Marta’s Legacy which is two books entitled Her Daughter’s Dream and Her Mother’s Hope, and the Lineage of Grace novellas. The novellas are written from the perspective of each women mentioned in the genealogy of Jesus, starting at Tamar and ending in Mary. I devoured all these books, Francine Rivers is an excellent, realistic writer and her books have actual meaning!

    – Some books on the lighthearted side, i do not know if you read Little House on the Prairie when you were young, but i loved those books so much! Anyways, there are also series about Laura’s mother (Caroline), her grandmother (Charlotte) and her great grandmother (Martha). The series about Caroline, entitled the Caroline Years, by Maria D. Wilkes, and Celia Wilkins, was my favorite. Yes they are children’s books, but they are also historical fiction. =)

    I hope this is helpful! =)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  28. * Taralyn Rose says:

    I just feel I’ve got to repeat that you HAVE to add The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys to your list. They are extremely well written and it is the best feeling in the world to read (and emulate) well done contemporary lit.

    And I’m pretty sure you’ll love them ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  29. Hi again, Rachel! ๐Ÿ˜€ I thought of a couple of more you might not have read–“The Mysterious Island” by Jules Verne, and “Mathias Sandorf”, by Jules Verne. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Schuyler

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  30. * Lily G says:

    Out of Historical Fiction I really like:
    Rifles for Waite by Harold Keith

    Out of Fantasy Fiction I really like:
    The Books of Bayern by Shannon Hale
    -Goose Girl
    -Enna Burning
    -River Secrets
    -Forest Born
    The Redwall Series by Brian Jaques
    The Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke
    The Mysterious Benedict Society Trilogy by Trenton Lee Stewart
    (I think these are more for ages 10-12ish but I love them!)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  31. * Chelsea G. says:

    Oh, and anything by Gladys Malvern is awesome. Of course these books are extremely rare, but her books are amazing!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  32. * Sydney says:

    The last book in the Anne of Green Gables series is “Rilla of Ingleside” and it’s really good. The main character is Rilla, Anne’s youngest daughter. The book is set during WW1 and is a drama/romance.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Hannah Elise says:

      Personally, though, I wouldn’t recommend reading Rilla’s book before the rest of the Anne series. You don’t fully appreciate the ending unless you read the others first.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
      • * Sydney says:

        Yeah, I learned that the hard way! I read the first book first, then the last one, and THEN I read the ones in between. The last one did make a whole lot more sense after I read the others, and I appreciated the characters more, too.

        Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  33. * Katelyn S. says:

    Have you read any of Frank Peretti’s books? I have read most of his and really enjoy them.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  34. Have you ever heard of author Rosemary Sutcliff, Rachel? Her books (i.e. The Eagle of the Ninth, The Silver Branch, The Shield Ring, etc) are really wholesome and captivating. She wrote predominately historical fiction set in Ancient Britain and her writing style’s beautiful and evocative and stirs one’s blood with heart-warming description and endearing characters. Though her books are not Christian, they are clean and the romance is definitely not trashy!

    Another wonderful Christian author who wrote predominately for children and teens is Patricia St John! All her novels are just so lovely, interesting and endearing. Some of my favourite titles by her are, The Treasures of The Snow, Star of Light, Rainbow Garden, Nothing Else Matters, The Victor, Tangleswood Secret, I Needed a Neighbour… You really should check her books out!

    Some other books I can highly recommend are:
    The Soldier’s Cross – Abigail J.Hartman
    The Shadow Things – Jennifer Freitag
    Pollyanna – Eleanor H. Porter
    The Robe – Lloyd C. Douglas. (Historical Biblical classic fiction)
    The Keys of the Kingdom – A. J. Cronin (a novel about a Catholic Scottish priest who became a missionary to China; one of my favourite novels ever!!!!!)
    The Bronze Bow – Elizabeth George Speare
    Friends Forever – Jan Vermeer ( a fictionalised story of a Young man who became a Christian suffered persecution for his faith in North Korea- a tear-jerker!)
    The Acts of Faith Series (The Centurion’s Wife, The Hidden Flame, The Damascus Way) – Jeanette Oke and Davis Bunn (though this series is Biblical historical romance about the first century Christians I found the romance very mild and wholesome and they are all captivating and well-written)
    The Knights of Arrethtrae Series – Chuck Black (though falling in the fantasy genre, this allegorical series does not have any magic or talking animals and is all in one medieval-like land called Arrethtrae–no changing worlds, and the lovely thing about them is that they are allegorical and have strong Biblical themes and messages for teens… It is also very much a knights and ladies and castles and dragons story!! Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court, Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, and Sir Quinlain and the Swords of Valor are my personal favourite out of the whole series though I love them all!)
    Pilgrim’s Progress – John Bunyan
    The Holy War – John Bunyan
    … All these titles just to name a few…

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Abby says:

      Ooh, I like the Bronze Bow also!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  35. * Allison Young says:

    What a question! Yay! I’ll fire off some of my favorites for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    “Mara, Daughter of the Nile,” by Eloise Jarvis McGraw, is one of my all-time favorite books. It’s historical romance, but very suspenseful, too — in my own opinion, anyway.

    “The Great and Terrible Quest” by Margaret Lovett. It’s set in a fictional kingdom, but not otherwise speculative. I love it.

    “In Search of Honor” by Donnalynn Hess, historical fiction set in French Revolution.

    “Calico Captive” by Elizabeth George Speare. It’s also historical (French and Indian War) but based on a true story.

    “Homeless Bird” by Gloria Whelan. Historical fiction (hmm, my favorite genre perhaps?…), and very poignant. I nearly cried.

    “Listen!” by Stephanie S. Tolan. Contemporary, not romantic, and the first book I ever read in present tense.

    Of course, the perennial favorites — “A Tale of Two Cities,” “The Count of Monte Cristo,” anything by Jane Austen; but as they’re classics, and you seem to have that covered, here’s a couple nonfiction…

    “The Hiding Place,” the true story of Corrie ten Boom. Incredible.
    “Lady of Arlington,” a biography of Mrs. Robert E. Lee by John Perry.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Allison Young says:

      Naturally, I forgot some. ๐Ÿ™‚

      “From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler,” “The View from Saturday,” or just about anything else by E. L. Koningsburg

      “Watership Down” by Richard Adams

      “Across Five Aprils” by Irene Hunt

      “Shadow Spinner” by Susan Fletcher

      “Carry On, Mr. Bowditch” by Jean Lee Latham

      Or, if you’re in the mood for light, zany/funny fiction, “The Twenty-One Balloons” by William Pene du Bois or “By the Great Horn Spoon!” by Sid Fleischman will do quite nicely.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Britt says:

      I read Homeless Bird in school! It’s nice to know that someone else has heard of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Chelsea G. says:

        I’ve read all of Gloria Whelan’s books. They’re good! Homeless Bird was okay, but Angel on the Square was definetely the best.

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  36. * Britt says:

    You might have already checked these out, but the Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace. They follow a 1900s girl and her life story from 5 years old to marriage! (Sort of like the Little House Books, but in a different time and setting- Betsy lives in a town.)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  37. * Hannah Elise says:

    Hmm . . . five books I’ve read and loved off the tops of my reading list–you’ve probably read the classics in this list before ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
    Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
    Winter Birds by Jamie Langston Turner
    The Smile by Donna Jo Napoli
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

    As far as I know, Jamie Langston Turner’s books may actually not be sold anywhere, so it may be hard to find them. But Winter Birds is great–very original in plot and characters, and pretty well-written. It also has a good Christian message (I think). I don’t really qualify The Smile as a trashy romance novel ๐Ÿ™‚ but it may be in the eyes of a published authoress! Have you put anywhere on your blog what your favorite books are?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * Hannah Elise says:

      I should add that The Smile is a fiction about the romances of Mona Lisa ๐Ÿ™‚

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
  38. I’m with +Rissi – Too many to suggest. Here are a couple of recent faves, mostly historical fiction –

    + The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison. My review: http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=THE-PRINCESS-AND-THE-HOUND-by-Mette-Ivie-Harrison

    + Hawksmaid: The Untold Story of Robin Hood and Maid Marian by Kathryn Lasky – just finished, not yet reviewed. This is NOT a Disney-fied version.

    + Crossing by Andrew Fukuda – haunting but very good. http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=CROSSING-by-Andrew-Fukuda

    + Prisoners in the Palac by Michaela MacColl http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=PRISONERS-IN-THE-PALACE-How-Princess-Victoria-became-Queen-with-the-Help-of-Her-Maid-a-Reporter-and-a-Scoundrel-by-Michaela-MacColl

    +The Upside of Ordinary by Susan Lubner http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=THE-UPSIDE-OF-ORDINARY-by-Susan-Lubner

    +Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins (actually anything by Mitali) http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=BAMBOO-PEOPLE-by-Mitali-Perkins

    + Burn My Heart by Beverley Naidoo (ditto – anything Beverley writes is incredible) http://thereadingtub.com/childrens-book-reviews.php?book=BURN-MY-HEART-by-Beverley-Naidoo

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

